We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired.....in need of a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tired.....in need of a facelift”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We chose this hotel for lunch due to its location. A fabulous spot with incredible views.
My first choice lunch wasn't available (crab cakes) so I settled for moules mariniere, which were lovely. The price of the food unfortunately didn't reflect its surroundings. The restaurant was quite shabby, and very much needs a facelift. Whereas the menu was quite pricey.
However the outdoor terrace area was lovely, just a little too windy for us to sit out on the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keentraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, Owner at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Firstly let me apologise that your experience at the Housel Bay Hotel was not satisfactory. I would like to say that the majority of our guests remark on how good our prices are for an AA Rosette Awarded Restaurant, and that we are in fact cheaper than most of our competitor Hotels, but I do apologise if you found our prices a little steep and they will be remaining the same. I was quite shocked to hear our beautiful victorian restaurant being described as "shabby" and "in need of a facelift", I understand that after nearly 120 years of service, and the fact that we have retained most original features, that you may find some aspects of the Hotel slightly dated, but I think its really a case of not being able to appreciate the history behind it - I believe the premier inn's are quite modern, perhaps a better alternative for your next stay? Again I apologise that it was too windy for you to sit out on our glorious terrace - I'm afraid I have no control over the weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    71
    27
    18
    6
See reviews for
29
154
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We came across the Housel Hotel whilst out on a Coastal Walk to Lizard, after stopping for a coffee we decided to make a dinner reservation. The owner and staff of this hotel make you feel right at home, none of the hospitality is forced or false, genuinely lovely people. The food is a amazing, this is a real find because the presentation and quality is out of this world! I had the Spiced Pork Belly to start which was so Tender and perfectly cooked, to follow I had the Sea Bass. My son had the 1/2 Lobster which was served with a Garlic Butter, Salad and New Potatoes. My Wife had the Hake as a main which was served with a Bean Cassoulet. We were all blown away with the food, so decided to round the experience off with a dessert! And we were not disappointed. Some of the reviews have stated that this Hotel is tired around the edges, well I disagree it is better described as being a Traditional English Hotel with Beutiful Views and loads of character. From a dining experience it is great value and would probably cost a considerable amount more if located anywhere else. Please do not miss the Housel Hotel when in the area!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We've been on a long trip along the whole southcoast of England. We've stayed overnight at seven different places - hotels and B&B's. We also stayed at this hotel. Why have we chosen it? Partly because of the good rating in the travelguide and partly because of the overwhelming view over the sea. Unfortunately, we've been terribly disappointed: The room was very small, hardly any space to move around, although we paid 135.00 English pounds per night. The bathroom can't be called a bathroom: old, shabby, no amenities at all. High time to invest some money to instal a new bathroom! The owner takes alot of money from his customers but does not offer the service and the luxory he's supposed to give. The dinner was ok but again overpriced. The next scandal was the breakfast. Being a fine day, we wanted to sit outside overlooking the bay. Our wish was denied by the manageress without any good reason. Instead of that we had to sit at the table in front of the kitchen, with two doors banging all the time and overstressed waiters rushing by. The tea was weak; marmalade, jam, butter rationed; the toast burned to a cinder (that is not exaggerated); the waiters never came to our table to wait on us. The worst breakfast we've had on our 12-day tour through England but we've paid the price for the wonderful view. What a shame owners! Not enough of the negative impressions of this hotel: the manager wanted to charge us 15 English Pounds for paying with the Golden Visa Card. This is unbelievable! We are sure that this practice is illegal, we will check it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 823mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stunning views and a building that could be such a delight.
We visited for a sunday roast which was not that great starters average, roast potatoes were like jackets and hard in the middle (you only got one) and the staff were trying to be pleasent but they were all polish and this does come over in customer service. No sign of any management and the service was increadable slow in a stifeling hot room. An Epos system would have made things 100 times better fir the staff and would have covered up the problems with our had written bills that took half an hour to arrive.
Management need in invest some money here as this place could be amazing so much that it would be worth travelling miles and miles for food with that view.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank padstowsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Firstly let me apologise for your less than satisfactory visit to the Housel Bay. It was with regret to hear that your food was not up to standard, our Sunday Roast is very highly acclaimed (also AA Rosette Awarded) at the Housel Bay and we wont tolerate unsatisfied customers. We have spoken to the chefs and they have also been shown the comment - I understand we all make mistakes at times but when customers are paying good money for their meals nothing should be less than perfect. With regards to our staff, we do employ Polish girls, but our girls work very hard and up until now our customers have been very satisfied with the level of customer service provided - again, I apologise that in your experience, this was not the case, we made the girls aware of this incident and have stressed that excellent customer service must be maintained at all times. Again, I do apologise for the heat however we are in the Summer season and sometimes it will be hot, we are certainly not complaining about the weather but understand some people may! As for your comment about the EPOS system, I understand that this is the modern way of doing things (and perhaps a lot easier), however the Hotel is nearly 120 years old and we do try to stick to traditional methods as much as we can. We do hope that you visit us again and hopefully we can redeem your bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I drove here from London and although the trip was eventful it was all worth it to discover this magical hotel. It looks just like the photo above. We had a lovely large room which overlooked the Bay. Furnishings were a bit dated but I think that added to the homely atmosphere. The Managers were very friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic, I sincerely hope they can keep their Chef. This was our first "hotel" experience in our self drive tour of England and it was simply magic. Go there you will love it.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

whilst we did not actually stay at this hotel we did eat there on a number of occasions, the interior did look dated, but the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, the lady who owned it found us a table with the best view even on a very busy night and what a view!!! even if your just out for a walk on the cliff tops stay here for a while and have a drink and spot of lunch, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We came here for a meal on our last night.
We sat in the conservatory part and the views over the ocean and lighthouse were out of this world.
The service and food was professionally done. It was a real fine dining experience and very well presented.
I would definitely recommend it for couples on honeymoon and for a peaceful tranquil experience. The hotel had a very nice character about it. We did not see the rooms, as we were not staying there but would like to next time we visit the Lizard and Cornwall.
The food was quite well priced and the specials board had lots of very nice seafood dishes.
One of the nicest meals I have had for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve3678_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
4.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
570 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
4.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
10.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
674 reviews
11.4 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Housel Cove, The Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in a spectacular location at the Lizard in Cornwall. A lovely sandy cove nestles beneath the Hotel, and the Cornish Coast Path runs through the gardens and cliff lands. A place in which to walk, to eat and drink well and to set aside the cares of the world. Unspoilt scenery, outstanding cuisine (AA Rosette and RAC Dining Award) and a healthy lifestyle, we are also home to Britain's most southerly webcam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housel Bay Hotel And Restaurant
Housel Bay The Lizard
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing