We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Buckhorn Motel
Nearby Hotels
Wayside Motel(Manitowaning)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hawberry Motel(Little Current)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manitoulin Inn(Mindemoya)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
19
19
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
19
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie collectiongreat hospitalitynext morningthe ownerferrytowelsmotelislandtobermorylinens
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Like meeting strangers and having them invite you into their lives and home after the first hello. We were guests not by accident, after reading some positive reviews were not steered wrong. Firstly this is a motel not a 5 star hotel, places like this can be musty and not be in the most perfect of areas but the owners made our stay shine! Squeaky clean and very large rooms. The TV only had one channel but he had ton's of movies to rent FOR FREE, and complimentary coffee with muffins in the morning. Internet included here! Close enough to the ferry to catch an early morning departure. Thank you Cathy and Ameal!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I have stayed at the Buckhorn motel on a number of occasions. Not only are the hosts, Ameal and Cathy the friendliest people you will ever meet, they are very helpful. They have given me tips on sights to see, maps and directions. They also have no problem helping motorists find lodging elsewhere when they are full for the night. The rooms are clean and the coffee and muffins are great! If you are passing through South Baymouth be sure you stop at the Buckhorn, you won't regret it.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank speeddemon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Buckhorn for a week in June. We have never been to the area before and were pleasantly surprised at the warm, comforting atmosphere Cathy and Ameal provided. Our room was very clean, the towels were fresh and the bed was comfortable. I was grateful for the store located in the main office. My wife and I were able to purchase lovely gifts for our family back home and were able to enjoy a piping hot coffee. Finally- the internet access in our room was a way I could email family back home pictures and stories about our great vacation. Thanks again Buckhorn Motel for making our stay memorable. We will definitely be back every summer!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HamiltonRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Room #2: Filthy room, we were afraid to walk barefoot inside - the floor looked nasty!!
Bed pillows smelled like someone else's hair.
Beds squeaked and groaned. Or was it the floor? Both!
Are spiders crawling in the bed considered an amenity?
Washroom: Toilet rocked when we sat on it; was about to fall through the floor, which was dry rotted
Television selection of channels: ONE: what ever channel Ameal was watching. He boasted that he has 175 channels from which to choose. (To their credit, they do have a large video library from which you can choose)
This place needs a dramatic facelift. Should be condemned.
They have an incredible (no fooling) web site. It looked like it was going to be really nice. We were looking forward to staying. The room online "looked" exactly like what we found, but looks and being there are 2 different things! We feel like suckers.
The poor suffering wife looked definitely dumbfounded when we left at 6am!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyinglady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews