We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch supreme”
Review of The Nare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nare
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch supreme”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

The Sunday lunch experience at The Nare is nothing short of fantastic. The whole experience is like stepping back in time, in the best possible way. The dining room is elegant, with stunning views. Service is from a very well trained and presented team, who are fully engaged in their task.The varied starters all sound good, but my choice from the trolley consisting of various seafoods and salad was great. The main course is served at the table by the chef from his carving trolley, and the chosen rib of beef was excellent, as were the accompanying vegetables. The dessert trolley was so heavily laden with vast arrays of just about everything you can imagine, it made a choice difficult. But the summer pudding and strawberry fraise were top notch. A great opportunity to get dressed up and immerse yourself in just what Sunday lunch dining should be like. Totally wonderful and excellent value

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bpt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    44
    33
    18
    15
See reviews for
65
164
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We thought this was the best restaurant in the Roseland area. Delicious food and very attentive staff. The views from the restaurant are beautiful. Our visit to The Nare was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshirePandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

What can one say - a top class hotel in all departments. This is a must for the discrimitating traveller and not to be missed.
Rarely have I stayed in a hotel with so many good qualities and left feeling that I have had value for my money even though it is not exactly cheap
The very best of Cornwall

Room Tip: ground floor sea view with patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

What a place to stay. Just above the beach with fantastic views, the location is pretty much perfect. The rooms (we decided to stay a second night and had to move from a beach view to a country view) were well appointed and extremely comfortable. Food - we only ate in the dining room and did not try the Quarterdeck - was excellent and the service, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, was faultless. We bumped into two members of staff while out walking and both greeted us by name. Our dog was made as welcome as we were. We will certainly return (and probably fairly soon). This is an exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: The sea views are well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We went to this hotel because of its location and a recommendation as been coming to the area for many years on holiday. Just a day visit as staying locally but when we arrived off the beach and seated ourselves at a table off the quarter deck outside we must gave waited for over 40 mins to get served with many staff looking but passing. We felt like we were being judged as we're in summer attire i.e. shorts. In the end after much disappointment we gave up and walked out as fed up of waiting. Felt like staff were just ignoring us. The atmosphere felt awful as such. Will not be returning even if we can afford it which is a real shame for them, not for us as we'd rather spend our hard earned elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cheshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

The Nare is in a STUNNING location.Just sublime.Perfect.It is comfortably furnished in an old fashioned way,but is brought up to date by having a good collection of modern paintings in all the public areas.The food is of a very high "Hotel"standard.Delicious fish,lamb,venison and beef.The pudding and cheese trolleys were magnificent ,and looked a picture as they were wheeled around the spacious dining room.The staff were charming,friendly and efficient.However if you are looking for "Notting Hill Gate" by the sea head down the road to St.Mawes,and stay in one of the "Restaurant with Rooms",but if like us you enjoy staying in a well run comfortable hotel where nothing is too much trouble --stay at The Nare.We booked for one week ,and loved it so much we stayed for two!The Nare is expensive,and it attracts a well heeled crowd,but during our visit the hotel had a good mix of "young and old".Oh!-----every morning I was joined in the outdoor heated pool by House Martins that skimmed the water in front of me having their daily baths----it was just magical!On our return to London we agreed it was one of the best English holidays we have ever had.We will return.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langdon Hills, Null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Nare is by no means cheap, but that doesn't prevent it being the best English hotel we have ever stayed in with a fantastic location and superbly attentive staff. If you want to spoill yourself a bit, this is the place to be in the lap of luxury

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veryan in Roseland
2.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
890 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
387 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
619 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nare

Property: The Nare
Address: Carne Beach, Veryan in Roseland TR2 5PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan in Roseland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veryan in Roseland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nare is Cornwall's top luxury hotel. Sitting in its own grounds, overlooking a beach with perfect sea views, here you will find peace and relaxation in elegant and luxurious surroundings. Rated by the AA as the best hotel in Cornwall every year for the last 20 years, The Nare has traditional standards of comfort, luxury and service that are increasingly difficult to find in the modern world. Individually decorated rooms and suites, delicious food from the hotel's two restaurants and outstanding Spa and leisure facilities make The Nare the perfect choice for couples enjoying a romantic short break or families looking for a location to suit all ages and generations, at any time of year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Nare Hotel Veryan
Nare Veryan In Roseland
The Nare Cornwall/Veryan In Roseland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing