We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lovely welcome”
Review of Polhawn Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torpoint
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Polhawn Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived, following the excellently clear directions provided on the website. Oh wow! Their driveway is the epitome of Cornwall - narrow and steep! A lovely warm welcome for us when we checked in; guidance on good places to eat for dinner provided. What a wonderful surprise when the landlord offered to escort us into the village for the easiest route. Top marks for that!

The room was very nicely presented and with wifi available. The room itself was clean but the bathroom was a little dirty with something indefinable and undesirable on the tiles and I have to mark them down for that which is such a shame.

Breakfast was very good and it was a shame to leave. We would have stayed more than one night but they were booked up.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

What a great place to stay you think the views are great driving into the area what meets you as you step out of the car is breath taking. Like most others we had a wedding next door just a tip for the girls a pair of flat shoes in the bag for walking the path at night. The beds are sooooo comfy didn't want to get up but worth it for the breakfast. The owners were great no request was too big for them would stay here again and hope we got the same weather too go with it!!!

Room Tip: Any room all lovely but must say enjoyed listening to the waves at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just returned after staying at the cottage whilst attending a wedding at the nearby fort. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who had thought of everything down to a torch to use getting back from the pub.

Ideally located for the nearby wedding venue that is walking distance.

To top it all off they even had Sky Sports HD for me to watch the Lions Rugby decider.

Thank you for your excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cemlynpesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding at Polhawn Fort. The location is stunning (accessed by a step slope, but my little Clio coped perfectly well). We stayed in the Bayview room which was charming, comfortable and spacious. The en-suite bedroom was very large and we slept very well with the sound of the birds and the waves and no cars. It felt like you are a million miles away from everyone.

The owners John and Carolyn were lovely and very accommodating and friendly. The choice of breakfast and quality was excellent. You could have the full English breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and juice and as much as you liked.

We were lucky with the weather and sat out on the deck on the first evening enjoying a glass of wine. Glasses are available if you need them.

They have a dog and a black cat calle Scuttle who are both very friendly.

Overall, cannot speak highly enough about this charming B&B and if we ever return to the area to explore, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We couldn't fault our stay with John and Carolyn - they are excellent hosts and made us feel so welcome. Our room was large and spotlessly clean and we had the most stunning views. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful! A real treat from start to finish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinkandTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Polhawn Cottage and the lovely Carolyn and John are truly deserving of the top spot afforded to them on trip advisor for B&B's in Torpoint. Similarly to most other guests, we stayed one night last week to attend a wedding at Polhawn Fort - which was fabulous. Carolyn and John couldn’t have been more accommodating, and the room we stayed in- the double on the ground floor was delightful. They showed us the short walk to the fort, and aided us with a torch for stumbling back. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning before heading off around 10:00am. Could not fault the stay or recommend it more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Spent two nights here because it was nearest accomodation to Polhawn Fort (a five minute walk) where we attended a wedding. The Cottage is a really top B&B, not so cheap but really well worth the cost thanks to the care & attention from Carolyn & John. It was perfect for us because the ground floor double room was good for my brother & disabled sister-in-law, with two other good sized rooms upstairs.Rooms & bathrooms clean & well provisioned, breakfasts were great, quiet at night, all in all a great place & great hosts.

Room Tip: The twin room is not ensuite but has a dedicated bathroom along the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torpoint hotels
4.2 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
255 reviews
7.7 mi away
Copley Arms
Copley Arms
#7 of 10 in Torpoint
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Finnygook Inn
Finnygook Inn
#2 of 2 in Crafthole
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carbeile Inn
Carbeile Inn
#4 of 10 in Torpoint
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polhawn Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polhawn Cottage

Address: Polhawn Cove, Torpoint PL10 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Polhawn Cottage Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing