We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice home cooked meal...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #3 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice home cooked meal...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a very nice home cooked meal in the restaurant area of this Pub. My husband had Scallops and hogs pudding....quite unusual and very nice!! There is a roaring log fire, gorgeous. The service and friendly staff are also worth a mention.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen190731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is good to hear you had a good meal and felt welcomed and well looked after by our team of friendly staff. The scallops are a firm favourite and always well received; glad your husband enjoyed them too! You can’t beat a roaring log fire in a traditional pub and so we always light the fire on cooler days. Come and see us again if you come back to The Lizard. Best wishes, James and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    61
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
125
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hosts and locals alike give a very warm welcome which was great as we'd just completed a blustery walk to Kynance Cove and back. My gf ate in the restaurant and said the food was very nice with very good service etc. The room was nice, very spacious with a lovely en-suite too.

Overnight, the weather was very cold, and the room we were in was freezing. I dont mind a cool room in the night but this was way too much. We mentioned to management in the morning and we were assured the heating was fine. I think because the two large windows in the room were both single glazed, with curtains that were aesthetic rather than substantial/fitted well for retaining heat, the room just lost all the heat from the evening.

Plus we had problems with warm water from the shower in the morning

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review.

We are so sorry that you found your room too cold overnight; our since apologies. It is our plan to upgrade the windows to double glazed, there are 58 windows in total in our building to be replaced and those within our B&B rooms will be the first priority. The blinds will be replaced when the new windows are in. We have been here at The Top House Inn for 3 years and when you stayed here it was the coldest we have known it, so it did take us by surprise. We did check the heating and it was all working fine, we extended the times it was on but clearly it needed to be on for longer overnight. There should not have been problems with the water temperature in the shower as this is set on constant, so we have arranged for the boiler to be looked at. Sorry you experienced problems, but thank you for your feedback.

On a positive note, we are pleased to hear you found us and our team so welcoming and enjoyed the food and service. We hope you would give us another try in the future.

Best wishes
James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Just to say the Sunday roast menu fantastic. Choice of three different meats or all three together chicken pork lamb. Great service..we arrived an hour later than booked as we forgot to put clocks forward! Staff unfazed although very busy, friendly and polite and managed to squeeze us in! Puddings really lovely too! Warm brownie with vanilla ice cream and creme brulee..
Would recommend a visit!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank postiephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are really pleased you had such an enjoyable experience with us and loved the puddings on our new menu. Our brownie is always a firm favourite! It is good to hear you were accommodated so well by our team during your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes James and Donna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Fast service with excellent food and a welcoming open fire. Scallops were perfect followed by a great British steak. This must be one of the most welcoming pubs in the UK - all the locals are very friendly and chatty

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bessacarrlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted you had such a lovely welcome at The Top House Inn, it is so important to us that our customers feel right at home. We are also very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your food too. We are very proud of our lovely Cornish Inn and it is a real compliment when we hear how much others have enjoyed their time here too. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best wishes James and Donna Glosby and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We were returning after visiting sometime ago and we were not disappointed. We live in plymourh and have eat in many top restaurants and would be happy to say they the quality is as good as the "Tanners Kitchen" :-). Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccdrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. We, and our hard working team of chefs, are blown away by your comments about your comparison to our food being as good as the Tanner Brothers! Wow! That is such a compliment .... thank you! We hope to welcome you back to our lovely cosy Inn very soon. Best wishes James and Donna Glosby and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights.. Fantastic location and comfortable hotel. Only thing i noticed regarding the room was perhaps the carpet was worn and neeed of upgrading. The bar is very very busy and offers a good selection of food and drinks. The breakfast menu catered for everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms on floor 2 get a reception for mobile phones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieandmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay at The Top House Inn. Our breakfast choice and quality is always well received and a very important start to the day for our guests. We will look into the worn carpet you mentioned, thank you. We hope to welcome you back to The Top House Inn one day. Best wishes James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights midweek in August. We had the room called Prilla, a twin on the ground floor. It was slightly cheaper than the other rooms because there is no view, in fact it has obscured glass in the windows (like a bathroom window). However, there was plenty of light, the room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was suberb and the beds very comfortable, and it was quiet. We were very pleased with the choice.

We ate here on the first night. Being August, they were extremely busy and we had quite a wait for dinner after we had ordered it. The second night we tried the other pub in the village for a meal.

The star among the staff here is the young lady who checked us in and out and served breakfast. Her name I think is Tauna ar Tawna (rhymes with Lorna). She was friendly, efficient and pleasant and really made our stay very enjoyable.

Also, the honey toiletries supplied in the bathroom were superb - really felt luxurious.

Room Tip: Prilla is a twin bedded room on the ground floor. It was slightly cheaper than the other rooms bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing