We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper at the pub”
Review of The Witchball

The Witchball
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in The Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Supper at the pub”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived here last Saturday evening for supper. We were warmly greeted by a very cheerful lady and sat outside. We had fish, chips and peas, which was delicious (fresh local fish - beautifully cooked) all served with a bright smile.
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at this pub, although I have to say it was ever so slightly marred by an elderly man (who was obviously local) who had had rather lot to drink and his language could have been a little better. A couple turned up who were obviously three sheets to the wind on alcohol or drugs, we left at this point.
Although we do not live at The Lizard we do live in Cornwall (Falmouth area) and I have seen it before where the locals seem to take over in these small villages and make non locals feel uncomfortable, they sort of show off, not nice.
Thank you for great service and great food though and we will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfletcher62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    118
    29
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a 'real' Cornish pub”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited the Witchball for a quick drink and decided to go back for lunch a few days later. The meals were delicious, I had fish and chips while my partner had the scampi...both were well cooked, freshly prepared and a reasonable price. But the highlight of the meal has to be the half pint of fresh prawns we shared as a starter; the waitress brought out a half pint handled glass stuffed full of shell-on prawns, with lime mayonnaise and fresh bread on a platter. There ensued a feeding frenzy which judging by the pile of shells in front of me I won. I would highly recommend the Witchball and will be returning in September.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Great little place, cute and cozy, food was yummy! Great little spot. Relaxing and welcoming. Will be back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brookeshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were tempted by the sandwiches on offer for our lunch after a wander around Lizard Point and as they said they included "a handful of chips and some salad" it sounded ideal.
Both our sandwiches were well filled, the chips were plentiful and hot, the salad was well balanced and lightly dressed, overall very pleasant and great value.

Will pop in again next time we're down there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Very_Happy_Everafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good customer service is not dead!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We visited early May whilst staying in the village on holiday, we ended up visiting the Witchball 4 times in one week! The owner recognised us after just one visit and the place was by no means quiet! In fact we had a lovely chat with some locals and their children.

We had drinks on the first few visits and dined on our last evening in Cornwall. During one of our visits a group of people arrived into the village late and there was no where open to dine or get food to cook, the owner was very accommodating and even though the kitchen closed over 45mins earlier he produced 5 plates of food to some very grateful looking people, a lot of landlords would have turned them away.

When we dined there we were not disappointed, my other half and I both had the scallops with pea purée and it was delicious, a perfect serving to allow us to enjoy our massive main courses! I had the day boat fish which was sole, yes it came with the head on but there was a plate for all the bones and was thoroughly enjoyable and the brown shrimp butter was to die for. We also ordered the monkfish which came in crispy batter with a plentiful amount of chips and vegetables.

The prices were amazing for the quality of food with got and the service was smiley, attentive but not intrusive, if we are back in the area we will definitely stop for a pint again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Witchball also viewed

 

Been to The Witchball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing