We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location and Fantastic Experience”
Review of Landewednack House

Landewednack House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Landewednack House
Ranked #9 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location and Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this beautiful B&B on the Lizard for a quick weekend getaway. We loved our stay at this place. Antony is an amazing chef and our breakfasts were to die for! A beautiful property with charming rooms, Landewednack House is very close to South Coastal Walk - a beautiful walk along the Lizard peninsula - making it an amazing place to experience the spectacular views...

Antony and Sue were extremely helpful pointing us to the best spots around Lizard and helping us with things we needed (including a map as went walking!)

I would recommend this for couples and families looking for a quiet weekend away from the crowds of St. Ives... This place is restful and so beautiful you cant imagine why anyone would live somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rits24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I took my 5 children and dog away for May Half Term and we found a haven of luxury and rest. Landewednack is perfectly equipped for young families and the welcome could not have been warmer. We opted for the evening meals and were not disappointed.
I can't recommend this B&B more highly.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just stayed at this fabulous place on the Lizard in Cornwall. If you are a foodie, Antony is an amazing chef - every meal a triumph. Sue a wonderful host - nothing too much trouble. Beautiful gardens and within walking distance of the sea.

Room Tip: 'The Pretty Room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We selected this place from Sawday's Special Places To Stay. Despite being half term we were the only guests for two nights. Landewednack is owned by Sue Thorbek and she is an extremely hospitable hostess. She is supported by Antony who is a brilliant chef.

The house is situated a few minutes walk from the Lizard Lifeboat station which is situated in a spectacular position facing the Atlantic. We were fortunate with the weather and enjoyed some fine walking along the coastal path.

At Poldhu, Marconi sent the first radio message across the Atlantic in 1901 and the spot is marked with a monument. For those with a sense of history this is a very special place.

The Lizard is great place for a holiday and for just getting away from every

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEAPPRENTICELONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you want to walk this section of the coastal path, then it is hard to pick a better place to stay. GREAT FOOD, good wine, owners willing to help out in any way--made a fire upon our arrival in the sitting room, drove us to the start of a hike so we could walk back at our leisure, suggestions on where to stop on our way out. The house has charm and character as do the owners. One should like dogs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuttleBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Back from spending another lovely weekend at this wonderful house. Great location for walking or touring. The food cooked by Anthony is fantastic, and the whole experience very relaxing. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: The big room has a fantastic view and lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Landewednack House is B&B fit for a prince or princess. The interior is exquisitely furnished and adorned with fascinating collections of art and ornaments. The food is Michelin quality at affordable prices. Four of the five pugs are docile and friendly; one is a bit hyperactive. Anthony and Sue are very friendly and have a great sense of humour. The twin room is a bit cramped but comfortable. Every detail has been considered, right down to toffee eclairs and a small flask of brandy in the room. This is grand living on a miniature scale - a perfect treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david_warden2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.6 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
594 reviews
4.6 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#4 of 12 in The Lizard
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landewednack House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landewednack House

Property: Landewednack House
Address: Church Cove, The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Landewednack House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing