We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #3 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in 'Kynance' - a room on the second floor, the room was beautiful, spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed with good linen,good and versatile lighting and furniture, the only slight disappointment being the pillows which were a bit flat and hard, the sea view was a dual aspect very clear sea view even though the marketing said 'in the distance' all I can say is that it is very near distance!
Breakfast was always beautifully cooked although a little slow at busy times and the waitress often seemed distracted when busy and forgot where she was with peoples' breakfast order, and did not automatically replenish fruit juice yoghurt etc when it ran out, but these are minor points, - we were not in a hurry and the overall quality of the breakfast was good.
The top house is in excellent location and a there is a short (ten mins) walk to the lizard point and the lighthouse and very close to the coastal path.
The Top House staff are all very friendly and helpful, - for a pub with rooms this was first class and I would defintely stay again.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have trouble with stairs its probably best to choose a room on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at The Top House Inn and found the bed to be comfortable, although it does sound like the pillows need to be replaced; thank you for your feedback.

The view is pretty special isn’t it! It is near distance and a beautiful view our to Kynance Cove and we do find guests are impressed, maybe I should change the wording on our marketing.

We have noticed the breakfast service can be a little slow at times, particularly when we are full and we are looking at ways to improve. We have taken on board your comment about the replenishment of breakfast self service items and have discussed this with the team members working on breakfast service.

It is good to hear you found all the staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes

James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    61
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
125
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I came here for one night on my birthday in july with my now fiancee......(I got engaged here :-)) when we arrived we were greeted by lovely ladies who told us that the room we had originally booked wasnt available and were upgraded to the Kynance Room, the best one in the inn, my fiancees mum had made a cheeky phonecall no doubt!
The pub/inn is absolutely lovely, the rooms so nicely decorated, situated right in the centre of The Lizard Village, which is spectacular! Unfortunately we had the fog horn sounding all night although it was a mile or so down the road it echoed every minute, but it added to the atmosphere
We booked an evening meal....fantastic food! We shared a mushroom starter and both had a burger, pulled pork and a cheeseburger, both such good quality meat! Desserts were lovely, a great little find and had a yummy cooked muffin breakfast.
I shall definitely return if we visit this far down in cornwall again!
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Lizard. We ate dinner at The Top House 3 nights in row. We loved it. All the food was delicious (we will never forget Proper Job beer and the strawberry meringue). We also loved our waitress. Thanks for making our evenings so pleasant after our many hours of hiking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We first found this place back in the Summer when we called in for lunch on our way to no-where in particular. The food was very good so I checked it out and we decided to come back for a few days. The room was large, well furnished and pleasantly decorated, a very light and airy feel to the place. The bed was big, firm and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean,big, modern and well-appointed. The food was very good, there was a daily fresh fish option - flatfish of the day - which may not sound interesting at the outset but we are incredibly blessed with flatfish around the Cornish coast and the option changed daily. The rest of the menu was excellent, some light salads and some really good meaty options. I am not much of a desserts man but those seemed to be well catered for as well including old favourites such as Lemon Possett. And the beers on offer are first class. St Austell Tribute bitter. Heaven. My only advice is if you are not that good with stairs, ask which rooms are available, the top floor is at the end of two long flights, the first floor is ok. Staff were all brilliant, very helpful, attentive and chatty. We will be back, a cracking place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask which floor the room is on. Top floor has two long staircases to negotiate. I think most have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishonsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear fishonsaturday

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review. It is always good to hear feedback and it was especially pleasing that you made the decision to come and stay here based on the great meal you had here previously. It is also good to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We particularly love the local flat fish option too, simply grilled with lemon and herb butter but the fish just speaks for itself as it is so fresh.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes,
James and Donna Glosby, Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay just for one night and prefer pub locations. We ended up at Lizard Point at 6.30pm and thought we may be out of luck. Thankfully they had one room left and it was beautiful. Spacious, clean with every mod con and on the ground floor. The shower room was huge and the shower for once a powerful one. We ate our evening meal there and I had the dressed crab, absolutely delicious. The staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the car parking is free (donations accepted in a box), outside area with tables for us dirty smokers, and breakfast is delicious. Can highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor is lovely and handy if you want to go out for a quick ciggie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Julie G

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review for us. We always appreciate guests providing feedback.

This season has been a particularly busy one for us so we are glad you managed to get the last room when you called in! It is really good to hear that you had such a lovely time here and found our team to be friendly and welcoming. Also pleased you enjoyed your meal and breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes
James and Donna Glosby
Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We enjoy coastal path walking and this provided a perfect base for a few days away, despite one day when it poured. Having used other St Austell pubs for B&B this is probably the best we have stayed at. The room was spacious, we had great sea views, the bathroom you could hold a party in and had a deep, long bath plus (surprisingly for the UK) a shower that worked and had good pressure. We had a good dinner in the restaurant which was heaving - we had to wit a bit as there was a large party - but the young staff were fantastic and the food excellent. Despite being in the centre of the village and mid summer holidays our room was quiet, but then the Lizard is hardly the area for lager louts.
You can walk easily to the coastal path in any one of three directions - would recommend the walk from the tip to Mullion.
One proviso - this is an old pub, not a modern hotel - so access to the rooms is up stairs and unsuitable for those unable to manage these.

Room Tip: We had the double room on the second floor - there's a double and family room on this level with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phinaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear phinaeus

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review following your stay here. We are really pleased you had a great stay and that we are probably the best St Austell Brewery Inn you have stayed at, high praise indeed. It is also pleasing that despite us being really busy in the restaurant you received a high standard of service from our team and enjoyed excellent food. Do come back and see us again in the future.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were expecting a special meal at The Top House Inn, particularly because of the new head chef. The Top House looks from the outside as though it should be the main restaurant in the Lizard and its website is also impressive and appealing. However, having booked a table and arrived promptly to a half empty restaurant, it was 55 minutes later when we asked what had happened to our order. With further enquiries, the dinners appeared 10 minutes later. However, the staff did not seem to know what was happening, not surprising as different waiters were dealing with us, and there was no apology or explanation. Perhaps we were just unlucky, but the food was not impressive. The dressed crab was good, but unimaginatively presented on iceberg lettuce with tomato, the beer battered fish and chips were OK, but nothing special and though the fish of the day was highly rated. Worth another chance but not this visit as there are other more appealing eateries in Lizard. We were asked several times whether everything was alright though, once the food had arrived!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachhouseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear coachhouseh

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit here. We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction and apologise for any inconvenience. Our food is prepared and cooked fresh to order and waiting times do vary, so our front of house team members are trained to keep customers updated, where a delay is anticipated. Clearly the wait you had for your food was considerable and you should have been updated by our team without having to ask, so on this occasion it appears the communication was not forthcoming and we are sorry that was the case. We do take all feedback seriously and look at how we can make improvements. We will talk to our team about your review and provide more training. If you can provide any further details on the date and time you visited, that would be of great assistance, please e-mail donna@thetophouselizard.co.uk

We hope to welcome you back in the future, to give us another try and have a positive experience here.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing