We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chippy in Cornwall”

Top Shop Fish and Chips
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Torpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Fish and Chip Shop Takeaway
Restaurant details
Description: Fish and Chip Shop Takeaway
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best chippy in Cornwall”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Tried this chippy after a few years away and it the best tasting chippy around. Fast and friendly, clean and bright. It's a chippy, not the Ritz!
Need to set up a branch in Plymouth as my chips get cold on the ferry! Bigger market for such good flavours. Haddock was super.
Please keep the quality while at a decent price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michaelphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topshopchippy, Owner at Top Shop Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Sorry it has taken so long to put a response on. Time goes by so fast. Hope you are still visiting us here across the water despite the ferry! Haddock is going down a storm !

Thanks again for the fab review

Elaine & Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    20
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

By far the best fish and chips I have eaten in the south west, fried in Beef dripping for the best taste (Northern Style) the fish is always a substantial fillet cooked to perfection.
Unfortunatly I cannot comment on anything else on the menu as the Fish is sooo good I have never ordered anything else.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natwes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topshopchippy, Owner at Top Shop Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and a good one at that. It is great to know that all the hard work myself, husband and staff put in to the shop is producing a good end result.

Many thanks again for the great review from all at Top Shop Chiipy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love This Place”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have fish & chips every Saturday from here and its sooooo good, and best of all they cook with dripping. It's one of the best by far in Devon and Cornwall and no other one compares in our personal opinion, and we have tried a lot of places. Staff are chatty, friendly and polite. We love it. keep up the good work:-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topshopchippy, Owner at Top Shop Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
A big thank you for the fantastic review . It is great when people take the time to tell us what they think and even better when it is a great review and by the way, we love your 'personal opinion'.

See you Saturday!

Thanks from all of us at Top Shop Chippy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,453 helpful votes
“Average chip shop.”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The routine canon of chippie food. Nothing special. Bit of a production line when we were in the shop. Several people in the queue ahead of us but no one seems to chat. Sadly the residential street outside was also strewn with discarded plastic food boxers. Several takeaways in Torpoint. This one doesn't have much personality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topshopchippy, Owner at Top Shop Fish and Chips, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Really sorry you feel you feel our food was average and that we do not have much personality. We always where ever possible try to engage our customers but if it is busy in the shop at peak times we are usually frantically running around making sure everybody's food is cooked to order and served as quickly as possible to minimise customer wait times. Quite often in the shop we have a very fun atmosphere but this can depend on who is in the shop at the time and whether they are in the mood to talk and engage. Not really sure we can do anything about the 'production line'. You place your order at the till and your food is cooked to order which means waiting in the shop until your food is cooked, same as in most takeaways I would imagine.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and in our line of business we can not please everybody although we like to think we try, therefore it saddens us that you think the food was average. We are from the North and cook our fish and chips the Northern way with beef dripping and crispy batter, we get lots and lots of real positive feed back in the shop from our customers many who come in several times a week.

Many apologies if there was rubbish about. Some of this is sadly out of our control. We always clear the rubbish around the vicinity of the shop and the back street but unfortunately some people put their rubbish out days before bin collection day and the sea gulls have a field day. I go our regularly to clean up other peoples rubbish.

I hope if you are in Torpoint you will try us again and maybe have a more fun experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best Chippy "by far" in Torpoint”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Top Shop Chippy is "By Far" the best of the 2 in Torpoint, with food cooked fresh to order, so no soggy bottom and they do not use anything on the fish apart from the batter so you don't get that thick layer of gloopy stuff underneath. PROPER chips made by the owner and no frozen rubbish like a real chippy should be. The previous reviews about pale chips should speak to the owner as he is more than happy to explain about why the chips are pale because of the beef dripping that they are cooked in and the temperature of the pans, and I love them like that. Also after talking with the owner (Frank) and hearing how passionate he is about what he serves, I don't believe for a minute that somebody was served green chips!!!!
Also try the chicken nuggets as they are chicken fillet and not reformed rubbish and yummy with garlic mayo YUMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Shop Fish and Chips also viewed

Torpoint, Cornwall
Crafthole, Torpoint
 
Torpoint, Cornwall
Torpoint, Cornwall
 

Been to Top Shop Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing