We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but too quiet for us”
Review of YHA Lizard Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA Lizard Point
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hostel is in a fabulous location, is a great building and is very well-looked after. Our room was a reasonable size (five bunks for 2 adults and 2 kids) with the best view I've ever had from any hotel in the world and exceptionally clean. The kitchen is well-equipped and also spotless.
The only two things that were a drawback for us was that it was really quiet - no other families for the first two days of our three night stay and most people went to bed early - and the volunteer who was looking after the place seemed to find the guests a bit of an inconvenience.
I like YHA hostels and this is probably one of the best, but I worry that YHA is losing its core purpose. There was no encouragement to socialise and no activities (like there is in French hostels). But, for all that, you really could not fault the view or the standard of accommodation so if you like a quiet getaway it is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms are sea view but may be worth asking for this before you book. Rooms at the back suffer f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Even if I am used to the hostel, I have to say that this one was amazing. very big kitchen available (no breakfast service) and clean as well. I found bedroom very comfy with sea view included. I did really like this place as absolutely in the dark outside so that you can see the lighthouse light so impressive and fascinating. price perfect too....please remember your hairdrier if you like as here is a bit expensive (2pounds for hiring!)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 74_Isy_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This was my first experience of a YHA hostel and it was a pleasant surprise. Good comfortable accommodation and a well equipped kitchen. The weather was good so we had wonderful views by day and the stars at night! Also the lighthouse light sweeping across the sky. I don't know how I would get there without a car, I was given a lift from Truro, but it's worth a trip for the walking and the location. The Witchball Pub and restaurant is nearby - very good food and beer. Also recommend Anne's Pasties.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sylvia419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed their for a night in August, very clean and confortable rooms, some overlooking the clif.
Beautiful location, easy acces by car and if you are walking on the cornwall cost trail.
Has a massive very clean kitchen, a dining room, a living room and even a dining room for groups so that everyone can enjoy their holidays.

Will go back as soon as I do my next trip down to cornwall

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with view if you want to had a romantique side to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location, hard working staff, lovely rooms, great facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is a good hostel- clean, efficient, and well run. It's in a house built adjacent to the lighthouse, and the house dates from 1864 or so; obviously there's been some modifications but it still has a good atmosphere. Our room was Room 2, Round Island was its title- in it was a double bed with a bunk over it, and opposite the double bed was another bunk set. The rooms come with light quilts, pillows and sheets which you deposit in the laundry basket downstairs at the end of your stay. Our room also had a basin and a ratherr over-efficient heater... It's all self-catering and has a huge kitchen with plenty of space for all. They do sell little packes of cereal and crisps and things like that, and, annoyingly, they do have UHT milk but they only had it in the tiny little packs they give you on air flights, so you need about 10 for a bowl of cereal and a cup of tea. Of course, you could be organised and stock up at the Sainsbury in Helston before you arrive...The staff are friendly and efficient- be aware though that you need to arrive by 9pm at the latest cos after that they go off for the night- we cut it pretty fine but it was okay, we just made it. The bathroom facilties vary - some toliets were spacious and had lovely views, but the showers are fashioned out of cupboards, I think, as there is just enough room to get in and hang your towell up, they get stiflingly steamy and if you suffer from claustrophobia you're in trouble here. There is a lot of them so no-one had to wait for anything, so that's a good thing. The place is situated on the cliffs at Lizard and that's the southern most spot in the British Isles, great views and watch out for the rabbits that spring about on the lawns at dusk. Our room had a sea view and a bay window which was lovely. It's a good alternative to the B and Bs in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Room 2 is good- sea view and a bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khmersrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Spend three nights here, using the hostel as a base from which to explore The Lizard. The warden was very accommodating and the bedrooms were comfortable and clean. We had a stunning view over the Atlantic Ocean from our room. The other areas of the hostel such as the kitchen and lounge were also clean and modern. During our stay in The Lizard we did a walk to Kynance Cove and back as well as a visit to the National Seal Sanctuary at Gweek. Would recommend this as a good place to stay to someone looking to visit this part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenewwales94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Lizard hotels
0 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
0 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in The Lizard
240 reviews
0 mi away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in The Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Lizard Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Lizard Point

Address: Lizard Point Youth Hostel Polbrean, The Lizard TR12 7NT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in The Lizard
Price Range: £28 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Lizard Point 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Lizard Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Lizard Point The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing