We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views!”
Review of Red Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lodge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Since I go to Red Lodge Resort to sew and quilt, you wouldn't think scenery would matter, but it does! I just love being able to work both inside and outside on the deck looking over Lake Manitou and being able to pause and take in the beauty of the area!
The cabins are well-equipped and the meals are well thought out, delicious and presented and served expertly. I find that the staff and owners are always on hand to answer questions, supply extras or solve problems - easy-going and very pleasant.
Recommend this highly!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with the number of bedrooms you want because they have all sizes and if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Laur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The staff was super friendly. Joyce had us checked in within a couple of minutes.
We stayed in the Lakeview cottage.
It was very clean and it has a nice deck overlooking the lake. The rooms looked to be recently updated. The beach and dock were a 30 second walk from the cottage.
There were boats which were available for rent. A restaurant with great food choices in the main office building, also a close walk from the cottages.
An overall great time at this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceatRedLodge, Owner at Red Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are indeed updating cottages as we go along. We're happy to hear you had a great stay :-) Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Overall our cabin was great. The view from Lake Manitou was awesome. It was a nice get away. Too bad the beach wasn't sandy. They do need new BBQ's. The one we had kept blowing out from the wind. The ants also didn't help in the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceatRedLodge, Owner at Red Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Yes, I agree, the view here is beautiful. We thank you for mentioning the ants on your check out, so we were able to remedy them right away! We now supply each cottage with a complimentary BBQ, and yes some are in need of replacing, so we will be sure to replace each one as we go along. Thanks again for your kind words :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoulin Island
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our quilting retreat has used Red Lodge Resort for many years now for its annual event. The accommodations are well maintained and clean. The setting is exceptional. The food is delicious and the chef is very willing to meet dietary challenges. Our overall experience was fantastic and we have already booked our next year's time. Thanks our wonderful hosts, they made the experience not only enjoyable but memorable.

Room Tip: Each cottage has its own charm. Would stay in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceatRedLodge, Owner at Red Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
You quilters are all great!!! You are a lot of fun to have here as a group, and we enjoy having you come each year. Thanks so much, and see you in the spring :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My family held a reunion at this resort and were the first ones in for the season. The accommodations were great. My wife, myself and two teenage children had a cabin with 2 rooms and a couch that folded into a bed, because we gave our larger cabin to another family member. When we were concerned about the couch, the staff offered to bring in another cot. My son declined and had a good night's sleep on the fold-out couch. At every point we found the staff to be willing to do whatever was necessary to make our stay enjoyable.
The food was delicious and a good value. The location was beautiful with many hiking opportunities in the area.
I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonySka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceatRedLodge, Owner at Red Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! Your family (and yes it is a very large one lol) was a pleasure to have stay here with us. We are glad your weekend went so well, and we enjoyed being a part of your special event. Accommodating large groups like yourselves is something that we hope to do more of in the future. Thanks again, and we hope to see you all again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Im apart of the Skanes family i heard we were the first ones of the season :) .. We ended up having to rent the whole resort cause we were such a huge family lol .. But the service was absolutely amazing .. Friendly staff great meal plans :) .. Great location .. Quiet when the Skanes were sleeping lol but i would like thank the red lodge for the hospitality :) .. I would recommend this resort to everyone :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaSkanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceatRedLodge, Owner at Red Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
LOL! Thanks so much Natasha :-) Your family was great. This was my first large scale event like this as a newcomer to the Lodge and I'm so glad you guys allowed me to get my feet wet with such a fun group. I think we have mastered the whole resort group takeover.....as long as we can borrow "Uncle Pat" each time ;-) Thanks for allowing us to be a part of your reunion and we hope to see you all here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I wanted to show my daughter, her husband and children what family time was all about. We only stayed for three nights but it was great. No TV, no Wi-fi and no complaining from anybody.
We had great weather, the children and their parents thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The cottage was well equipped, the location was great. The food at the Lodge was very enjoyable.

We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: We had the lake view cabin with three bedrooms it was great. We could get some shade at any time on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceatRedLodge, Owner at Red Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay here. We have been established since 1938 and indeed take pride in the "back to basics" atmosphere. No TV, no wifi, just family time and nature :-) When you are ready to get away from it all again, we'd love to have you back anytime :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manitoulin Island hotels
11.0 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
9.5 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
56 reviews
12.6 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.4 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
72 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
133 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lodge Resort

Property: Red Lodge Resort
Address: 363 Red Lodge Road, Ontario POP 1WO, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Manitoulin Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manitoulin Island, Red Lodge Resort features 10 modern cottages, and 5 motel rooms. All contain 3 or 4 piece baths as well as sun decks. You can enjoy accommodation only, or you can add a meal plan onto your stay from our licensed Dining Room. Our Dining room is also open to the public in which we serve German and Canadian home cooked meals (our specialties, Schnitzel & Manitoulin Whitefish)Banquets, weddings & conferences are most welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing