We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lizard Lighthouse Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Coverack)
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel Hotel(Helston)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budock Vean Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
US$255
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meudon Hotel(Falmouth)
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
21
5
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
5
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround islandrock cottagegames and booksfog hornloved our stay herelizard lighthouseviews are stunningon arrivallongshipsbishopearplugscaretakerhowlinghamperpropertysignallounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2010

These cottages have been beautifully restored and yet retain the charm of the "old government buildings" feel. Very spacious and exceptionally well equipped. Ideal for Dogs ( where allowed ) as the floors are wooden and tiled. We didn't take our dog because we were concerned about the fog horn noise but modern fog horns aren't much to write home about . If you've ever heard the old compressed air ones then the new ones are pathetic in comparison ! Slept through it easily. The coast path is right outside the door and some lovely walks to be done. A bit pricey in high season but I suppose you are paying for the stunning location. Would return again definitley !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Visited the Lizard cottages with My Wife , Daughter and 4 friends and had one of the most enjoyable breaks I had in years , sure the foghorn went off for 1 night but it adds character to the cottages don't worry about it its not obtrusive , views are stunning and the clifftop walks refreshing , cottages are well appointed and comfortable and there are some excellent local restaurants serving the freshest seafood you will find anywhere , Cottage was well presented and clean and on-site caretaker was really friendly and efficient . I would recommend this highly to anyone looking for a getaway break , we will be back !!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irlmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

We stayed in Bishop Rock (one of the lighthouse cottages) in July 2007. The accomodation is truely amazing with views to die for and fantastic facilities, including your own private barbeque. It was one of the BEST self catering places we have used. Easy walking distance to the village for pubs and shops and right on the coastal path.

The Lizard has so much to do for all of the family - go - its beautiful! Kynance Cove is 5 minutes drive away. We had so much fun playing in the sea. The surfing beaches are good near by on the other side of Mullion. Goonhilly (I think thats how you spell it) satellite museum is worth a visit and the seal sanctuary at Gweek.

Caroline and Don are brilliant too, with lots of useful information about the lighthouse and the past. We enjoyed our tour of the lighthouse.

BUT that foghorn goes off at the sniff of fog - it was July and we were kept awake for 3 out of the 7 nights. The horn goes off every 30 seconds. I did post this on the Mullion cottages website but they did not include my review. Obviously they are worried that noone will book.

It is a fab location and well worth staying there but you might not get much sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chorleyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We booked a week at the Lizard Lighthouse cottages in October (although they do short breaks in the winter of 2-3 nights), and is the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in.

The cottages are the old lighthouse cottages which have been converted in Spring 2007 to an incredibly high standard. The views from the window overlook the Lizard cliffs with uninterrupted views and it is so wonderfully quiet and relaxing, and you can even stay in the second lighthouse tower. We stayed in Godrevy cottage which sleeps six, and they had thought of everything - immaculately furnished and well equipped.

The only downside (which they do warn in advance) is that the lighthouse is still functioning, and has a foghorn on foggy nights. They provide earplugs for the foghorn which will sound every 30 seconds but after a while you block it out - although not for the light sleeper. It was foggy for 2 nights we were there in October, but there is no real prediction on the weather.

You can book the properties via Mullion cottages rather than Trinity House who own the lighthouse.

Also recommend a trip round the lighthouse and museum which is being re-opened to the public as a heritage centre in Spring 2008.

6  Thank 25to30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews