We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Top House
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Coverack)
US$183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Helston Hotel(Helston)(Great Value!)
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel Hotel(Helston)
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budock Vean Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
US$315
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meudon Hotel(Falmouth)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
140
73
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
73
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubate herefamily roommusselslizard pointkynance covepiekynance roomlog firestaff were all friendlylizard villagepuddingroom was largelocal producetop marksbunk bedsenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My family and i popped into this lovely old style pub after visiting lizard point.
What a lovely welcome from the staff , it was very quaint inside i wanted to stay a bit longer. Would reccommend a visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank trigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were looking for a peaceful retreat for a few days after a conference and before heading to the north west coast of Cornwall and beyond with our family. The Top House provided everything we wanted.
Nice old pub (Australians love English pubs); large, comfortable and clean room ((Polbream on the first floor); easy access to walks, views etc; pub food for dinner (no driving) and in a quiet place. All boxes ticked. The locals were friendly, as were the pub staff, so I was surprised to read the review before mine. The two dinners we had in the pub were very nice - ie. the steak cooked as you asked and very tender local beef, lovely fresh fish. We also had the steak on a 'steak night' and paid 25 pound for 2 steaks and a bottle of wine. Compared to Australia that was a great price.
We would love to go back to the area some day. What to do:Take a walk down to the Lighthouse and walk around to Kynance Bay (about 2 hrs there and back), it is a magic spot. There is a café above the small beach where you can sit and ponder. We had a sunny day so what a bonus! You can also drive there but you will still need to walk down and up stairs to get to the beach (if the tide is low) and to the café.
Only negative was the pillows - suggest a few different types could be available as ours were quite flat.

Room Tip: If you have travelled a long way and have large bags you will have to carry them up quite a few stairs!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLeary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We visited the pub whilst on an overnight stay at a local hotel, at around 3pm on a Saturday afternoon (19-10). It was a brief visit for a drink as we were searching out a venue for our evening meal later that day.

On arrival it was pretty much empty and went straight to the bar. My wife asked for a half of 'Rattler' cider, to which the barmaid replied, 'No, we only have bottles'. Having chosen and paid for alternative drinks, my wife inquired if there was any entertainment that evening, again another sharp 'NO' from the short haired, blonde barmaid.

We sat down by the fire and enjoyed our drinks and another couple went to the bar asked if lunch had finished, again another rude reply, 'NO, it's on all day'. By this time we started to frown at each other and questioned the attitude of the person behind the bar.

On leaving our table, the barmaid cleared the glasses immediately, not a thank you for your custom, have a nice day or please call again, in sight.

I know the Lizard is miles away from nowhere and life can get boring out in the sticks in the off season, so I would have thought a little interaction with fellow locals who live closer to civilisation may bring a little culture to the village, obviously not on this occasion.

I know the pub serves Carlsberg which is probably the best Lager in the world, but in our opinion on this occasion the Top House has probably the worst barmaid in the world.

Needless to say we ate and were entertained elsewhere!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bigwaverider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. We are really sorry to hear of your experience as it is certainly not the warm, welcoming and friendly level of service expected of our team members. All customers are important to us and should be well looked after in a pleasant and friendly manner and most definitely there should be interaction and you should have been thanked for your custom when you left. Sorry you didn’t receive the level of customer service you should have done. We will be discussing this review with our team and reiterating our expectations on service levels. Our new Assistant Manager has now joined and one of her primary roles is to evaluate the team’s customer service levels and provide guidance and training to team members to ensure our customer service requirements are adhered to.

We hope you otherwise enjoyed your visit to The Lizard.

Best wishes

James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in 'Kynance' - a room on the second floor, the room was beautiful, spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed with good linen,good and versatile lighting and furniture, the only slight disappointment being the pillows which were a bit flat and hard, the sea view was a dual aspect very clear sea view even though the marketing said 'in the distance' all I can say is that it is very near distance!
Breakfast was always beautifully cooked although a little slow at busy times and the waitress often seemed distracted when busy and forgot where she was with peoples' breakfast order, and did not automatically replenish fruit juice yoghurt etc when it ran out, but these are minor points, - we were not in a hurry and the overall quality of the breakfast was good.
The top house is in excellent location and a there is a short (ten mins) walk to the lizard point and the lighthouse and very close to the coastal path.
The Top House staff are all very friendly and helpful, - for a pub with rooms this was first class and I would defintely stay again.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have trouble with stairs its probably best to choose a room on the ground or first floor. The rooms are all very quiet, no noise from the pub.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at The Top House Inn and found the bed to be comfortable, although it does sound like the pillows need to be replaced; thank you for your feedback.

The view is pretty special isn’t it! It is near distance and a beautiful view our to Kynance Cove and we do find guests are impressed, maybe I should change the wording on our marketing.

We have noticed the breakfast service can be a little slow at times, particularly when we are full and we are looking at ways to improve. We have taken on board your comment about the replenishment of breakfast self service items and have discussed this with the team members working on breakfast service.

It is good to hear you found all the staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes

James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I came here for one night on my birthday in july with my now fiancee......(I got engaged here :-)) when we arrived we were greeted by lovely ladies who told us that the room we had originally booked wasnt available and were upgraded to the Kynance Room, the best one in the inn, my fiancees mum had made a cheeky phonecall no doubt!
The pub/inn is absolutely lovely, the rooms so nicely decorated, situated right in the centre of The Lizard Village, which is spectacular! Unfortunately we had the fog horn sounding all night although it was a mile or so down the road it echoed every minute, but it added to the atmosphere
We booked an evening meal....fantastic food! We shared a mushroom starter and both had a burger, pulled pork and a cheeseburger, both such good quality meat! Desserts were lovely, a great little find and had a yummy cooked muffin breakfast.
I shall definitely return if we visit this far down in cornwall again!
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews