We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation and location.”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Top House
Ranked #4 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation and location.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Have stayed at the Top House on a number of occasions over the years. A Pub / Guest House situated in the centre of Lizard Village and about half a mile from Lizard Point. There is plenty of car parking adjacent to the Top House and on the village green. There are eight Guest rooms - all are clean and large, well fitted with plenty of storage, comfortable beds, flat screen TV's, tea / coffee making / biscuits, etc,. Nice bathrooms with complimentary good quality shower gel and shampoo. The upper rooms have views of the sea across the Lizard and to Kynance. Also nice pub restaurant area. Staff all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfasts are very good with a good choice of cooked items. The one slight disappointment was perhaps the evening meals - by no means bad, but the choice did not seem that good or interesting to us and quality only really rather average for the price - also food service a little slow. However the Top House is a very nice place to be and I strongly recommend.

Room Tip: If you can choose an upper level room with views of the sea from your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Niel01

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here. We very much appreciate your continued support as you have stayed with us on several occasions and it is always great to have repeat custom.

It is good to hear you found our team to be friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed a nice good quality breakfast …. Such an important start to the day! We are sorry to hear you weren’t so keen on the choice and quality of evening meals. If we had known at the time we would have discussed in more detail with you but you can still provide direct feedback to us if you would like to and we will most definitely take your comments on board, e-mail donna@thetophouselizard.co.uk

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    65
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
136
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Top House is not a hotel, it's a great pub with some rooms.
But not just any old rooms. Beautiful ones. Really beautiful.
Add to this that it is five minutes walk from some of the most stunning coastline in the world, that it is good value, that even in August I could park and that the food is great - and it's easy to see why I can't wait to go back.

I stayed at the Top House for three nights.
Last minute impulse thing, needed to go for walks and look at the sea.
I was travelling on my own and never for a moment got that 'I'm sitting here all by myself' feeling that some places somehow inspire.

Lovely welcome and a beautiful room - and mine was, I would say, probably the 'worst' room. I booked last minute and there was only a twin, ground floor, no view available. Even this was a treat. Other reviews will give you a taste of the delights in store if you can be patient and book a room with a view in advance!

It's not a hotel, so if you need those facilities, it might not work for you and probably not perfect for kids... but I am far from an expert on that. But there was wifi, great bathroom and a nice balance of friendly and left to be yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Messdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Messdragon

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had such a great stay, loved the rooms and felt so at home here. The room you stayed in is Prilla, a large comfortable room with a great bath and shower but like you say unfortunately has no view. We hope you will be able to come back and stay one day and enjoy one of our sea view rooms so you can look out to sea from the comfort of your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed 2 days really nice pub, great food especially Cornish breakfast . Very friendly and helpful staff ,didn't have any decaff tea but got some next day Thankyou. The rooms were very clean well looked after as was the bathroom. The view was pretty good to overlooking the sea .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear John and Sue

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had had a great stay in our lovely Cornish Inn and particularly enjoyed the breakfast. We were only too happy to provide decaff tea, something we probably should have had anyway, so will now keep on as on option.
We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

really nice pub that is good for tourists, nice staff and a comfy old style place which is a real cornish treat. very central to visit all parts of the Lizard.
Try the cornish stout on draft really nice.
has outside seating also

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear farrowp

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our lovely Cornish Inn and appreciated the traditional feel and charm of the place.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

After a very long day walking the coast path, the Top House pub was a welcome sight. Myself and two friends had one twin room and a double. The rooms looked to have been quite recently "done" and were clean, modern and of a very decent standard.

We managed to agree a discounted rate for eating and drinking in the pub and had a very good experience.

Breakfast was a decent size and of good quality and the food in the evening was pretty good as well. Overall - pretty good.

The Lizard Village has a bit of and end of the road feel to it but the views from the coast path are pretty spectacular as usual.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyi-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Andyi-24

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased you had an enjoyable stay here at the Inn.

It was interesting to read that you felt the rooms had recently been done; they were refurbished in 2007 so several years ago now, however we do upgrade furnishings as needs be such as cushions, throws, etc. I guess that is testament to how well we maintain them in all areas and our housekeeper certainly does a grand job keeping them spotlessly clean and fresh.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes
James and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bentley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have stayed at the Lizard before, many times. This is the first time we have stayed at The Top House and we are so glad that we did. The pub, restaurant and our room were very clean and tidy. We stayed in the Kynance room which had great views, one window looked out towards the Lighthouse and Old Lizard Head and the side window looked out towards Kynance Cove. The breakfasts were delicious and set you up for a days walking and meals were served throughout. The fish was excellent, we had the Hake served on crushed new potatoes in a lovely sauce, we could have eaten it every day!
The bar serves St Austell ales, my favourite was Proper Job but be warned it goes down too easily and you can't remember going back to your room!!
They also serve weaker ales starting from around £2.70 and locally brewed ciders.
We stayed for 10 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. If you sit at the bar you find some really nice locals who are happy to chat and share stories with you, our favourite was a retired lifeboatman called Peter Mitchell and his dog Cretey who my girlfriend adored.
We will definitely go back to The Tophouse and would recommend it to anybody wishing to stay at The Lizard. The walks to Cadgwith Cove and Kynance Cove are a must.
Many Thanks Michael and Vicky. :-) XX

Room Tip: it has one of the loveliest coastlines in the world on its doorstep,and the walking made us fitter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Michael and Vicky

We are so happy to hear you had such a great time here and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Inn. Kynance certainly is a beautiful room and the view is delightful, particularly watching the sun set over the cove. It was great to hear you enjoyed your food and that the breakfasts set you up nicely for the day out walking.

We certainly have some lovely local’s at the bar who make such a great atmosphere and welcome visitors. There are some great stories to listen to!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another relaxing stay.

Best wishes
James and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Whenever we are visiting the area, John, Kookie (our Jackchi) & I make a beeline for The Top House. Whatever the time of day we &, most vitally, our dog are made most welcome. Delicious food is always available. A definite improvement on my home-cooking & I'm not a bad cook! Also we last visited on a rainy, chilly June day after walking to & back from The Lizard & the warm, toasty open fire was most welcome. The food is well-priced as we are assured the ingredients are locally sourced. We made enquiries to stay for our next Cornish break & would have booked but alas we learnt they don't accommodate dogs. C'est la vie...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Trisha m

Many thanks for your lovely review and for your continued support. It means so much when we have visitors who come and see us when they are back in The Lizard.

So sorry that we cannot accommodate you on your next break as we do not accept dogs in our B&B rooms; we only allow dogs in the bar area currently.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We hope next time we see you the weather will be better but like you say, even if it’s not it’s a good excuse to get the lovely open fire lit!

Best wishes

James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
594 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
803 reviews
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing