We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection at the Lizard”
Review of Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay House
Ranked #2 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It is hard to express how impressed we were with the little bit of paradise which Carla and John have created to complement the natural wonder of the location of their house. The comfort and hospitality they provide truly does justice to one of the most stunning locations in Cornwall.

Everything you could possibly need to make your stay perfect has been predicted and provided. The bathrooms are five star and the rooms have been thoughtfully and beautifully furnished to a superior standard. All topped off by a very high quality breakfast each morning.

Wonderful place to stay. Every reason to return.

Room Tip: Worth the supplement for the fabulous views from the Atlantic Room but all the rooms are fantastic.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Bay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

On our Cornwall trip we stayed here for 3 nights at Carla and John. Our room with view over the Hazel Bay was indescribabel. The exquisite furniture and accessories have enjoyed us very much. John surprised us with an excellent breakfast and also with tea and clotted cream in the afternoon. Too bad we could not stay longer.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank MargritBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

An amazing stay in a amazing B&B with wonderful hosts, thank you Carla and John ;o)
we enjoyed so much to stay for two nights in this wonderfull House with very 'charmante' rooms und surrounding. The whole House was spotlessly clean and very warm decorated.
We of course came back for a longer stay.. we really recommend to stay in this wonderful B&B Housel Bay in Lizard/Cornwall.
Thank you very much Carla & John for everything... warm regards Cornelia & Christian

Room Tip: all tree rooms have the same amazing and wonderful view directly to the bay and sea!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A stunning room with a stunning view! An amazing garden and patio -- with an amazing view! It's hard to describe how wonderful this bed and breakfast is. The house is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The garden is perfectly laid out. There are comfy chairs on the deck and a beautiful summerhouse for reading or sipping a glass of wine. Breakfast is locally sourced and deliciously cooked. The coastal path with wonderful walks is right outside the door. Carla and John are charming and very caring hosts, and have great recommendations for the many things to do and the very good restaurants nearby. On top of all this, it is fascinating just to sit in an armchair by the window staring at the lighthouse, cliffs, soaring birds, and splashing waves. It is the most peaceful and relaxing place on earth. I wished we could have stayed much, much longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Bay House for two nights in June 2014. The place really is outstanding. Our room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. There is a superb garden with summer house at the front of the building which leads to the coast path, the other side of which is the sea - its that close!
The Lizard village is only about 10 minutes walk away and is definitely worth exploring.
The outstanding Polpeor Café (its really a restaurant) is only a short walk away
Carla and John really went out of their way to make our stay something special. They are a great couple and have really worked hard to make the Bay House probably one of the best B&B's in Cornwall.
If you are visiting West Cornwall. put this B&B on your 'must stay' list.
Dave and Lisa, Newquay, Cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Once again Carla and John have managed to enlighten our too short stay in Cornwall. The Bay House is located at the most wonderful spot, our Atlantic room was simply superb, and Johns Breakfast is already a legend... There is no better host than Carla, with her warm and joyful attitude, and we could profit of many helpful reccomendations.
We defenitely will be back again!

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room is the most spacious room with a very large ensuite bathroom (walk-in shower), the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have seen quite a few B&B in the UK. Although we were quite lucky with most of our choices, this one easily ranks itself under the top three. Everything is simply perfect and done with a lot of love by Carla and her husband John. The breakfast, the lovely rooms or the generous drive way (a relief after all the narrow streets in Cornwall) everything is just as you wish for. However, on top of this comes the view. I just did not want to get the out of this chair behind the window. It is easily said, but we will try to come back and we mean it. Stephan

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
4.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
892 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
10.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House

Address: The Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bay House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing