We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“young arrogant bar staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Inn at Veryan

New Inn at Veryan
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Veryan in Roseland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Inn at Veryan
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“young arrogant bar staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

visited the pub, located in a quaint village. Shame the young bar man didn't match the location, what arrogance. No eye contact, no thankyou and very little advice on what to have, had no idea about the different strengths of beer and made no attempt to find out. Someone needs to remind him that he's offering a service people pay for, no wonder people are turning to the supermarkets to buy their alcohol, as this young man certainly added no value to my product

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BP191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    17
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went to the New Inn for dinner our first night in Veryan and ended up going back three more nights during our stay. We were welcomed warmly by Colin, the owner, and by the locals at the bar and nearby tables who gave us (Americans) lots of friendly suggestions about what to do while in the area. Most nights we sat by the warm fire and thoroughly enjoyed the banter of the regulars at the bar doing crossword puzzles and Sudoku together. Several brought their dogs, which we quickly discovered is the custom in English pubs. The menu is mostly comfort food. I particularly liked the steak and ale pie and vegetable chile, while my husband enjoyed the lemon sole and sticky toffee pudding. We also ate at fancier places, like the nearby Nare Inn, where the food was truly exceptional, but we kept returning to the New Inn because it felt more authentic and homey. It was a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
657 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just popped in for dinner. Pleasant welcome and atmosphere. Reasonable choice of fare of the chalkboard. Well cooked, presented and served with a smile, good value. My beer was clear and so welcome I had two pints. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Visiting Cornwall again recently we decided to return to The New Inn at Veryan.Once again Suzanne and Colin made us feel very welcome.The food and selection of beers are great and the rooms are very comfortable with everything you could possibly desire for your stay.The service was second to none,so if you're ever in the area we would highly recommend a visit!!!!.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We live within 15 minutes of the New Inn so consider ourselves local and a as farmer, my partner enjoys a good steak and chips. Its very good value for money.
Very accessible ( I have just had a new hip), not steps etc

The pub is absolutely lovely and the owners and staff are always welcoming. It is quieter in winter and the Sunday Lunch atmosphere with a real fire and busy bar is just the ticket. In the summer there is a lovely seating area above the pub and its great to sit and relax. Veryan is a lovely village.
There are a lot of rip off places on the Roseland and in Cornwall, overpriced and not that good value, this is not one of them.
Keep the good work up,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Visiting from South Africa and driving through England with no fixed plans, we were delighted to come across Veryan and the New Inn. Colin and Suzanne could not have been more welcoming and hospitable. The ambience in the pub, provided in the most part by Colin's hearty attitude and Suzanne's delicious meals, is something we won't forget. Our double room was lovely, spacious enough, and bright and airy which we really appreciated. If you consider "dropping in" for a meal, think again. We were there for two nights and the pub was packed both times - a sign of a first class establishment run by competent and hardworking people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just enjoyed a perfect 4 day break at the New Inn, Veryan. From the moment we arrived the warmth and friendliness of Colin, Suzanne, staff and locals was very welcoming. Our twin room was well equipped, bright and comfortable. Both food and beer, especially the Tribute ale, were excellent. We have no hesitation in highly recommending the New Inn to any visitors to this beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veryan in Roseland
1.5 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nare
The Nare
#1 of 1 in Veryan in Roseland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.6 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treverbyn House B&B
Treverbyn House B&B
#1 of 5 in Veryan in Roseland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn at Veryan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn at Veryan

Property: New Inn at Veryan
Address: Veryan in Roseland, Veryan in Roseland TR2 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan in Roseland
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Veryan in Roseland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn Veryan is an unspoilt traditional 16th Century Cornish Inn, located on the Roseland Peninsular, in the historic and picturesque village of Veryan. Nestled among the famous round houses of Veryan, the inn is ideally located to explore the fabulous Cornish coastal paths and close to the 2 award winning beaches of Carne and Pendower. We are within easy reach of The Lost Gardens of Heligan, The Eden Project, St.Mawes, Mevagissey, The Maritime Museum and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Inn At Veryan Cornwall/Veryan In Roseland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing