We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay only” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copley Arms
Ranked #5 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overnight stay only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stopped there for two nights while visiting Plymouth and Cornwall on a weekend break. Looks good from the outside. The staff were not customer friendly. The food was not interesting just basic. Rooms ok.

As a local pub it's ok

Will not visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeybiz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
36
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yate Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at this great Old 17th century Coach House, we stayed for 3 nights this June 3 easy to get to by road there is plenty of car parking FREE. We were greeted by Mike & Di the owners.
very friendly and happy people. They took us to our room which was very nice plenty of room and clean with on suite, the room has TV Coffee and Tea and a baby Fridge.The breakfast had plenty of choices all very nice, the meals on the evening menu had a good selection we ate there every night great Beer Too,it was my wife's Birthday and they done her proud.out side you can drink by the trout steam .The Inn is 4miles from Looe. Great place to use as a home base to see Cornwall,we will be back again.
Thelma & Roger

Room Tip: room 2 has own parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmanpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My partner, myself and our 5 year old daughter popped in for a meal on a Saturday night. The Copley Arms was very busy but we were found a table by a very polite young lady and given menus. The food when it arrived was delicious, generous and reasonably priced. The young lady who was waiting on the table, who we later realised was the daughter of the owner, was a joy happy to spend time chatting but working extremely hard to please many people. All of the staff were pleasant and polite. The pub has a lovely ambience a nice friendly place to visit, would be lovely on a hot day right next to the river with lots of trout to watch. Cant wait to go again with all 4 of our kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen100170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My wife and i have just returned to N.Ireland after an weeks holiday in Cornwall and this is one of the nicest places we found to eat.The food was that good we came back 3 times during our stay and all dishes were cooked to perfection and menu is vary reasonably priced.The staff were pleasant and very helpful and of course the local ales were a treat.We are returning next year for a 10 day stay and the Copley Arms will be our first stop.Thanks to all at the Copley Arms.
David & Ellen Berry,Drumbo,Lisburn,Co Antrim,N.Ireland

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I came here on the way back from Downderry on bank holiday Monday and decided to stop in for a quick bite to eat. I had the steak and ale pie which quickly came out hot, full of tender pieces and in a huge portion! Not bad for £8.50. It's hard to believe that the last review was on the same day as my meal as the service was friendly, fast and effective. Although we did overhear some patrons being rude to a waitress so who knows! Overall I enjoyed this gem in a little village for tasty pub grub and would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEurope93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyArms, Owner at Copley Arms, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your great comments about your recent visit to the Copley and I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal here. It is encouraging when customers appreciate what we do here. The Copley is in a great location and we do try our best to look after our customers. I hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you for your positive feedback. Kind Regards Mike B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were a party of 4 and went to the Copley Arms to have a lovely lunch. But what a big let down we had. To start with we ordered there special of the day roast pork the service was terrible it took nearly an hour for the meal to arrive and when it did it was cold. The whole meal was not editable and in the end we sent the whole lot back and left. I have to say that this meal we waited for and was served has to be the worst meal we have ever had. I would NOT recommend this pub for any sort of meal. The pub when we got there was not very busy either.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyArms, Owner at Copley Arms, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
It is dissappointing that this party did not enjoy their visit to the Copley. Only one of the party actually tried the meal. Obviously we tried to remedy the situation by offering an alternative. They declined but said they had been before and had been happy and in fact said they would definately come back. There was a delay and we always relay this to our customers. It was Bank Holiday Monday and we were extremely busy, hence the wait. I hope this customer does return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torpoint hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
fareham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

what a wonderfull cornish delight mike ,family and staff made are stay very comfortable ,great food .tidy comfortable room and a real friendly place to stay . keep up the great work .ideal base for days out on the beautifull cornish coast .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sceneit012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torpoint
9.0 mi away
Friary Manor Hotel
Friary Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finnygook Inn
Finnygook Inn
#2 of 2 in Crafthole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Arms

Property: Copley Arms
Address: Hessenford, Torpoint PL11 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Copley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley Arms Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing