We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Lizard”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #3 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good choice in Lizard”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked in here for overnight stay on way round the South West Coastal Path. The room was clean and recently renovated, ensuite facility was all new with plenty of room. We didn't have extensive views but really needed the sleep. Evening meal was excellent with local produce prominent including local fish. The meal was nicely cooked and presented and there was a good choice of puddings. Free wi-fi always appreciated nowadays. Typical extensive breakfast menu, again well cooked and presented. Couldn't fault the service from reception to departure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    62
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
130
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here, good childrens menu. Very accomodating for children. The brownie with clotted cream was to die for. Good service and good price. Would recommend! If you want somewhere to eat in lizard this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here recently and also ate in the pub and restuarant. The room was lovely and big but it was dusty and there was a huge cobweb above the bed. The en suite was huge but just in need of a bit of repair. The shower had tiles missing and was a bit mouldy and the plug was put on the side of the sink - not very hygenic. The food in the bar and restaurant was quite good and the staff very friendly and helpful, if a little slow to serve. The restaurant itself was a bit grubby though - stained and worn seat pads on the chairs. In general the pub and guest rooms feel in need of a good clean and dust. I don't think we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room. If you sleep downstairs you are kept awake by people moving around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italy052012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have stayed at the Top House on many occasions over the years and have always really enjoyed our stay. Above everything else it is just a nice place to be. The rooms are modern and well maintained with plenty of storage. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are clean and modern with good quality complimentary toiletries. Upper level rooms have views across to the sea at Lizard Point and Kynance. The Top House is situated centrally in Lizard village within easy walking distance of Lizard Point. There is plenty of car parking outside the Top House and on the adjacent Village Green area.
There is a good Breakfast choice and again of good quality.
The Pub is friendly and comfortable with good choice of beers, cider, etc. The Pub food is good and much more varied and interesting than on our previous visit.
All Staff are very friendly and helpful. Top House represents good value and I strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

An absolutely wonderful place to stay, from the moment we walked in the door we where made to feel welcome and we where up graded to the king suite as it was our anniversary, the room was beautiful with plenty tea,coffee etc and complementary toiletries.

Our meal that night was fabulous I had surf and turf my steak was cooked exactly the way I like it and my husband had the country mans burger that tasted delicious,breakfast the next morning was very nice we both had the Cornish breakfast, we will definitely stay again couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

what a lovely stay, the room was very nice and the upgrade to a king was a wonderful surprise for our anniversary . The food , both our evening meal and breakfast were excellent (loved the hogs pudding) . we will definitely be returning for another stay in the near future .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonsnail4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Well we must have stayed at a different The Top House than a review I have just read below. Arrived to a lovely welcome and smile. Our room had a lovely comfortable King size bed. Two comfortable bucket chairs and two large windows with such lovely views we never pulled the blinds down and as we were on the second floor felt private. Breakfast had plenty of choice : Warm Croissants with fresh fruit, Full English, Kippers, Poached or Scrambled Eggs. Ours was cooked fresh each morning and as a breakfast should be, big enough to set us up for the day. Tea Coffee and Toast topped up as much as you wanted.O and we were informed breakfast was available from 8.15 to 9.30 each morning.All the staff were helpful and pleasant. We ate in the restaurant or pub each night and again found the food very tasty and fresh.Thought it was fairly priced. Bedding and towels crisp white and immaculate.Room very well cleaned. Plenty of Tea Coffee etc and a note to say more would be provided if needed. Cornish Folk Music in the Bar on Monday evening was enjoyed. Free wifi....which worked well at all times. Really enjoyed our Anniversary stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaspertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
545 reviews
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
207 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,615 reviews
11.5 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing