We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hotel like this one!”
Review of The Nare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have stayed in many hotels both in Europe and England over the years, mostly good, but the Nare beats them all.

Just to give an example in many hotels when one arrives there is fresh fruit and/or bottled water in the room but in the Nare there is fresh fruit and bottled water every day.

Our room was beautiful. I would swear they changed the towels everyday and possible the bed linen. This was the standard. Our terrace was huge with comfortable furniture. The view, of course superb. In the room there was a choice of books and magazines. The bed huge and wonderfully comfortable.

The staff were incredible. Everyone said good morning, so going to breakfast I think I said good morning . six times before getting into the dining room for a beautiful buffet breakfast! Nothing was too much trouble and yet the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.

There were free daily papers around. Everything was clean and sparkling The swimming pools were warm and pleasantly laid out.

I think to sum it up I would quote a fellow guest, who said to us "I'd rather have three days here than a fortnight somewhere else.

We came by train and were met at the station by a very helpful and friendly driver.

Thank you the Nare for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katekkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Beautiful location overlooking the bay. Comfortably furnished. This was our second visit, our first visit was about fifteen years ago. Although the hotel has expanded significantly since we were last here we're sorry to report that neither the food nor the service came up to the standard we were expecting of a hotel of this calibre. We were aware of an attitude problem amongst certain members of staff and it's clearly time for the management to face these problems head-on.

Room Tip: Select a Sea-View Room. We had a country view room over the main entrance to the hotel which was noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NetherStowey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Staying at Carnon Downs we decided that The Nare was a destination not to be missed. We like walking and we like eating quality, locally sourced food, particularly on a Sunday afternoon. We made a reservation for the Quarterdeck so we were already aware that we could not have the tradition Sunday Roast that we so love. The Sunday roast is offered in the restaurant only and I think it was £32 for the set menu in the restaurant.

We were dressed smart casual and received a wonderful welcome at reception. As we walked from reception and through the restaurant, staff were smiling and welcoming. There were not many couples/families eating in the restaurant. The smiles disappeared once we were seated by a rather 'stuffy' chap on The Quarterdeck. To be honest I felt a bit uncomfortable as I thought perhaps I wasn't smart enough but as I looked around most people were smart casual. Maybe I simply didn't realise how formal it would be. The menu didn't inspire any of us and I ordered ham sandwich with grape chutney and a bowl of chips. My food was very pleasant and I did enjoy it, even though all of us secretly wanted a Sunday roast.

The weather that day wasn't sunny, however I imagine on a sunny day the experience of the stunning views and the pool and the outdoor eating would be very pleasing indeed. We are well travelled and eaten in numerous good restaurants but I did feel slightly uncomfortable here, mainly due to the stern and stuffy waiter who did not make us feel welcome or at ease. Needless to say we didn't stay for dessert and had a wonderful walk on the beach below.

Other observations are that parking was ample and that toilets were very clean. This is a stunning part of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JuniorStables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Sunday lunch experience at The Nare is nothing short of fantastic. The whole experience is like stepping back in time, in the best possible way. The dining room is elegant, with stunning views. Service is from a very well trained and presented team, who are fully engaged in their task.The varied starters all sound good, but my choice from the trolley consisting of various seafoods and salad was great. The main course is served at the table by the chef from his carving trolley, and the chosen rib of beef was excellent, as were the accompanying vegetables. The dessert trolley was so heavily laden with vast arrays of just about everything you can imagine, it made a choice difficult. But the summer pudding and strawberry fraise were top notch. A great opportunity to get dressed up and immerse yourself in just what Sunday lunch dining should be like. Totally wonderful and excellent value

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bpt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We thought this was the best restaurant in the Roseland area. Delicious food and very attentive staff. The views from the restaurant are beautiful. Our visit to The Nare was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertfordshirePandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

What can one say - a top class hotel in all departments. This is a must for the discrimitating traveller and not to be missed.
Rarely have I stayed in a hotel with so many good qualities and left feeling that I have had value for my money even though it is not exactly cheap
The very best of Cornwall

Room Tip: ground floor sea view with patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

What a place to stay. Just above the beach with fantastic views, the location is pretty much perfect. The rooms (we decided to stay a second night and had to move from a beach view to a country view) were well appointed and extremely comfortable. Food - we only ate in the dining room and did not try the Quarterdeck - was excellent and the service, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, was faultless. We bumped into two members of staff while out walking and both greeted us by name. Our dog was made as welcome as we were. We will certainly return (and probably fairly soon). This is an exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: The sea views are well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veryan in Roseland
2.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
951 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
422 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
663 reviews
1.7 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
504 reviews
2 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nare

Address: Carne Beach, Veryan in Roseland TR2 5PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan in Roseland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veryan in Roseland
Price Range: £195 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nare is Cornwall's top luxury hotel. Sitting in its own grounds, overlooking a beach with perfect sea views, here you will find peace and relaxation in elegant and luxurious surroundings. Rated by the AA as the best hotel in Cornwall every year for the last 20 years, The Nare has traditional standards of comfort, luxury and service that are increasingly difficult to find in the modern world. Individually decorated rooms and suites, delicious food from the hotel's two restaurants and outstanding Spa and leisure facilities make The Nare the perfect choice for couples enjoying a romantic short break or families looking for a location to suit all ages and generations, at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Nare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nare Hotel Veryan
Nare Veryan In Roseland
The Nare Cornwall/Veryan In Roseland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing