We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Top House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Coverack)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tregildry(Gillan)
View Hotel
An Mordros Hotel(Porthleven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel Hotel(Helston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budock Vean Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
140
73
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
73
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubate herefamily roommusselslizard pointkynance covepiekynance roomlog firestaff were all friendlylizard villagepuddingroom was largelocal producetop marksbunk bedsenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We took our son and daughter for her Birthday. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and attentive. The food was great with a varied menu and good selection of wine. We will certainly visit again before we finish our holiday.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank ianhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Only stayed for one night but it was really lovely. The room was very clean bright and had a great view of the sea. The food was amazing. Kynance cove is a must to visit. I look forward to staying again! Also all the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was the first time that we have stayed in a pub and did it as a 'last minute' thing having found the Top House on the internet the week before.

Do not be put off when you arrive outside - the pub has a 'weathered charm' on the outside and is a little dark on the inside (but the beer is good!).

Once you are taken through the door at the back of the bar to the accommodation, everything changes...

We had a large family room on the first floor, over looking the Pub patio. The room was enormous with a king size bed and two bunk beds and large bathroom with an excellent shower. The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. There was also free Wi-Fi through the guest accommodation.

Although the windows in our room opened up over the patio and we slept with the windows opened; we couldn't hear any noise after 10.30pm.

We ate in the Restaurant one evening and dinner was really good. The breakfasts were excellent. All of the staff were attentive and very helpful.

From now on we won't just use a Pub for drinking and eating in - but staying in as well!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank matthewbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A great place to stay and ideally located for exploring The Lizard and surrounding area. Our room was bright, clean and very comfortable. access to the upper rooms is by stairs only and may not suit everyone. A separate access door is provided for those that want to come and go outside of the pub opening hours. The food we had was great as was the service at all times,the staff were also more than happy to provide secure storage for bicycles overnight.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights early July. Room was very good and very clean. We ate in the hotel for 2 nights. I had the fish speciality dish each time which was wonderfully cooked and enjoyable.

Breakfasts are plentiful and large choice. Lots of fruit and juices to choose from.

Beautiful costal walks from the hotel and Kynance Cove is lovely.

Only downside is that we were on the ground floor and I like to have windows open at night as I'm a fresh air freak. So, I'd ask for a first floor room on the next visit. Would definitely stay here again. Lizard is a lovely place, such peace and quiet and lovely places to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SDJ1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews