We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Night's stay !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse
Ripley, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Night's stay !!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Southbay Gallery and Guesthouse. Our room was excellent, the environment was quite and peaceful. A short walk to the ferry dock, as well as to some local restaurants. Our host Brenda was wonderful, and we enjoyed some conversation with our breakfast. We hope to return to Southbay Mouth again soon and will stay here again. Thanks !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Southbay Guesthouse B&B and our host,Brenda, made our stay enjoyable. The guesthouse is quaint and very comfortable. I enjoyed visiting the Gallery.....there are so many different pieces of art and handwork completed by local artists that it is hard to choose.... We had an array of healthy foods presented at breakfast. Brenda is very personable and makes your stay unique...not to mention the info that she tells you about the island.

Room Tip: We had to have a tv for the soccer games........be sure and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanniem92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you have never had a more than a super experience while staying in a guest house, this
place takes the cake.
My wife and I came to Southbay Guest house, and to our surprise, we got treated like family.
More than family... in fact, we were treated with such care and friendly service.
We will most definately come again next time we come to the island.
Thanks to Brenda, for she gave us a memory that we will not soon forget.

Yours to discover folks,
We did and we were so blessed!

Don and Olive

Room Tip: Rooms on south side is very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Olive2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Southbay Guesthouse is a nice place to stay. The service and breakfast are exellent. And Brenda is a great host, welcoming and very helpful with questions about beautiful places on Manitoulin. If we had more time, then we had stayed here a few days longer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelnuyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I started my summer vacation with a stay at Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse B & B. What a great way to decompress from work and life in the big city! The room was beautifully decorated, and cozy. The bed was 'just like home'. Brenda is the perfect hostess. She was full of tips and information about the island, and most gracious with her time. Breakfast was delicious~all fresh/all local. YUM I had a wonderful stay and will most certainly return to spend a longer visit next summer. The gallery was awesome!!

Room Tip: Opps I accidentally clicked for Spa and Fitness Centre when there were none, then I could not unclic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After spending a week at a rental with 5 others, My husband and I stayed at Brenda's in the cottage. I enjoyed sitting outside finishing a book while he had the best afternoon nap ever. The pleasant music drifting from the Gallery was the added touch that made for total relaxation. The accommodation is clean, comfortable, cozy and tastefully decorated with interesting pieces of furniture and art. The dining room has down home charm and a delicious breakfast for a great start for the day. I've stayed twice before in different rooms and would go back to any one of them. The Gallery has wonderful moderately priced hand made Canadian goods and art that made for easy early Christmas shopping for the gifts that I have to get. Can't wait for a return visit. I've attached a few photos from previous visits. The outdoor area allows for socializing when you want to, or not as I chose on this visit. Having WiFi was a bonus too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreationsDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights on our way home from Killarney Park so that we could explore Manitoulin Island and be close to the ferry. Would recommend staying an extra night or two to make the most of it. Brenda is very helpful and friendly, and she gave us plenty of tips about hikes, places to visit, and restaurants (either within walking distance or a short drive away). We enjoyed our comfortable room in The Pottery and Diane provided an extensive and healthy breakfast - very good coffee. Brenda's Gallery promotes a wide selection of Canadian arts and crafts - something for everyone at most price points. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJAlker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitoulin Island
0.0 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse

Property: Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse
Address: 15 Given Road | South Baymouth/closest cottages to the ferry, Ontario P0P 1Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Manitoulin Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages available for check-in at $875/couple/week (Ask about pet friendly units) Cottages have WIFI, air-conditioning & TV included in an elegant,safe,relaxing atmosphere. Each cottage has a kitchenette, 3 or 4 piece bathroom & separate bedroom & sitting area. Two Pottery Studios with queen sized bed, 4 piece bath, air conditioning, & heaters at $110./ couple/night. Enjoy a sweet sleep on our superior quality pillow top queen sized beds, lush bedding, cozy down-filled duvets/pillows and handmade quilts. Antique Decor, ceiling fans. Relax on a shaded verandah or private deck .Enjoy conversation around the campfire & visit our unique art & craft Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing