We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant Bank Holiday weekend”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #3 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant Bank Holiday weekend”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Friday and were shown to our room, beautiful room with a sea view. On saturday evening we were joined by 9 other family members and had a fantastic meal. The food was amazing, puddings to die for!!! A great place to stay, a great place to eat. We will return.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    62
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
125
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Didn't stay here as we were over in Helston but had the best meal of the week here. Fresh Dressed Cornish crab and it was perfect. All washed down with a pint of Korven, the local larger this area of the UK is one to be proud of as a Brit... I'd encourage anyone to come and visit!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedarwood_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The room was bright and clean and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The food also was excellent.

Can't praise this place highly enough, accommodation, pub and restaurant were all first class.

Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEYeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked 3 rooms at this hotel over Easter for family. The welcome we recieved was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and gave all information we needed. I was travelling with a very young baby and on arrival reception told me they had got their travel cot out just in case I needed it. They also put is all on a table in the dining area with plenty of room for the pushchair so as not to disturb the baby if she was sleeping.
The rooms were very clean and decorated to a very high standard. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed at this pub as part of a ten day charity walk around the south west coast path. Good things about it were that the pub is lively and offers good cask ales. The atmosphere from the locals seemed friendly and warm. The breakfast was fine. The room was very comfortable and plushly furnished.
On the down side I found the reception a little cold and stand-offish. Everywhere else I went over the ten day walk people would ask a question about 'where have you walked today?' or 'where are you going?'. But in this pub no-one asked and I sensed that no one really cared. In fact, I wasn't asked anything - 'is everything OK?' or 'How are you?". The absence of those basic courtesies does create a negative impact. Perhaps it was the end of the year and they are a bit jaded by all of us walkers. At the end of the evening I asked if it was OK to take my pint to my room and watch TV. "As long as you don't throw it around the place" was the half jokey reply. Not the most welcoming of replies. In fact over my ten days at different establishments this was one of two places where I did not experience a welcoming attitude. Disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinJSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Arrived at my previous booked guest house,found it was dreadful and left in search of somewhere else to stay, checked the Hotels around Lizard and they are away overpriced..i found the Top House and was fortunate to get the last room..Excellent, great large bed and great views also bathroom with a powerful shower. Its better than some top class hotel rooms.

We got the very last..they must keep the best till last..which am thankful.

Would return again, got B&B for £85 for two is good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great place! Friendly, helpful, and great pub!! Looked like rooms have recently been redone. Modern, clean and comfortable.
Would strongly recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a good value and pleasant stay

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utbjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing