We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely, well equipped, cosy cottage in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Forge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
The Lizard, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

mattgreen...
Plymouth
2 reviews
“A lovely, well equipped, cosy cottage in a beautiful area of Cornwall”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a lovely short break at the Forge, and the cottage was everything we wanted. It was well equipped, with all we needed to self cater, and was in a beautiful location with stunning views out to the sea. There are plenty of lovely coastal walks nearby, and Lizard village is just a five minute stroll down the road. Although the weather was cold, the cottage was really warm and cosy. Overall we felt that the website photos and information didn't do it justice! We would definitely recommend the Forge, and hope to visit again ourselves some time.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was lovely and cosy and had everything you needed without feeling small.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for The Forge. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as our aim is to make sure that our guests are comfortable and happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bliss...”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely, quiet little self contained cottage just perfect for two people to get away from it all.
Booked this at two days notice and Ann and Nigel couldn't have made it easier. We were left to ourselves to come and go as we pleased but our hosts were only next door if we wanted anything. The welcome cream tea with scones was a lovely surprise and set the tone for our stay. Nicely placed for all the places one would want to visit and a distant sea view as well. What more could you want. We will return.

Date of stay: December 2014
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review after your visit to The Forge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and our aim is to make our guests feel welcome,comfortable and at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
165DanK
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect coastal location”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Forge is in a perfect location for both Lizard village, a five minute walk away, and the coast; Lizard Point being about a fifteen minute walk away, Bass Point a little nearer.
Everything we could have possibly needed during our stay was provided and, on arrival, we found cream teas waiting for us, as well as fresh flowers and even a bottle of milk in the fridge. Now that's what I call service!
The owners, Ann and Nigel, couldn't have been nicer. I would happily recommend the Forge to anyone looking for a quiet location with sea views and easy access to the coast.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, access to Lizard village and coastal path
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as our main aim is to make sure all our guests are made to feel welcome and at home and have a happy and enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy P
London
2 reviews
“" A very enjoyable experience "”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely cottage with fantastic sea views,nicely decorated,a very comfortable bed and all amenities.Excellent position with access to coastal path just down the road. The owners....Ann and Nigel.....very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Forge and we really enjoyed meeting you both. Kind regards Ann and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blumenver...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“great!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

everything was great and we could just repeat what the other guests already wrote! It is a lovely Cottage and very nice and helpful Hosts. The area is perfect for walking along the coastal path. We went there with the public Transport (to Redruth with the train and the directly to the Lizard with the bus (around 1,5 hours)). The Buses are reliable but one has to read the timetable carefully (because they don't come "every 5 minutes") and everything takes a bit longer than going by car.
So look and see!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send your kind comments, we are only too pleased that you had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The Forge is a wonderful find. It's small but perfectly formed with a lovely homely feel. Ann and Nigel, the owners, make you feel very welcome and there are lots of little extras, such as a cream tea provided on arrival and fresh flowers and milk in the fridge. The view from the first floor is stunning and there is so much to see and do in the surrounding area. Nigel took us on a boat trip which was included and another great bonus. We would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely place to anyone. We both felt thoroughly relaxed after spending a week there and hope to return in the future.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and view.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being kind enough to write a review. It is very important to us that all our visitors have a lovely time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwilliam2...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Ann and Nigel made us feel so welcome and made our stay both relaxing and incredibly enjoyable.

The property was perfect, very clean with all the amenities needed. It was very comfortable and homely.

The view was stunning from the property (especially bedroom) and the interior was much nicer than what the pictures portray.

Could not have asked for better accommodation, hosts and location.

We absolutely loved it and cannot wait to return and would highly recommend The Forge to anyone.

Michelle Gwilliam

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, location and hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.