We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding B & B in an outstanding location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay House
Ranked #2 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An outstanding B & B in an outstanding location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The warm welcome and generous hospitality offered by Carla Caslin and her husband, John, was the beginning of one the most enjoyable experiences we have had in a month long holiday from Australia. Our room with its lovely and large en-suite bathroom offered every conceivable comfort, not to mention luxury, together with a truly beautiful outlook. We appreciated being able to return to the room at any time, an arrangement not always available in B & B's in our experience. John's gourmet breakfast was of the kind that sustained one through the day and his friendliness and Carla's made a great deal of difference to our enjoyment. We cannot recommend this property and its owners too highly.

Room Tip: The Atlantic room is probably the best available, being the biggest and best equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
180
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Bay House, the views of the Atlantic and being on the most southern tip of the UK provide a perfect 'away from it' all setting. The enthusiasm and kindness from the experienced hosts Carla and John give a home from home experience. The views from the Atlantic Room of the Lizard Lighthouse are seconded by the beautiful interior design and art work in the house and the great attention to detail to make even a short stay perfect.

When we arrived we were provided with tea and scones, jam and cream on the terrace, a real sun trap even in October. Carla kindly phoned and booked local restaurants for us. John shared his local knowledge as we enjoyed his excellent breakfast. We were provided with a map for a walk to the local village of Cragwith as we meandered along the South West Coastal path which passes the gate of Bay House garden.
Nothing disappointed and everything was better than we had hoped for, the reality is even better than the photographs.

Room Tip: The view from the Atlantic Room is superb. The lighthouse light is excluded by very efficient black...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WINCHESTER98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

The first second we arrived at the Bay House, John and Carla let us feel welcome and at home in their beautiful place. The Atlantic Room is wonderful with a simply spectacular view over Housel Bay, the famous Lighthouse on the right side. John's breakfast was excellent and their enthusiasm concerning local tips, in-room DVD's etc. are unbeatable. A very fun and adorable couple! We are already planning for the next stay....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pmb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Absolutely nothing disappointed me during my recent stay at Bay House. Alighting from the bus after a long journey, I was surprised, but thrilled, to hear my name called by a lady with a lovely, smiling face. Carla had driven to the bus stop to collect me. Bay House is beautiful, and my room (Ocean Breeze) exquisite. The view was all that had been advertised (quite a rare event in my experience) - the bay immediately below and The Lizard Lighthouse to the right. The tea and scone upon arrival were very much appreciated. One of the nicest touches was when I returned to my room mid-evening to find the lamps and television had been switched on. It felt like I had my mother back, looking after me. John's breakfasts are superb. I cannot recommend the place highly enough. And ladies, if you are travelling alone, you will feel completely safe here.

Room Tip: All three rooms are of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was the second time that we stayed with Carla & Dave and like the first time we had a wonderful stay over Easter. The rooms and house are lovely and you will note the attention to detail, which makes this place truly wonderful. We also loved the great cream tea in the lovely garden, with great views over the sea and to the lighthouse. You also have direct access to the coastal path.

Carla & Dave are very helpful with restaurant recommendations and activities to do in the area. It will certainly not have been our last stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vera0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Bay House is probably the loveliest B and B we have ever been to. The Atlantic Room in which we stayed had fabulous views across the sea, was beautifully decorated and the ensuite had a stylish wet-room type shower. The owners John and Carla were really welcoming, making all the guests feel at home, and taking time to give suggestions and advise on activities. On arrival, Carla made us tea and freshly baked scones which were melt in your mouth amazing. Breakfast was relaxed and if the weather was good, we ate outside with the Atlantic Ocean just behind us! I would highly recommend this fabulous B and B!

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Carla & John gave us a very warm welcome including a delicious cream tea and the visit just got better and better. From the pleasant garden and from all the bedrooms, the views are quite spectacular - cliffs and turquoise blue sea; and the beds in our room were super comfortable. We are longing to return.

Room Tip: The Ocean Breeze is a very attractive, comfortable room with two windows looking out on the view.It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in The Lizard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House

Property: Bay House
Address: The Lizard, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bay House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing