We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury bed and breakfast on the Lizard”
Review of Atlantic House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic House B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Well-deserved 5* quality bed and breakfast located with lovely views across the cliffs to the sea - quiet location. We had a spacious, luxurious and comfortable room at the front of the house with lovely views. Very welcoming hosts - the tray of tea and chocolate cake served on arrival was a thoughful and much appreciated touch after a long journey. Breakfasts excellent! We only stayed one night as we were touring but would have been happy to have stayed longer. The en-suite was a little on the small side and might have posed problems for anyone above average side, however that is the only less than 100% positive observation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just returned from a walking holiday around the Lizard and we had a delightful 3 night stay at this lovely b & b.. Almost, but not quite enough, time to try out all the breakfast options! The Pentreath room was very comfortable with lots of extra touches, waffle robes, chocolates, real coffee and best of all big squishy white armchairs to sink into at the end of long walks with ever changing views to enjoy. Superb hospitality.
Lynn And Roland Merrick

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Merrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I went to Atlantic House at the end of february for a break on my own. I can't extol enough superlatives on this guest house. philip and jayne are the perfect hosts. nothing was too much trouble. i have stayed in many 5 star hotels but give me the homely comforts of a guest house like this any day. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mx05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

A five star B&B which deserves every single star. We can only recommend this B&B to everyone who is looking for a stay in a very relaxed athmosphere, but at very high standards. We stayed 4 nights at the CAERTHILLIAN room, which was tastefully decorated and offered a nice view across the meadows to the Atlantic. The room was quiet, very clean and the 6ft superking bed was superb. We slept nowhere else as good as here during our stay in Cornwall.

Jayne and Phil were perfect hosts. We received a very warm welcome and very good hints what to do and to see around Lizard. The breakfast was georgious. They thought hard how to bring some variation into the daily English Breafast. We can only recommend smoked haddock with poached egg. It looked to beautifulto be eaten....

For dinner it is only a view meters to walk either to the village center with good pubs and excellent pub food or to the beach for a pciknick enjoying the sunset.

If you have the choice to stay here - don't think twice!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uwe_steinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed in the Caerthillian room for 3 nights, a very comfortable room with a fantastic view over the Atlantic a few hundred yards away. Phil and Jayne were very genial hosts with lots of information to hand about the locality (also some very useful literature about the Lizard in the dining room).
Lizard itself is nice and remote, with a couple of pubs a few shops and a fish and chip shop. Great place for coastal walks and photographers will be in their element; there are photos to be had everywhere! We intend to return!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelvRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Both Philip and Jayne, the hosts, were very accommodating for last minute booking for solo traveller. Stayed 22/1 - 26/1/09 and found the location excellent for the long coastal walks around the Liard Penninsular.
Philip and Jayne are excellent hosts, very welcoming and put themselves out to ensure you get the most from your stay. I stayed in the Pentreath room which lives up to its word of panoramic views across fields and sea. The breakfast is superb and dinner too if you're lucky to get booked in!
Atlantic House definately deserves the 5 star rating on all counts and I for one will be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyoutdoorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We had a great time staying here, and the walks around the Lizard itself are amazing - the scenery is fantastic! The whole area of Cornwall is definitely worth exploring as there are some unmissable locations, such as the breathtaking views from the Minack Theatre, the eco-friendly Eden Project, the sandy beaches at St. Ives... and not forgetting the coastal walks!

Atlantic House is well-located for walks, and our room was very comfortable. Philip and Jane were very friendly and hospitable hosts. Thoroughly recommended!

Their new website is good, but our details are... ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluelightsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
3.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
701 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in The Lizard
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House B&B

Address: Atlantic House, Pentreath Lane, The Lizard TR12 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This idyllic, adults only, luxurious bed and breakfast aspires to a five star level of comfort and service. For discerning travellers seeking tranquility, quality and a fine time. Situated in an area of outstanding beauty amidst National Trust land with stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. This is near the South West coastal path and very near village amenities with good places to wine and dine. Special offers are often available in the outer seasons. All rooms have the same level of luxury with comfortable pocket sprung beds and superb bed linen, towels and toiletries. For arrivals between 4 to 5pm we serve a complimentary Cornish cream tea or a slice of homemade cake. We are particularly known for our wonderful, freshly cooked breakfasts with home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic House B&B The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing