We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly comfortable in lovely setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torpoint
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fir Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Fir Cottage for a couple of nights during a long walking stretch of the south west coast path.
We were most impressed with the accommodation; our room was immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed. Towels, bed linen, toiletries were of a very high standard and quality. The en suite was excellent with a very powerful hot shower. Coming back to the room was sheer delight after a long arduous days walking.
Janet and her husband are excellent hosts who certainly made us very welcome.
No hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Fir cottage is a fabulous retreat from the hustle and bustle of modern living set in tranquil surroundings close to nearby beaches of the Cornish coast. The accommodation is off the highest standards and the owners are very welcoming and friendly with extensive knowledge of the local area. Plymouth is only a short trip away should you require some retail therapy or continue on further into Cornwall from this base and explore Looe and other smaller South coast hamlets and hidden beaches. A fabulous trip and would thoroughly recommend to others. Many thanks to John & Janet for making our trip so comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barders745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It is a lovely, quiet and very modern and nicely decorated B&B. We stayed in rooms with our own balcony and with a nice view onto the field. The B&B is surrounded by a nice and green garden and you can use the private tennis court. The B&B owners are very friendly people who make all efforts to help you and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You really feel at home. We even had the opportunity to have a wonderful lobster meal at night, since John, the owner, is a fisherman and brought them home for us. Location is ideal – you just walk up the hill and you can have wonderful strolls along the cost with the possibility to go swimming in the sea in a nearby little village. A superb place! We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD_2013164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Easy to find. Welcoming. Home baked biscuits with a pot of tea on arrival. Beautiful room & en suite. We enjoyed a drink in the evening whilst sitting outside on our balcony. Peaceful surroundings.
We slept well on the extremely comfortable super king size bed.
Breakfast was more than enough, very enjoyable.
I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Our room with the balcony & super king sized bed was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torpoint hotels
4.1 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
71 reviews
8.1 mi away
Copley Arms
Copley Arms
#7 of 10 in Torpoint
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Finnygook Inn
Finnygook Inn
#2 of 2 in Crafthole
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbeile Inn
Carbeile Inn
#4 of 10 in Torpoint
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lower Tregantle, Torpoint PL11 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Price Range: £80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation located in an Area of Outstanding Beauty on the Rame Peninsula in South East Cornwall. Closet to local attractions of Plymouth's Barbican, the Eden Project, the coastal town of Portwrinkle, the glorious Whitsand Bay and the South West coastal Path. Nearby is HMS Raleigh and the Mount Edgcumbe Estate. PHONE DIRECT TO CHECK AVAILABILITY AND BOOK(NO ON-LINE BOOKING AVAILABILE), THANKYOU! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fir Cottage Bed And Breakfast Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing