We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cakes”
Review of Melinsey Mill

Melinsey Mill
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is our third stop at this Mill. Its a very quirky interesting place to stop for tea or coffe. Has lovely home made cakes and arts and crafts are for sale. Interesting walk round the pond and kids will be fascinated by the workings of the mill (ours were when we brought them)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spike5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very unique and interesting water mill”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Came across this old water mill by accident on our way to lunch at Nare's Head. Although we did not stop for coffee and cake, we did take go inside the old building to have a look at the workings of the mill, and for a walk around the pond to discover the interestingly placed chairs and tea pot alley.
Also look out for the 'weather stone'.
There was no charge for this visit although there was a facility to leave a donation. The attraction of the water mill and surroundings is its uniqueness, and you can imagine how it was when operating as a fully working mill .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laniscat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a quirky relaxing café in a 16th century former water mill. well worth a visit for coffee or lunch

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little find.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Super place to have tea and scones. The seats outside are in amongst the trees at the edge of a large pond. The birds (sparrows and finches) come and land on the table and steal crumbs. You can tour the old mill workings and view some of the odd curious dotted around the place which I will not describe because it would spoil the element of surprise. Friendly staff and scrummy grub. I recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great after a walk or a beach day. cake good, tea fab, children love it. Reasonably priced, lots of parking interesting working mill.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarciaTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melinsey Mill also viewed

Portloe, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
Caerhays, Mevagissey
Veryan in Roseland, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Melinsey Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing