We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, and beautiful accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Forge

comfortable sitting area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
comfortable sitting area
double bed kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
comfortable sitting area
double bed
kitchen area
patio
view from upstairs window
View from cottage on early summers morning
Front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
The Lizard, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rhodri00
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, and beautiful accomodation”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Firstly I would like to thank Ann and Nigel for a fantastic break, they really have made a hidden jem. The Forge is situated in a quite area with great connectivity to all the Lizard has to offer.

It was great to enjoy the peace and quiet in great surroundings, enjoying a beer on the patio while watching the sea in the distance. We had several evening strolls down to Church Cove and around the coastal path.

Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thank you Rhodri for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our intention to make sure our guests have a peaceful and happy holiday and we do hope that you will visit us again some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A hidden gem, total rest and relaxation. The pictures don't do this place justice, it's just beautiful. So cosy, clean and well maintained. Lovely gift of a cream tea, fresh milk, flowers and chocolates.
Lovely local pub, great walks. Looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is our pleasure to have guests stay at The Forge and always our aim to make sure that they feel welcome and have a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teaclippe...
Bedford - England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place and perfect location”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a warm welcome on arrival from the owners, Ann and Nigel. A cream tea was waiting for us - wonderful after a long journey! The cottage was very clean and comfortable and was equipped with everything we needed for a two week stay. Wifi was ideal for emails. Phone reception in the area was a bit patchy, we were told that 'ee' is best, however, I was using Vodafone and managed to find 'hot spots' so not a problem. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are looking at returning.
Great house, very friendly community, lovely place to stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on The Forge. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon_0001...
The Lizard, United Kingdom
1 review
“very nice!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we have enjoyed our stay very much. The house and especially the view from the couch were great! Thank you very much!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias L
1 review
“Very cozy little apartment with excellent views on a great location”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The small apartment is very well furnished and nicely decorated. It has great views over hills with sheep and horses as well as over the cliffs and the sea. It's cozy to spend time in, also on rainy days. It's perfectly located, a short walk takes you to the little village where you find everything you need, and it's a perfect starting point for longer walks along the cliffs. Ann and Nigel and the cat are all very warm and welcoming. The Forge is a highly recommended place, we would come back any time!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and do hope that you will be able to visit us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattgreen...
Plymouth
2 reviews
“A lovely, well equipped, cosy cottage in a beautiful area of Cornwall”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a lovely short break at the Forge, and the cottage was everything we wanted. It was well equipped, with all we needed to self cater, and was in a beautiful location with stunning views out to the sea. There are plenty of lovely coastal walks nearby, and Lizard village is just a five minute stroll down the road. Although the weather was cold, the cottage was really warm and cosy. Overall we felt that the website photos and information didn't do it justice! We would definitely recommend the Forge, and hope to visit again ourselves some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was lovely and cosy and had everything you needed without feeling small.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for The Forge. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as our aim is to make sure that our guests are comfortable and happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bliss...”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely, quiet little self contained cottage just perfect for two people to get away from it all.
Booked this at two days notice and Ann and Nigel couldn't have made it easier. We were left to ourselves to come and go as we pleased but our hosts were only next door if we wanted anything. The welcome cream tea with scones was a lovely surprise and set the tone for our stay. Nicely placed for all the places one would want to visit and a distant sea view as well. What more could you want. We will return.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review after your visit to The Forge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and our aim is to make our guests feel welcome,comfortable and at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing