We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
An interesting place

I’m not sure how to describe Mount Edgcumbe. There is a fine big house that is not open to the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
S1416WIrichardb
via mobile
Stunning!

Absolutely beautiful! Gardens are stunning. Sadly couldn’t go in the house as we had a dog with us... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
annaliesenh
,
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 485 reviews
  
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
319
133
17
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
133
17
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plymouth sound country park mount edgcumbe formal gardens cremyll ferry stables cafe orangery restaurant fantastic views walk around wonderful place to visit shuttle bus car show duck pond extensive grounds royal william yard scones plenty of space
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely house & gardens
Been here several times & never disappointed
Last time was vintage car show in grounds
This time was world war 2 exhibition in grounds
Good trip by ferry this time
Child friendly & nice little beach & nice park areas for walks
Good value food at top house
Shuttle bus good if anyone struggles up & down the hills with voluntary donation of 50p each way

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We walked from Cawsand along the coast to Edgcumbe pub. Gives amazing views, definitely recommend it.

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank Zenxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Not the easiest place to access roads being very narrow and winding much better to go to the Barbican at Plymouth and enjoy the ferry trip across to the shores of Mount Edgcumbe Country Park it is well worth the visit a beautiful parkland with trees and shrubs overlooked by a majestic house. The parkland sweeps down to Plymouth sound were you can watch all types of craft coming in and out while you either sit under the shade of a large spreading tree or on one of the many seats overlooking the water.This is an ideal place for families, couples or the more elderly as there is a little bus that goes around the park, you can just get on and off where ever you want just pop a donation in the box. Toilets and cafes are dotted everywhere Everywhere is clean and staff are very helpful. Only faults we could find was that food and drink were we thought overpriced, a cuppa was £1.75 and sandwiches started at £5. Don't let this put you off because just up from where the ferry comes in is a little shop were you can get a hot pasty and a drink or icecream very reasonable (pasties are lovely) or nip over to the pub for a meal it too is near where the ferry comes in.All in all a wonderful place to visit we will go again

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Llawnroc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Been coming here about twice a year for a couple of decades. Once in the summer and usually spring or autumn. Once came for a delightful walk in the very rare winter snow. This extensive coastal park is free to enter and is run by a combination of Plymouth and Cornwall councils. I hope the current and continuing cuts will not destroy the results half a century of public maintenance and hundreds of years of the Edgecumbe family before that. There is enough space to lose yourself even at busy times. The walk around to Kingsand or Cawsands to one of the pubs there is easily justified. The Edgecumbe Arms at Cremyll itself seems strangely to have good and bad days. It can be very much like an old fashioned pub on quiet days but like a horrible conveyor built impersonal money machine when busy. I quite like the Orangery cafe but sometimes the mood and attitude of the staff can be a little curt and tetchy and on another day they can be attentive and polite. My mother will always remember the day when a sullen girl spent almost a minute over zealously spraying our table and my mother with an intense blue cleansing solution mist. But whatever the catering, the park remains a sublime experience.

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank Crow M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our first visit to the plymouth area and we had a lovely weekend. We visited Royal William Yard, the city centre and The Barbican but one of the highlights has to be catching the ferry over to Mount Edgcumbe. The little beach and walks were lovely, the view from the ruined tower is fantastic....well worth the climb, the cream tea in the old stables cafe was enormous and all the food ordered was freshly prepared. There is lots to do and see for a whole day visit but we didn't go in the house so we will just have to go back again....looking forward to it.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Kintonettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews