We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Top House
Ranked #5 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Well we must have stayed at a different The Top House than a review I have just read below. Arrived to a lovely welcome and smile. Our room had a lovely comfortable King size bed. Two comfortable bucket chairs and two large windows with such lovely views we never pulled the blinds down and as we were on the second floor felt private. Breakfast had plenty of choice : Warm Croissants with fresh fruit, Full English, Kippers, Poached or Scrambled Eggs. Ours was cooked fresh each morning and as a breakfast should be, big enough to set us up for the day. Tea Coffee and Toast topped up as much as you wanted.O and we were informed breakfast was available from 8.15 to 9.30 each morning.All the staff were helpful and pleasant. We ate in the restaurant or pub each night and again found the food very tasty and fresh.Thought it was fairly priced. Bedding and towels crisp white and immaculate.Room very well cleaned. Plenty of Tea Coffee etc and a note to say more would be provided if needed. Cornish Folk Music in the Bar on Monday evening was enjoyed. Free wifi....which worked well at all times. Really enjoyed our Anniversary stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jaspertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

I travel with business and often stay in hotels. My girlfriend and I went here for a couple of days away on vacation. Walking into the accommodation section i noticed a huge damp patch on the ceiling - looking from the outside the roof looks in need of attention. We were told breakfast was 8.30 - 9.30 (bit restrictive I thought as we were the only guests) - but could be later and then the proprietor could have a lay in. We opted for 9.30 on the first morning. Breakfast was average.
We then asked about the next day as we had to be back as my girlfriend had to be at work, and we would have to leave early. I stated we had to leave at 7.30ish, and then told breakfast was not available, but they could do some sandwiches and pastries - that was fine with us. Next morning we go down at 7.30 and no breakfast prepared and the one member of staff we did see knew nothing about it, so we left disappointed. We stopped on the way back for a take out. Other than that I thought the menu expensive for what it was and hardly saw anyone eating - the Fish & Chip shop around the corner was excellent value and be hard pressed to find better cod, and very busy. The Witch Ball pub down the road seemed to be where the locals went, and not this place. Most disappointing was the service, and staff seemed generally sluggish, but the lack of breakfast when we left I think is shocking - and showed a complete lack of customer care for a basic requirement. If they were busy I could have understanding, but they were very quiet and I wasn't aware of any other guests. They just couldn't be bothered.

Room Tip: I would recommend looking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmers541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear emmers541

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at our village INN; I acknowledge your points raised and write in response. Firstly, James stayed behind after the bar had closed in the afternoon to welcome you personally and show you to your room. As you walk into the accommodation building damp is not evident, it was when you reached the top floor, up two flights of stairs, that James actually pointed out the damp patch on the wall in the stair well and explained how a section of our roof had taken a battering during the awful storms we experienced which were much publicised in the news and you appeared sympathetic. The room you were staying in was on the opposite side to the damaged roof section and was therefore completely unaffected, well decorated and comfortable, with a great sea view. We have of course closed out rooms that were affected; hence being quieter and sadly resulting in a loss of business for us. You will have seen the scaffolding up on one side of the building as we were waiting for the roofers to start when given the go ahead by insurers. As I type we now have painters on site filling the wall affected by the water damage ahead of painting. So I am sorry if the water damaged wall offended you and affected your stay. I feel the review below “shelter from a storm” sums us up perfectly. We are proud and hard working business owners who despite suffering damage to our building have remained upbeat, open for business and still put our customers first and just got on with things.

On the second point relating to breakfast, we serve breakfast from 8.15am until 9.30am; as a holiday destination most people are happy with these times. As a village Inn guests staying in the accommodation come through to the main Inn for breakfast and as explained when checking in and in our room information folders the connecting door between the accommodation and main Inn is only open when the Inn is open and in the mornings from 8.15am when breakfast service commences. As our bar closes late at night, there is only a small period of time when the bar and restaurant can be cleaned and prepared for morning service and this needs to be carried out before breakfast service . Our housekeeper generally starts from 6.30am. So it is not a case of the owner wanting a lay in instead of serving you breakfast, he wouldn’t have been on breakfast service anyway and as a busy business owner the last thing expected is a lay in! On the afternoon prior to your next day departure you informed James you would be leaving by 7/7.30am. As the restaurant would not be cleaned or prepared by that time and the main Inn open, you were offered a continental breakfast to take in your room instead, something you were satisfied with. James asked you to let us know your requirements and come and see us by the end of evening food service, 9pm that night so the items could be prepared and collected. From our perspective when you didn’t come down in the evening we presumed you did not want to take up the breakfast option. We respect our guests’ privacy and therefore did not want to come and knock on your door and disturb you in the evening. In hindsight we could have just gone ahead and prepared something for you, just in case it was needed and made a guess at what you would have liked. Our apologies if there has been a misunderstanding on this.

The season is now upon us and we are very busy. During the quieter months we work with a smaller team of staff and as owners do a lot of the work ourselves actually, so now we are busier we have taken on more seasonal staff. We also have lots of locals who support us and respect that we are one of the few places in the village open all year round. Our menu is priced to reflect the quality of the fresh local produce, sourcing fish from local fishermen and meat from our local butcher. All our dishes are homemade too, as we have good standards and feel our customers deserve to experience top quality food in our establishment. Our breakfast is award winning and assessed by an undercover hotel assessor.

The last thing we want is for guests to leave feeling unhappy, so apologies that your stay did not meet expectations.

Best wishes, Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed overnight at the Top House Inn whilst walking the South West Coast Path. It was one of the best places we stayed in on our trip and well above the normal standard for a pub B&B. We were shown to a lovely large, well appointed room with a great shower and toiletries. We stayed in to eat (there really isn't anywhere else!) but we really enjoyed our evening meals (including a vegetarian Cornish Yarg tart - nice to have something other than the normal veggie choices) and would highly recommend eating here even if not staying.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Housel Room on the ground floor. It overlooks the beer garden but we were assured...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonRollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear DevonRollers

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and found your room to be comfortable and just what you needed after a long walk! It is also great to hear you enjoyed and appreciated the food offering. We feel it is so important that our food is locally sourced and of top quality. We hope you will come back and see us again.

Best wishes, Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We popped in here for a late dinner not really expecting much. It was lovely, the bar is warm and cosy with a log fire, beers are splendid (st Austell) we both had the seafood chowder for a starter it.was crammed full of fish and shellfish in a velvety, base.I cannot recommended this highly enough. Mains were Indian spiced hake, again, this chef can do fish. Puds were good, the pub uses local suppliers and has warm, friendly service.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fi_stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

we stayed here at the weekend as we attended a birthday party. there were 80mph winds raging but inside the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. lovely fire and fantastic staff who had pulled out all the stops to make the event memorable.

our room was cosy, clean and comfortable with views of the sea.

highlight was breakfast which was wonderful. I have breakfast workwise on a regular basis all over Cornwall but this was up there with the best of them.

great place, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

First of all I didn't stay at this hotel so its is based on the food and nothing else. Both myself and wife dropped in here for a dinner burger and chips for my wife and fish and chips for myself. The burger looked uncooked in the centre and when we asked we was told that it was paprika in it there was no sight of this on the menu that it contained it else my wife would have ordered some thing different. Secondly the fish I can only say that it was the size of a child's portion and the puddings wasn't any different .The bill came to £43 for 2 drinks each(soft drinks) 2 main and 2 pudding. On the way home both myself and my wife had to stop somewhere else to grab something else. All in all I wouldn't use this place again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaun b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My partner and I wanted a relaxing location to explore Cornwall, stay in good accommodation and have a local pub!
We researched extensively and found this beautiful inn. We booked into Pentreath, but after a couple of nights swapped rooms to Polpeor. Both rooms were beautiful, warm, comfortable (beds lovely) with identical bathrooms. We only moved rooms for the extra space and direct sea views.

The staff were all very friendly, especially (Amy and Jenny).The breakfasts are simply 5* as previous reviews. All the food we enjoyed was of a very good quality and reasonably priced. We ate at the inn most evenings due to the cosy wood fire, relaxing atmosphere and simplicity.
We found the evening entertainment over the festive season very enjoyable especially the lizard Christmas light switch on where the pub was packed and we even won a turkey in their raffle!

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, scenic location with good food and comfy surroundings. I'd recommend the top house inn. Oh and the stairs are definitely not a problem!! Two simple/wide flights to the second floor :)

Room Tip: Sea views were lovely from Polpeor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wowsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
832 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
387 reviews
6 mi away
YHA Coverack
YHA Coverack
#2 of 3 in Coverack
44 reviews
5.4 mi away
Glampotel Lizard Point
Glampotel Lizard Point
#5 of 7 in The Lizard
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range: £94 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing