We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip back in time to "The Camomile Lawn"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Broom Parc

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Veryan in Roseland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broom Parc
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A trip back in time to "The Camomile Lawn"”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a wonderful week we have just had at this incredible place! Tried to get in a couple of years ago, because of the links to the t.v. series "The Camomile Lawn", which I loved, but was fully booked. So pleased we managed to get in this time. When we rang we were told that for that night there was only the " Summerhouse" available. We agreed to take it, and was so glad that we did! it was so quaint, with it's own garden and stunning panoramic sea view. It's own bathroom and toilet was something to see! In the event, over the 7 nights, we stayed 3 in the summerhouse, 3 nights in "Sophie's Room" and 1 in "The Red Room" If you saw "The Camomile Lawn" you will understand what I mean. The house is just like being on the set of the series and you can even watch the dvd and live it as it happens, so to speak, I kept expecting the cast to walk in at any moment. There are also folders with photographs and press cuttings of the making of the series to get lost in too, which I found particularly interesting. The views are just spectacular and easy to see why it was chosen for the show. The place is so atmospheric, and the peace and quiet and birdsong are the things that I will remember. For me, it was brilliant that there was no mobile phone signal (Some texts got through), although there is a landline , so if you need to take a call, you are able to do so. Now to the owners, Lindsay and Keith Righton. I cannot recommend these two people highly enough. They are so friendly and warm, with nothing being too much trouble for them. Lindsay takes a real pride in the place and it shows how much she loves living here. The house was filled with wild flowers all beautifully arranged, even in the bedrooms. I genuinely felt moved at staying at this fantastic establishment. The breakfasts were superb, (loved the fried bread Lindsay, haven't had this for years! what a treat!) but the fresh local grown fruit and home made jam were super as well. We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary, and we certainly found it! Please don't hesitate in spending a few days here or longer....you'll be so glad that you did. Can recommend the local "New Inn " at Veryan for an evening meal.

Room Tip: "Sophie's room" has it's own bathroom across the landing with not such a good sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyGmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

we had a wonderful few days, really great value, views to die for, everything was right and we had great hosts, nothing was too much for Lindsay, she was the opposite to mean, we had heat, cleanliness a cream tea for only £3.50, and were able to stay in the house all the time we wanted to. There were great walks and peace and tranquility. Could not recommend it more strongly. Also great food at local pubs, good value, seafood very fresh but after the breakfast really required no lunch.

Room Tip: we had the Red Room, really didn't want to leave, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 954RAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

What an absolutely gorgeous place and a real gem of a B&B! Really fantastic house and such comfortable beds and a fabulous breakfast have topped off a great stay! We really cant recommend this place enough for someone on the path who wants to recover from a hard days walk! The bath and showers are excellent and it really is an amazing place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigcamop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed one night when walking the Coastal path. Fantastic position & views. The House is owned by the National Trust and is a bit past its sell by date but this is offset by its history. Service & breakfast OK. We walked down the hill to The Ship in Portloe for a pie and pint in the evening (worth checking out of season as the pub might be closed Sunday night).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I am a fan of "The Camomile Lawn" which was on TV some years ago. I always admired the house in the series and thought it was just the house I would love by the sea if I was to buy one. After watching a re-run of the series last year decided to look up the location and was pleased to find it was. B&B in Cornwall. We decided to spend a night there to see if it was like in the series and to walk around the cliffs and do the "terror run" Lindsay was very welcoming and made us feel at home. We stayed in the master bedroom which was very spacious and clean. It had a lovely view out to sea. The house is furnished in traditional style as in the series and clean and tidy. There was a nice lounge with open fire and breakfast was served by Lindsay on a large platter over looking the bay. We really enjoyed our stay and enjoyed looking at the memorabilia of the series. Thanks to Linsdsay for a very enjoyable stay, a hot water bottle in our bed was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Master bedroom has own bathroom with shower and lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennybabs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Postbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

You can not afford to miss the opportunity of staying here.Arrive before dusk as lighting down to the entrance could be improved.Rooms look right down on the cliffs and sea.Great breakfast and good pubs and the Lugger hotel for dining

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob551652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham
Level Contributor
628 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at Broom Parc in July 2012 in 'The Red Room'. I had always wanted to stay here ever since I saw the TV series of 'The Camomile Lawn' which was filmed here. It did not disappoint. The room was huge with a fantastic view over the sea and cliffs. the bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of drawer space. The bathroom was small but very nice with a lovely bath. the only gripe (and a very minor one) was the difficulty I had washing my hair because there was no shower head over the bath and although there was a rubber shower spray attacment available it did not fit the taps on the washbasin.

The welcome was very friendly and informative about the local area. The lovely big lounge for guests was equipped with the DVD of the TV series and scrapbooks/memorabilia of the filming including scripts, plans for the day's shooting and photos of the cast, which was all very interesting.

Breakfast was lovely with the same view of the sea to that in the bedroom. It was served on lovely crockery and the cooked breakfast was presented on a platter. Our hosts remembered exactly how we liked it all cooked from one day to the next.

The location on the cliff edge was superb but this did mean that access to it was down a number of steep narrow lanes and a car is necessary for walking to the nearest pub or hotel for an evening meal. For those familiar with the TV series they will appreciate that part of the 'terror run' was at the bottom of the garden and there was easy access to the coastal path from the garden.

A true gem on the rugged Cornish coast.

Room Tip: Choose one of the main rooms overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veryan in Roseland
0.6 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
838 reviews
3.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
455 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
592 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treverbyn House B&B
Treverbyn House B&B
#1 of 5 in Veryan in Roseland
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broom Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broom Parc

Property: Broom Parc
Address: Broom Parc Camels, Veryan in Roseland TR2 5PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan in Roseland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Veryan in Roseland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Broom Parc Hotel Veryan
Broom Parc Cornwall/Veryan In Roseland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing