We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job !!!!!!!!”
Review of Henry's Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henry's Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Wales
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Just the job !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

J and I arrived home yesterday from almost two weeks on Steeple pitch. After nearly 40 years of camping here and across the channel this is probably one of the best campsites we have stayed at. As Ron said one day, "It doesn't suit everyone". He's right and if you want to camp on a sanitised 'club' camping ground, where they measure the space between tents and expect the tents and the campers to be in orderly, straight lines etc then do not come here. If you want to relax, enjoy the view, the locality and escape the pressures of work etc then do come.

Ron and his troupe of Ronettes are so camper friendly, so helpful and full of enthusiasm for what they do. Around every corner is a surprise or something to bring a smile to your face. Every one of our Naybors on adjoining pitches spoke highly of the staff and the site.

Ok...... So some of the toilets are a bit dated but they were always clean, functional and never nasty and smelly. (Unless you went into the 'Bang-Bang' toilets straight after J had let rip with one of her 'Morning Speshuls'.

We will be back as soon as time allows. If we could have stayed here for the rest of the summer, then we would have.

Costings were very fair for the setting. The pitches were very well constructed, enclosed by low, granite walls and/or interesting planting. We emerged from our tent every morning to a view over the Atlantic Ocean and enjoyed so many amazing sunsets most evenings.

Across the fence from us were the pigs, alpacas, goats and poultry. I think J was grateful for the pigs as it was difficult to identify if she was snoring or the pigs were snorting.

Lizard and the surrounding area is beautiful. We were lucky with the weather.

All in all, this was a most magnificent holiday for us.

Room Tip: Just go !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Chill out and renew your faith in humanity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lay-By-Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    20
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a campsite like no other. Its quirky and has a bit of a hippy feel to it. However, the toilet/shower facilities could do with some updating. Its not cheap and then you have to pay for showers extra. The views are fabulous. There's a small, well stocked, shop which is open all day (as long as there are staff/the owner around) and the chickens and ducks which roam freely around the site provide free range eggs. There's also a chicken field next door with llamas, goats and pigs. One night there was free entertainment from a local singer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_mobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hell yes!!
We first went to Henry's last year, after doing some searches we liked it's quirkiness and the fact that it wasn't a sterile campsite and we had a lovely stay. This year when we looked at booking a week's camping holiday we looked at other sites closer to home, the only thing putting us off going back to Henry's was the 7 hour drive from home to The Lizard but in the end we decided it was definately worth the drive.
Just come back after a week's stay, weather was glorious apart from 1 day and the site was as we expected - peaceful and relaxing.
The owners are really friendly and always around if you need them. There's a little shop on site selling all your basics, you can even buy a slice of bacon, a sausage, an egg (free range and laid by the hens on site) and individual slices of bread which is perfect if you're camping with no refrigeration oh and of course it sells the Old Rosie!! You can get any of your electrical items charged for 50p which is very handy and yes there is a 20p charge for a 2 minute shower but we found that if we went in together 60p gave us plenty of time to shower!! All the toilet and shower facilities are spotlessly clean, we tended to shower later in the morning after the early morning rush and they were always clean. There's washing up facilites which always have running hot water and fresh water taps dotted around the site.
The site itself is cleverly designed and laid out, each pitch has it's own "boundary" which gives you the sense of privacy and allows space for 1 car so the place isn't over run with vehicles. The views are amazing no matter where you are pitched! The fire pit is a great place to meet people and to hang out if it's a bit cold and windy and if you're lucky there will be some live music when you visit.
As previously mentioned hens and ducks roam around the site freely and at this time of year there's even some chicks wandering around.
We only came back yesterday and we're looking forward to next year's trip already!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Off-Work-4-a-hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Henry's campsite is developing a bit of a reputation down in England's most southerly point and its easy to see why. Amazing sea view, funky hippie style decor, good bathroom facilities, farm shop with local produce (milk from local farm), small amphitheatre with a cosy fire pit, live music nights (amazing ragtime jazz/blues guitar player was playing while I was there) and last but not least a field where you can mingle with alpacas, pigs and chickens. The only small negative was the 20p shower hot water charge which lasted for about 3 Mins-but don't let this put you off visiting-awesome campsite in one of England's most beautiful areas-amazing coastal walks. Definitely will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBSkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a campsite with a difference. Set in a sloping terraced site overlooking the bays surrounding The Lizard, Cornwall and within a mile or so of the renowned Kynance Cove, this site offers an idyllic setting. However the hippy feel seems a little dated now and the sanitation facilities, by anybody's standards are in need of some attention. The charges for motorhomes are high. However for the camper the glorious setting might outweigh these grumbles and watching the sun set in a clear evening sky is magical.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

stayed here last night ..we booked in for two nights ..but due to unforseen circumstances had to leave early which i was gutted about ..lovely relaxed vibe the owners are very friendly & are always available to help .. plenty of interesting things to see around the site quirky! right up my street ! :) plenty of showers and toilets ,lovely view of the sea with a short walk to the coastal footpath also couple of mins walk to the square where they have lots of little shops fish and chips pasties and pubs ideal ! ..was so sorry to leave especially as the weather was so nice too ! :( ... hopefully i will return again one day ...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy_may10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent, really quirky little campsite with wonderful views. Perfect if you like things a bit hippy - avoid if you prefer caravan club type things! There was live music in the firepit twice the weekend we stayed which really added to the vibe and was fun. The well-stocked shop is open most of the day and well into the evening. The local shops and restaurants are just a short stroll away in Lizard - lots of chances to sample the excellent icecream! Chickens and ducks roam the site freely and provide hours of entertainment - but watch your food!

We can't wait to come back and have rebooked for later this month.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in The Lizard
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#4 of 12 in The Lizard
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry's Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry's Campsite

Property: Henry's Campsite
Address: Lizard Point, The Lizard, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in The Lizard
Also Known As:
Henry's Campsite The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing