We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #3 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A great place to stay and ideally located for exploring The Lizard and surrounding area. Our room was bright, clean and very comfortable. access to the upper rooms is by stairs only and may not suit everyone. A separate access door is provided for those that want to come and go outside of the pub opening hours. The food we had was great as was the service at all times,the staff were also more than happy to provide secure storage for bicycles overnight.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIKK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    62
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
125
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights early July. Room was very good and very clean. We ate in the hotel for 2 nights. I had the fish speciality dish each time which was wonderfully cooked and enjoyable.

Breakfasts are plentiful and large choice. Lots of fruit and juices to choose from.

Beautiful costal walks from the hotel and Kynance Cove is lovely.

Only downside is that we were on the ground floor and I like to have windows open at night as I'm a fresh air freak. So, I'd ask for a first floor room on the next visit. Would definitely stay here again. Lizard is a lovely place, such peace and quiet and lovely places to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDJ1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Wales
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This review is based on eating here four times in the last two weeks whilst staying at Henry's Campsite, down the road.

A decent pub with an interesting range of food. Staff were cheerful, helpful and obliging.

All of our meals over four visits were good value, delicious to eat and reasonably priced. The burgers, especially the Smokey and the Pulled Pork ones were a carnivore's delight. J found a good range of less meaty meals to enjoy, which is not always the case in many eateries.

The only downside was a very rude local on the evening of 30.6.14. She was blond from a bottle, aged a good 55-60 plus but trying to look 18 and skinny in a bony way. She insisted that diners already sat at a table (31 or 32, under the tv screen) move as she had reserved the table for herself and a male friend. There were no reserve signs on the table when the tourists sat down there. They moved for her and we should have intervened and made the point that the table was not reserved for anyone when they sat there.

This woman moaned loudly about tourists taking up her pub. I wish I had had the foresight to remind her who keeps the Lizard from bankruptcy and tell her off for being an angry, miserable git. She was so rude and contributed to older people having such a bad name for grumpiness. Maybe the owners can identify her and have a word to her.

Apart from the harridan I have described above, all of the other locals were friendly and polite.

I'd recommend this pub to anyone for a good feed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lay-By-Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a village pub in the not far from The Lizard Point. Good food the staff are excellent and helpful. The rooms are are lovely clean and and in good decoration with en suite bedrooms. Also have excellent views well recommended.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view if vacant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,771 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 897 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stopped here overnight at the end of our latest instalment of 4 days walking a section of the SWCP from Zennor Head.
We were upgraded to Pentreath room (with a sea view), which was spacious and very well presented. Breakfast was also very good, so I can recommend this place to fellow walkers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked in here for overnight stay on way round the South West Coastal Path. The room was clean and recently renovated, ensuite facility was all new with plenty of room. We didn't have extensive views but really needed the sleep. Evening meal was excellent with local produce prominent including local fish. The meal was nicely cooked and presented and there was a good choice of puddings. Free wi-fi always appreciated nowadays. Typical extensive breakfast menu, again well cooked and presented. Couldn't fault the service from reception to departure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here, good childrens menu. Very accomodating for children. The brownie with clotted cream was to die for. Good service and good price. Would recommend! If you want somewhere to eat in lizard this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
9.4 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing