We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
6
4
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
4
3
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We spent a lovely warm and welcoming day and night at St James Guest house in June this year to attend our eldest son's passing out parade at HMS Raleigh, and I have to say I am shocked at a couple of the comments I have seen on here.
The family that run this guest house are warm, freindly, helpful and welcoming. The family room we stayed in was spotless as was the single room that our eldest son stayed in. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have just booked again for October to attend our second son's passing out parade, something we would not have done if we had not been happy with any part of our previous stay.
The location is central and within easy reach of the ferry, restaurants and HMS Raleigh...ideal for families like ourselves who do not drive. As mentioned the rooms were spotless and very comfortable, and the owners extremely helpful with every aspect of our stay. They have extensive knowledge of the Navy and the local area which was a great comfort to us considering the purpose of our visit. Moreover they took a genuine interest in our son's progress, this gives the St James Guest house the personal touch that the majority of hotels lack.
I would highly reccomend this guest house to anyone; be it for a passing out parade or just for a week or weekend away. Lovely people, lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOPPTOPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

i dont normally write reviews but when looking for address to make 2nd booking saw other reviews and was gobsmacked! i stayed in april for nephews pass out at hms raliegh with several other members of extended family! whilst the guest house is no 4* hotel we found it very clean and tidy! also the hosts were very friendly and helpfull nothing was to much bother! we also researched prices well as it was such a large group and found it no more expensive than any more of the b&b's in the area! we cant wait to visit again for my son's pass out in oct again with a large group!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_hart053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed at the St James on the 6th and 7th Aug to attend our sons passing out parade at HMS Raleigh. The location was great, central for everything, and only 5 minutes from Hms Raleigh.I was just looking up the St James's details to re book for a stay over "Navy days" when I stumbled over the other 2 comments left. Our stay could not have been more different, hence we were looking to book another stay. Our hosts were really welcoming. We also stayed in the room with the bunk beds as we had our 2 young children with us, the room was spotless, and I am quite fussy !! Yes the shower did open onto the room but as our hosts explained we also had the use of the main bathroom which was almost opposite should we need it. The room was £55 per night for 2 sharing and then there was a £5 per night charge for each of the children so the actual cost was £65 a night including a HUGE breakfast fo each of us - I thought it was great value for money.
When taking young children away its always a bit of a worry, but nothing was too much trouble, we can't wait for our next stay !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roastlamb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Family room. Enter room - in front of you pine bunk beds, to the left double bed. Door to filthy toilet. Shower is IN the bedroom! Clear door with small opaque panel - would have to step dripping into the actual bedroom. Old, shabby, mis-matched bedding. Tiny worn towels. Needless to say, we left. Owner just shrugged his shoulders - not doubt being happy that he had the deposit. Horrible experience and far more expensive than four star hotels in Plymouth.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

10 of us booked this place for the weekend.On arrival the first thing we noticed was the place was up for sale. The front garden was overgrown. There was an inflatable swimming pool and a childs play area. Walked in and the place smelt of dogs and sure enough a huge 13 stone Great Dane plodded in sniffing around us. The owner made no attempt to stop it.
Ok to the room. We were in room 1. 1st floor double room. Very small, with a shower room and toilet in a small room. The place was not clean. When the light was put on in the bathroom you could see staining in the wash bowl and the toilet.
We were deciding what to do and put the kettle on. Had to put the kettle on the floor as that was where the only socket was. The tea spoon obviously had not been washed for a long time and was very stained and sticky.
The room had huge amounts of dust particularly behind the door.
We contacted our friends and called a meeting. One couple had already refused their room and left. All the rooms our friends had were in the same state.
We decided to all move out and we contacted two couples who had not arrived yet and told them not to bother.
The rate for the room and breakfast was £70! We returned to the building and spoke with the owner and told him the place was filthy. He said we should have spoken to him and he would have had it cleaned!! He said he was actually charging us £55 per night. However our friend had already paid a deposit which made the rate £70 per night.
We told him we were leaving and he did not seem surprised. No doubt he is happy just retaining deposits.
At this we left and went to the 4 star Copthorne Hotel in Plymouth who charged us £43 per night.
Our advice avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews