We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seafood chowder and a great pint ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #3 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood chowder and a great pint ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We popped in here for a late dinner not really expecting much. It was lovely, the bar is warm and cosy with a log fire, beers are splendid (st Austell) we both had the seafood chowder for a starter it.was crammed full of fish and shellfish in a velvety, base.I cannot recommended this highly enough. Mains were Indian spiced hake, again, this chef can do fish. Puds were good, the pub uses local suppliers and has warm, friendly service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fi_stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    61
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
125
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

we stayed here at the weekend as we attended a birthday party. there were 80mph winds raging but inside the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. lovely fire and fantastic staff who had pulled out all the stops to make the event memorable.

our room was cosy, clean and comfortable with views of the sea.

highlight was breakfast which was wonderful. I have breakfast workwise on a regular basis all over Cornwall but this was up there with the best of them.

great place, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

First of all I didn't stay at this hotel so its is based on the food and nothing else. Both myself and wife dropped in here for a dinner burger and chips for my wife and fish and chips for myself. The burger looked uncooked in the centre and when we asked we was told that it was paprika in it there was no sight of this on the menu that it contained it else my wife would have ordered some thing different. Secondly the fish I can only say that it was the size of a child's portion and the puddings wasn't any different .The bill came to £43 for 2 drinks each(soft drinks) 2 main and 2 pudding. On the way home both myself and my wife had to stop somewhere else to grab something else. All in all I wouldn't use this place again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My partner and I wanted a relaxing location to explore Cornwall, stay in good accommodation and have a local pub!
We researched extensively and found this beautiful inn. We booked into Pentreath, but after a couple of nights swapped rooms to Polpeor. Both rooms were beautiful, warm, comfortable (beds lovely) with identical bathrooms. We only moved rooms for the extra space and direct sea views.

The staff were all very friendly, especially (Amy and Jenny).The breakfasts are simply 5* as previous reviews. All the food we enjoyed was of a very good quality and reasonably priced. We ate at the inn most evenings due to the cosy wood fire, relaxing atmosphere and simplicity.
We found the evening entertainment over the festive season very enjoyable especially the lizard Christmas light switch on where the pub was packed and we even won a turkey in their raffle!

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, scenic location with good food and comfy surroundings. I'd recommend the top house inn. Oh and the stairs are definitely not a problem!! Two simple/wide flights to the second floor :)

Room Tip: Sea views were lovely from Polpeor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wowsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Today we visited The Lizard. Firstly we found the public toilets closed between October and Easter. However, for a small donation to charity the pub came up trumps. After a short discussion my husband and I returned for lunch. The tables were clean, the service was exceptional, there was a lovely coal and log fire burning. We chose from the specials board, steak and kidney pudding with new potatoes and peas for me and battered Ling with chips and peas for hubby. Piping hot, lovely presentation beautifully cooked. Hubby managed a pud - Apple and blackberry crumble with custard all individually made. We cannot thank everyone enough for making our visit first class and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My family and i popped into this lovely old style pub after visiting lizard point.
What a lovely welcome from the staff , it was very quaint inside i wanted to stay a bit longer. Would reccommend a visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank trigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were looking for a peaceful retreat for a few days after a conference and before heading to the north west coast of Cornwall and beyond with our family. The Top House provided everything we wanted.
Nice old pub (Australians love English pubs); large, comfortable and clean room ((Polbream on the first floor); easy access to walks, views etc; pub food for dinner (no driving) and in a quiet place. All boxes ticked. The locals were friendly, as were the pub staff, so I was surprised to read the review before mine. The two dinners we had in the pub were very nice - ie. the steak cooked as you asked and very tender local beef, lovely fresh fish. We also had the steak on a 'steak night' and paid 25 pound for 2 steaks and a bottle of wine. Compared to Australia that was a great price.
We would love to go back to the area some day. What to do:Take a walk down to the Lighthouse and walk around to Kynance Bay (about 2 hrs there and back), it is a magic spot. There is a café above the small beach where you can sit and ponder. We had a sunny day so what a bonus! You can also drive there but you will still need to walk down and up stairs to get to the beach (if the tide is low) and to the café.
Only negative was the pillows - suggest a few different types could be available as ours were quite flat.

Room Tip: If you have travelled a long way and have large bags you will have to carry them up quite a few stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLeary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing