We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic room and location”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #3 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic room and location”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We always used to self cater when visiting Cornwall (before I emigrated to Australia) and it was always my intention to try out The Top House for accommodation - having beforehand only eaten there and used the bar facilities. I booked online and obviously saw the photos of the room beforehand. We tweeked our dates so that we were able to have three consecutive nights in the Kynance Room with views towards Kynance Cove (in my opinion the most beautiful cove/area in the whole world, especially at low tide!). The photos do not do the room justice - it was beautiful. All white and pale blue decor and furnishings with a great, spacious bathroom with bath and shower and the room was double aspect to take advantage of the wonderful views over the town and towards the sea. I have always had a soft spot for The Lizard peninsular in particular and could never visit Cornwall without coming here. And the Top House is great. It has had a number of owners over the years and when I first started coming I am sure it was actually called the Lizard (and not altogether sure the accommodation was even available) although has since reverted to its original name The Top House. We had dinner there one night - it was nice but not outstanding. Crab seems to always be served shredded whereas my husband in particular would like it to be chunky.Breakfasts were wonderful, especially the fresh fruit platter served with croissants and yoghurt. Would recommend The Top House and if available try to book the Kynance Room. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shadow461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    62
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
125
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I came here to celebrate our 9th anniversary. We hadn't booked a table and arrived to quite a busy restaurant. We were greeted warmly and only had to wait a few minutes for a table as it was being cleaned. In the meantime we ordered drinks which were put onto our tab.

I ordered the potted crab with chips and homemade coleslaw on the side. My husband opted for the Gurnard. We shared a starter of crusty bread with pesto oil.

The food arrived promptly and was absolutely delicious. We both agreed it was the best meal we'd had in a very long time.

Couldn't fault anything about our visit and I would happily recommend The Top House to anyone travelling to this part of Cornwall who wanted a quality local meal at a very reasonable price:-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruffy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was our second stay here, but first under new management. The welcome was first class, the room spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the food, especially the breakfasts (included in the price), was exceptional. (Try the Top House breakfast platter, with croissants, yoghurt, and a selection of beautifully presented fresh fruit).
The whole package is very competitively priced, and I can recommend The Top House without reservation.

Room Tip: The best sea views are from the top floor (but you need to check whether available rooms have this v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Dropped in at last minute to see about staying over at lizard.
Receptionist was brilliant, sorted out a room for us explained all about the hotel and was really attentive throughout our stay.
The room itself was fantastic, well worthy of the four star AA rating.
Sea view from a dual aspect Kynance room was superb.
Nice comfy bed, great sized en-suite spotless throughout.
Great selection of fresh fish based meals, all with locally sourced ingredients.
Will definately be back.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Friday and were shown to our room, beautiful room with a sea view. On saturday evening we were joined by 9 other family members and had a fantastic meal. The food was amazing, puddings to die for!!! A great place to stay, a great place to eat. We will return.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Didn't stay here as we were over in Helston but had the best meal of the week here. Fresh Dressed Cornish crab and it was perfect. All washed down with a pint of Korven, the local larger this area of the UK is one to be proud of as a Brit... I'd encourage anyone to come and visit!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedarwood_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The room was bright and clean and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The food also was excellent.

Can't praise this place highly enough, accommodation, pub and restaurant were all first class.

Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEYeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing