We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Anniversary Meal Out”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Top House
Ranked #5 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I came here to celebrate our 9th anniversary. We hadn't booked a table and arrived to quite a busy restaurant. We were greeted warmly and only had to wait a few minutes for a table as it was being cleaned. In the meantime we ordered drinks which were put onto our tab.

I ordered the potted crab with chips and homemade coleslaw on the side. My husband opted for the Gurnard. We shared a starter of crusty bread with pesto oil.

The food arrived promptly and was absolutely delicious. We both agreed it was the best meal we'd had in a very long time.

Couldn't fault anything about our visit and I would happily recommend The Top House to anyone travelling to this part of Cornwall who wanted a quality local meal at a very reasonable price:-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruffy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was our second stay here, but first under new management. The welcome was first class, the room spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the food, especially the breakfasts (included in the price), was exceptional. (Try the Top House breakfast platter, with croissants, yoghurt, and a selection of beautifully presented fresh fruit).
The whole package is very competitively priced, and I can recommend The Top House without reservation.

Room Tip: The best sea views are from the top floor (but you need to check whether available rooms have this v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Dropped in at last minute to see about staying over at lizard.
Receptionist was brilliant, sorted out a room for us explained all about the hotel and was really attentive throughout our stay.
The room itself was fantastic, well worthy of the four star AA rating.
Sea view from a dual aspect Kynance room was superb.
Nice comfy bed, great sized en-suite spotless throughout.
Great selection of fresh fish based meals, all with locally sourced ingredients.
Will definately be back.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We arrived on Friday and were shown to our room, beautiful room with a sea view. On saturday evening we were joined by 9 other family members and had a fantastic meal. The food was amazing, puddings to die for!!! A great place to stay, a great place to eat. We will return.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Didn't stay here as we were over in Helston but had the best meal of the week here. Fresh Dressed Cornish crab and it was perfect. All washed down with a pint of Korven, the local larger this area of the UK is one to be proud of as a Brit... I'd encourage anyone to come and visit!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedarwood_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The room was bright and clean and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The food also was excellent.

Can't praise this place highly enough, accommodation, pub and restaurant were all first class.

Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEYeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked 3 rooms at this hotel over Easter for family. The welcome we recieved was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and gave all information we needed. I was travelling with a very young baby and on arrival reception told me they had got their travel cot out just in case I needed it. They also put is all on a table in the dining area with plenty of room for the pushchair so as not to disturb the baby if she was sleeping.
The rooms were very clean and decorated to a very high standard. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
705 reviews
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
New Thatch B&B
New Thatch B&B
#2 of 4 in Ruan Minor
7 reviews
0 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in The Lizard
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range: £83 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing