We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location, grand view”
Review of YHA Lizard Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA Lizard Point
Hinterriss, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful location, grand view”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay in the YHA Lizard. Our private room had an ensuite bathroom and the view from the big window was gorgeous. Everything was clean and we loved the quietnes of the place. Ideal location for walking along the coast path and for relaxing. The only thing we missed was a sun chair. If you are over 1.90 m tall, the beds are too small for you.

Room Tip: One of the private ensuite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
13
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tedburn Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Highly recommend staying at the YHA on the Lizard in Cornwall. The location is just in front of the Lizard Lighthouse. Fantastic views, lovely accommodation and the volunteers very welcoming. Stayed in a private room with 2 children and they had the best time ever exploring the grounds and the Lizard itself. Self catering but with good kitchen facilities. Local pubs and shops about a mile away.
Lovely weekend with wonderful memories.

Helpful?
Thank wendyt558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auxerre, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

These two nights were absolutely wonderful!
I was staying there with my family and we booked the room 2 which had a view on the sea and this was worth it. Seeing such a landscape when you wake up is simply a bliss. We even had the chance to see cute rabbits in the yard all the time!
In addition of being affordable, this hostel was perfectly clean and fresh.
The people working there were so lovely, gave us ideas of places to visit and it was nice talking with them. I highly recommend it. It definitely made our trip even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugartown89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We wanted somewhere different to stay whilst exploring the coast around the Lizard. Being a fussy sort and a family of 4 we booked a family room. In advance of our stay I emailed the hostel to see if we could be allocated a sea view and I was pleasantly surprised when it was confirmed we had been given a family room on the first floor overlooking Lizard Point... Not disappointed at all and really was a room with a view! Clean in all areas and with really friendly staff.
Well appointed spotless kitchen with lots of space.
The lounge was equally spotless and cosy with local information and board games etc.
This hostel is very well refurbished but remember it still maintains many of the original features, including wooden joists and so you do hear your neighbours! That said book, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 2 - fantastic view and sleeps up to 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We decided on a short notice break cos "'er indoors" has been working too hard these last couple of months.
A Rapid Response Nurse with NHS she needed a break, so I called YHA and booked Lizard Point... because it was so far from anywhere, situated at the southern most point in the UK and without wi-fi or mobile signal..... talk about "Away from it all" Self catering and silent! Only the breakers to listen to at night.
We sat in our room and listened to the waves and watched the sweep of the Lizard light which is behind the Hostel by about 100 yards. we both fell asleep in our chairs holding hands....... peace and love. we have booked again in March when it will be our anniversary.
Run by volunteer management, it was a great night, before moving on to Treyarnon Bay, for our 2nd night.
Brilliant is all I can say... but we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeY20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milfordplaza
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great value accommodation, with very friendly staff and
possibly one of the very best sea views anywhere in the World.
Nice, peaceful and relaxing.
Also, one of the very best Cafe/restaurants only a few mins walk away
at the Polpeor Cafe. Great for evening meals while watching the sun set,
and fantastic food, at realistic prices.
All contributed to a really great value weekend on the Lizard.
( Warning - The Beds were a little short and uncomfortable for tall visitors.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milfordplaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Walking the Coast Path I just had to stay here, it's even further south (just) than the lighthouse next door. I was lucky enough to have a male dormitory of four beds to myself. The dorm was fine, the shower was OK except I managed to shut the lighting cord in the door and struggled to re-open it - marks on the door frame suggested that this had happened before. No breakfast was a bit of a pain but there is a large catering kitchen if you bring your own food or get up early and walk to the pub in Cadgwith which is what I did (they stop serving at 09:30, though, and if there's a group of you, book ahead).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
569 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
796 reviews
6.3 mi away
YHA Coverack
YHA Coverack
#2 of 2 in Coverack
41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Lizard Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Lizard Point

Property: YHA Lizard Point
Address: Lizard Point Youth Hostel Polbrean, The Lizard TR12 7NT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Lizard Point 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Lizard Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Lizard Point The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing