We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Food”

Smugglers Fish and Chips
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in The Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Traditional English Fish and Chip shop takeaway
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional English Fish and Chip shop takeaway
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved the Scampi, Chicken, Sausages etc... A really convenient place to get a quick meal... Very tasty and fulfilling!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rits24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    43
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy local food”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Traditional delicious local fayre served with a modern, sustainable attitude. Great choice of fish and a good menu for fussy little ones. Tasty and ethical!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AliceDG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can you get Tripe from fish??”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Generally made from a cow’s stomach I know. But on Friday night from the Smugglers Chip Shop on the Lizard, we had fish tripe. Oh, wait; ours was the other meaning of tripe. Undercooked batter, mushy peas, which were in fact a few peas in a pea gravy. Since “tripe” is derived from the French, perhaps we should call the pea gravy a “jus”. Chips were OK though.
Disappointing, expensive and very poor quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitewader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
214 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We didn't think there was anything special about this shop. The man that served us was not very pleasant and the fish and chips were average, we had much better food from other fish shops whilst we were in Cornwall/

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthAfrican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great locally caught fish and chips. Reasonably priced and very tasty. Veggie burger was also good so says my daughter anyway.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smugglers Fish and Chips also viewed

The Lizard, Cornwall
The Lizard, Cornwall
 

Been to Smugglers Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing