We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B fit for royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Landewednack House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Landewednack House
Ranked #8 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“B&B fit for royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Landewednack House is B&B fit for a prince or princess. The interior is exquisitely furnished and adorned with fascinating collections of art and ornaments. The food is Michelin quality at affordable prices. Four of the five pugs are docile and friendly; one is a bit hyperactive. Anthony and Sue are very friendly and have a great sense of humour. The twin room is a bit cramped but comfortable. Every detail has been considered, right down to toffee eclairs and a small flask of brandy in the room. This is grand living on a miniature scale - a perfect treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david_warden2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Cornwall is a perfect location and Landewednack is the perfect place to stay-the house is beautifully furnished and the hosts Anthony and Sue make all feel very welcome! It really is a relaxing house with lovely gardens and walks, Anthonys food is perfect and the only downside is to have a healthy breakfast would be so wrong as the full English breakfasts are a must! we have visited 4 times and never been dissapointed!!!

Room Tip: The garden facing rooms. Fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We first stayed at Landewednack house six years ago. It was one of those places that we we should have returned to earlier. A beautiful house run by nice people and really superb food - there is no more to say! Good luck to Sue and Anthony!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We tried this out as keen followers of Alastair sawday recommendations.
We weren't disappointed. A beautiful house set within an amazing garden and swimming pool.
The owner and manager were as barking as their 5 pugs and we loved them! It was a truly spoiling anniversary dinner and breakfast. Anthony treated us like royalty and sue treated us like her new best friends. The bed was sooo comfy with divine cotton sheets. We only discovered the decanter of port (hidden amongst the ornaments) in the room the following morning . The food deserves a special mention. Anthony's crab soup was everything reputation said it would be and the fresh turbot was better than the turbot I had recently at a famous numerical restaurant at watergate bay.
I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a spoiling time out.

Room Tip: Pay more and go for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamishFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day stay in The Coach House, which is part of Landewednack House.
We had a very warm welcome from Anthony and the resident pugs :0) and nothing but great hospitality throughout our stay. (Not to mention the great weather!!).

The Coach House is delightful and we felt really at home, as did our dog! It had everything we needed and is a very comfortable place to stay.
We were looking for a get-away-from-it-all break and we found exactly what we wanted.

We did not sample Anthony's cooking this time but would not hesitate to return and do so next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Island_Girl_888S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I had the most enjoyable and entertaining evening in Landewednack House. Sue, the owner is a wonderful dinner host and the chef, Antony, was very welcoming and his food is outstanding.

From the start, when you are welcomed with a roaring fire and home-made cake you know this will be an above average Bed & Breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated and incredibly comfortable. The grounds are lovely even in winter, and I can imagine the pool is well used in summer.

I would encourage you to take part in the communal dining as Sue is a fascinating lady who will entertain you with some wonderful stories. Antony's food is superb - green crab soup, grilled sea bass, poached pears in chocolate. Their attention to detail is marvellous. From pre-dinner drinks to the after dinner coffee, it was splendid.

I truly do not understand the points in some of the less favourable reviews, other than to say I guess you cannot please everyone. From my perspective, this is a wonderful home and it feels as though you are truly welcomed into the family for your stay. I was staying one night for business and as such Landewednack House really was a wonderful surprise. Thankyou

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saracooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was the highlight of our weeks stay in Cornwall! A truly wonderful place to stay - stunningly beautiful house, fabulous decor - my dream home! Hosts very friendly and helpful. Spotlessly clean. Superb breakfast. Incredibly sumptious beds with goose down duvets Lovely gardens - we swam in the pool and played croquet. My greatest regret was not having booked ourselves in for dinner ! I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place. Perfect for special occasions , Would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: we paid a bit extra for room overlooking gardens with view to church and sea. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.6 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
4.6 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.0 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in The Lizard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landewednack House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landewednack House

Property: Landewednack House
Address: Church Cove, The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Landewednack House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing