We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copley Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$193
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Invicta Hotel(Plymouth)
US$100
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
52
24
22
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
24
22
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubevening mealmobility problemsate herea family run businesslovely afternoonan ideal placeb bstayed for nightsroast beeflooestreammenuaccommodationdrafttitlevalley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked for one night and ended up staying 3, having never been down that part of England before everyone was so helpful and friendly the food was great, and we felt very much at home, it would be wonderful to go back before we go back to NZ, we were also more than happy with our room which was very comfortable. A big thank-you Mike and Dianne and all the staff and family. Jenny and Rowan

Room Tip: All great, rooms downstairs handy to backdoor
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Myself my partner and our son came here last night for a meal after being at the beach for the afternoon and was hoping to finish a nice day with some good food.. How wrong. My son had a child's burger, chips and beans - this included a dry burger bap and one very limp looking pan burger in the middle. My partner also had burger and chips and coleslaw - the coleslaw was such a small amount it could have been served with a tea spoon and it was the same situation with his burger. Last but not least - the worst meal I have ever had is my "Catalan chicken" - this consisted of 1 chicken breast, plain, greyish white and absolutely nothing on it. This was sitting on a bed of TINNED TOMATOES. Utterly disgusting, and to top it off my garlic bread that came with the dish was a burger bap cut into four with a little spread of garlic butter and I think microwaved so it was soggy. I'm very saddened that I have to write a review like this but sadly this place deserves it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AimiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyArms, Owner at Copley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

It is regretful that this customer was not happy on their visit to the Copley. We served almost 250 meals that day and only received this complaint. It is a pity the customer did not complain at the time giving us the opportunity to put things right as we most certainly would have. The Catalan Chicken dish has many more ingredients than tomato including olives, onions, fresh garlic, paprika and chunks of chorizo and the garlic bread is made with fresh garlic, fresh parsley and real Cornish butter. It is always far better to mention any issues at the time. This applies to ALL restaurants and gives an opportunity to put things right there and then. Should the customer wish to contact us directly we would be more than happy to discuss it further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stopped there for two nights while visiting Plymouth and Cornwall on a weekend break. Looks good from the outside. The staff were not customer friendly. The food was not interesting just basic. Rooms ok.

As a local pub it's ok

Will not visit again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeybiz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at this great Old 17th century Coach House, we stayed for 3 nights this June 3 easy to get to by road there is plenty of car parking FREE. We were greeted by Mike & Di the owners.
very friendly and happy people. They took us to our room which was very nice plenty of room and clean with on suite, the room has TV Coffee and Tea and a baby Fridge.The breakfast had plenty of choices all very nice, the meals on the evening menu had a good selection we ate there every night great Beer Too,it was my wife's Birthday and they done her proud.out side you can drink by the trout steam .The Inn is 4miles from Looe. Great place to use as a home base to see Cornwall,we will be back again.
Thelma & Roger

Room Tip: room 2 has own parking space
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmanpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My partner, myself and our 5 year old daughter popped in for a meal on a Saturday night. The Copley Arms was very busy but we were found a table by a very polite young lady and given menus. The food when it arrived was delicious, generous and reasonably priced. The young lady who was waiting on the table, who we later realised was the daughter of the owner, was a joy happy to spend time chatting but working extremely hard to please many people. All of the staff were pleasant and polite. The pub has a lovely ambience a nice friendly place to visit, would be lovely on a hot day right next to the river with lots of trout to watch. Cant wait to go again with all 4 of our kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen100170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews