We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't rate it highly enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Inn at Veryan

New Inn at Veryan
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Veryan in Roseland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Inn at Veryan
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't rate it highly enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent 2 nights here in early May and found it to be everything one would expect from a perfect pub B & B. Suzanne & Colin were exceptional hosts; so friendly, so efficient, fresh milk for our room any time, great landlord (we loved the beer & wine samples-thank you), great chef. They even supplied the wherewithall to wash off our car after we'd parked under a tree outside the pub not realising it was a huge rookery! We honestly couldn't fault the place from its cleanliness to the choice of beer and fantastic food. Suzanne, I don't know where you learnt your cooking skills but I wish I was half as good as you-mushroom stroganoff to die for!! There are only 2 rooms, 1 with a shower and 1 with a bath. We chose the shower room which, though small, offered all we needed and was very comfortable.

If you like the real Cornwall this is the place for you. Delightful!

Room Tip: If you are of "ample proportions" I would suggest you take the room with the bath as the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    17
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I recently spent some time in Veryan and must say it is a wonderful place to visit' the local pub the new inn is exactly that' a local pub, I found the staff and customers to be very friendly and very helpful, these are real Cornish people, it is spotlessly clean, and I found the menu to be very good with plenty of choice with locally caught fish and locally sourced meet and veg.
While I was there' there were manny people eating most nights and all seemed very happy with the fare, this is not a hungry horse sort of pub, it has good old fashioned values and gives good old fashioned service, if you want a real Cornish pub then this is the place for you,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gunnerfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I can only comment on there food not accommodation. In my opinion think 80's yuppies guffawing incessantly if this is the ambiance you like you will be at home here. As for the food it is a fairly simple menu ham, egg and chips almost £11 extortionate as I would hazard a guess that the eggs were not even local! I had the mackerel well it was more like a sardine, my dad throws this size back when out fishing.
In conclusion if you want fairly simple food but want to pay way over the odds for only just adequate food then feel free to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Special mention has to be made of the breakfast which was spectacular!! Will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nortonlegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We recently stayed at The New Inn for our five year wedding Anniversary. From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic! Very friendly landlords, great food, very clean room, and great atmosphere!

Thanks Suzanne & Colin for a wonderful stay!!

Cheers,
Karl & Amanda Knight

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here for three nights over a weekend, and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Friendly welcome from Suzanne and Colin when we arrived, and we had a comfortable, spacious and exceptionally clean twin room with ensuite. It's a proper pub - old fireplaces, lots of horse brasses & nick-nacks, great food and excellent local beers - Tribute & Proper Job hit the spot! Veryan is a lovely, quiet village and the New Inn is a great place to get away from it all. Carne and Pendower beaches about two miles away are well worth a visit. Sunday night is quiz night and a lot of fun. We hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here two nights on a tour of Cornwall and was best pleased. Colin and Suzanne Phillips are the hosts. He is charming and avuncular behind the bar, attentive to one's needs and quick to try out his party trick, gettting you to sample the 125% proof local rum! The pub grub is several notches above the usual and there are 'specials' every night. Chicken liver pate and whitebait are highly recommended as starters, along with whatever is soup of the day - white onion and thyme when we were there. They don't mind if you ask for toast instead of chunks of bread, or salad instead of chips. Suzanne cooks a mean Cornish breakfast - meltingly delicious bacon from a supplier in Truro, and superb sausage - but you can have just about anything you want. The ensuite rooms are bright, clean, tastefully decorated and there are lovely soft towels, lots of hot water, tissues, face flannels, a hot water bottle and hot chocolate on the tea tray. Fresh milk in a jug appears by magic. The position is good for touring and the Eden Project. PO and shop in the village.

Room Tip: They only have three rooms so you will need to book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veryan in Roseland
1.5 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
2.6 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treverbyn House B&B
Treverbyn House B&B
#1 of 7 in Veryan in Roseland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn at Veryan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn at Veryan

Property: New Inn at Veryan
Address: Veryan in Roseland, Veryan in Roseland TR2 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan in Roseland
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Veryan in Roseland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn Veryan is an unspoilt traditional 16th Century Cornish Inn, located on the Roseland Peninsular, in the historic and picturesque village of Veryan. Nestled among the famous round houses of Veryan, the inn is ideally located to explore the fabulous Cornish coastal paths and close to the 2 award winning beaches of Carne and Pendower. We are within easy reach of The Lost Gardens of Heligan, The Eden Project, St.Mawes, Mevagissey, The Maritime Museum and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Inn At Veryan Cornwall/Veryan In Roseland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing