We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Top House
Ranked #5 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Good room, £85 double ensuite. Food in restaurant was very nice

Room Tip: double ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    66
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
138
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Have stayed here on several occasions over recent years.Well situated in the centre of Lizard village next to the Green. Plenty of car parking. A traditional old Cornish Pub with 8 guest bedrooms en suite. We have stayed in 3 of the rooms which are well fitted with flat screen TV's, coffee/team making facilities + biscuits, complimentary toiletries, etc. The bedrooms are comfortable and of a good size with nice bathrooms. Rooms are well decorated and clean. There is no mould in the bathrooms - a pet hate of mine !! The upper rooms have views out to sea. Staff are friendly and helpful. The Pub is quite busy with a mixture of locals and guests and quite a pleasant place to spend an evening. Food served is traditional pub type fare - quite good, but not exciting. Breakfasts are good. In my view this is the best place to stay in or around Lizard.

Room Tip: If possible get a room on the upper floors with views to sea from your bed !!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I think the owner was on holiday when we visited as although the room was clean and nicely decorated the rest doesn't live up to the other reviews. The staff were less than friendly and the meal was disappointing. Service in the restaurant was difficult to obtain, the duck noodles were too greasy to eat and the other meals were unappealing too. Particularly when compared to the other amazing restaurants in this area of Cornwall this place is lacking.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rambling_0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My wife and I stayed for three days. Our room was bright airy and clean. Although clearly part of a pub, there was an entrance for residents to the accommodation and there was little or no noise from the pub. Food and drink at the pub were varied and of a good standard. Breakfast seemed to be on the basis that the more you ate, the more they give you. In the ened I gave up and left some, they beat me LOL! Very friendly Staff and owners.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed in a spotless ,light and airy family room with a large double bed and bunk beds for the children. The bathroom is large with a very good shower. The welcome we received was great and we had a really good evening meal in the bar area. The pub had a great mix of visitors and locals and had a real atmosphere to go with the quality beer.
Breakfast was fantastic especially the fruit platter and you could tell the food was locally sourced and good quality.
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The Top House is right in the village centre and the new owners seem to have really invested in the place. The rooms were en suite with tea, coffee, tv. The menu is much improved from previous visits, more choice and better quality.

Breakfast is flexible with plent of choice between 8-10am, the lad who served us in the morning could have smiled more but really couldn't fault the rest of the team who were very helpful

Whilst in the lizard take one of nigel legges boat trips and check out annes pasties. The ship inn at Mawgan on the st kerverne road is also worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibroadbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The Top House Inn is located in The Lizard near Helston. There is a B&B with 8 well appointed rooms attached to the extensive pub. We stayed for 4 nights in a family room which had a king sized bed and bunk beds. The room was very large and there was plenty of room if you needed to bring a travel cot or something similar.
The en-suite had a sink, toilet and bath with shower over and the shower was very good. There were complimentary tolietries in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom which were replenished daily. The room was also cleaned everyday which was a pleasant surprise for a B&B. There was a television in the room with a freeview box. A feature which puts this B&B ahead of so many others we've stayed at is that there is wireless internet which can be accessed in the rooms as well as in the pub.

The breakfast is served in the pub (which is accessed from the B&B by a secure internal door). The choice of breakfast ranged from cereals to a Full English, with tea, coffee, orange juice etc.
We also ate all our evening meals in the pub as the food was both delious as well as being reasonably priced. There was a good mix of fish, meat and vegetarian on the menu.
It was very nice to see locally produced drinks in the pub ranging from Cornish Rattler Cider to Cornish Korev lager.
The staff were all very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
This is the second time we have stayed here this year and will definitely return very soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cocktailqueen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
596 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
803 reviews
9.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
87 reviews
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing