We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superbly renovated B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapel House at The Lizard
Ranked #8 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superbly renovated B&B”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just spent a night at the Chapel House B&B at the Lizard, Cornwall. Katie and Mark have done an amazing job converting the old Chapel into a House full of charm and character. The room was excellent although its worth noting there is no television for those who cannot do without the box.
Breakfast was great with quality ingredients. Even had homemade baked beans which shows the effort put in. Should be top of your list if thinking of staying at the Lizard.
Paul & Sarah. Many thanks again for transporting our forgotten stuff to our next destination. It was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We recently had a week at Chapel House and I can honestly say it is at the top of our best B & B list. The food is superb, the bed is wonderful and the bathroom is the best. Its the first season for Katie and Mark in this refurbished Chapel and what a brilliant job they have done. Its a really comfy, homely and relaxing place to visit. The location is also very good as it is in the centre of the village with shops and walks right on the doorstep. Car parking is not a problem also. Overall summing up 5* plus what more can I say.
Jayne & Gordon, Solihull.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon10w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Chapel House is a little gem in the heart of The Lizard village! This is their first opening season, hence not alot of reviews available online, I braved the decision to go ahead and book 2 nights at the Chapel House for a long weekend. Chapel House at The Lizard is decorated to the highest standard, combining both style and comfort, everyday we looked forward to going back to the house after each coastal walk. The Owners Katie and Mark are friendly and easy to talk to, we felt like we had been friends for years pretty quickly. Provided it was the first time at The Lizard, their local knowledge added tremendous value to our stay.

Not only will I miss that spacious and beautifully decorated room we have stayed in, but also Mark's signature "The Full Cornish" breakfast. Being a foodie myself, I would go as far to say that the breakfast at Chapel House can easily beat some of these high-end London cafes full english breakfast hands down. They use high quality organic produce, and Mark's homemade smoky baked beans were the one thing not to be missed!

We had an amazing time visiting The Lizard, we look forward to many more visits to this beautiful spot of England, but not only for the amazing coastal scenery but also an excuse to stay at Chapel House again!

Room Tip: Katie has shown us all the rooms and they are all amazingly decorated! However, there's a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyWicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, East Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Ah, what an absolutely wonderful place. We almost want to keep it as our little secret....

Chapel House is that rare thing: a modern B&B which has been done with tremendous style and vision, yet also feels thoroughly homely and comfortable, no sense of needing to stand on ceremony. We'd seen the building from the outside countless times while wandering through Lizard village, but weren't really sure what to expect on the inside. Katie and Mark have done a beautiful job on their refurbishment project: every space is elegant and thoughtful, and the overall atmosphere is one of a peaceful retreat from the outside world.

From the blackboard in the porch with the week's weather forecast chalked up (and the sparrows nesting above) to one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in, it all hit the spot for us. We arrived after a week of blissful self-catering nearby and could easily have felt a bit out of place in other people's space, but not at all: we were spoilt for choice for inviting spots to loaf around with a book and a glass of wine, and never felt like we needed to be out and about if we didn't feel like it. We loved the location too, right in the heart of the village, but somehow slightly tucked out of view.

The breakfast, served in the lovely living room, was a thing of absolute splendour: we'd have needed hours to do it all justice. Although the jam and croissants looked really inviting, I never managed to make it beyond Mark's epic "full Cornish" with home-made baked beans and other delights, washed down with a fine pot of tea. Breakfast is supposed to be the most important meal of the day; at Chapel House, it can be your only meal of the day...!

As you'll have gathered, we couldn't have been happier. We relaxed right into its quiet, gentle rhythm almost as soon as we arrived...and we really didn't want to leave when it was time to go. A splendid, homely place, one we're very much looking forward to returning to.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boathouse room...which, apart from having the most comfortable bed in the whole wid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ig_wfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#4 of 12 in The Lizard
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in The Lizard
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregaddra Farm B&B
Tregaddra Farm B&B
#3 of 39 in Helston
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in The Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel House at The Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel House at The Lizard

Property: Chapel House at The Lizard
Address: The Lizard TR127NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the tremendous serpentine cliff faces, peaceful, unspoilt sandy coves and beaches to the most dramatic coastline in Cornwall, Chapel House bed and breakfast sits at the heart of the picturesque Lizard, Britain's most southerly village.At Chapel House we have three large bedrooms with king size beds, all of which are en-suite, including one with a beautiful cast iron claw foot bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chapel House At The Lizard Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing