We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merrickville Guest Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

While paddling the Rideau with a couple of friends, we got caught in a torrential downpour. By the time we made it to Merrickville, we were soaked through and through. A friend recommended we stay at this location so we called, explained our wet predicament and made a reservation. Upon our arrival, the owner greeted us with 3 warm & dry towels before even showing us to our room. Need I say more. Excellent place to stay.

R. St-Onge

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We were very happy to look after you after your very wet day of paddling on the Rideau River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the suites for 5 days. The owner, Michael was was very accommodating and a pleasure to speak with. When I came to check-in everything was ready and the staff were very friendly. The room is tastefully designed, clean and very spacious. The kitchen had a stovetop, toaster oven, and microwave. Everything in the room was well maintained. There is also satellite tv, wifi, and a blue-ray player with movies to watch in the room. The bed and pillows are also extremely comfortable.I was very impressed with the quality and location of the suites. I would be more than happy to stay here again. If anyone is looking for a place to stay in Merrickville I would absolutely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your thorough review of Merrickville Guest Suites. We really appreciate it! The description of the kitchen in your suite is great. We have very good appliances to provide meals and snacks. We also provide a light continental breakfast which includes organic granola mix and milk, yogurt, and fresh fruit.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and recommending it to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here 3 nights for my 'Merrickville spring getaway' and it was terrific. The suite was really well laid out and appointed, very nice artwork, furnishings, and loved the skylight. Everything was clean, modern, and I couldn't believe the complimentary breakfast foods from coffee and tasty granola, to fruit, muffins, and yogurt - what a treat. You can't beat the location - right in the middle of the Merrickville's great shops (and right on top of Rowland's lovely leather goods store:)) and a short stroll to the locks. Wonderful people - thanks Kathy - wonderful place. Can't wait for August and my next getaway!
Gail F T

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you so much for review and we look forward to your next visit with us in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My daughter and I flew in on may 8 from vermilion alberta. We were recommended to stay at Merrickville Guest Suites and I am so glad we did. The suite was very clean and felt like home. We were asked about any special dietary needs that we had and they were accommodated. We received muffins, cereal, fruit, and yogurt and the milk and yogurt were lactose free which my daughter needed. The whole atmosphere was welcoming throughout the community. Jassamyn did not want to leave. We will be returning to stay there in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
It was a pleasure having you here for three days and we look forward to your next trip to Merrickville Guest Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here for a few weeks and can't say enough about how great the accommodations are. The suite was spacious and comfortable, with many special extras to make you feel at home - it offers the privacy of a guest suite with the amenities of a hotel! The suite is clean and spotless, with a comfortable bed and a luxurious bathroom. The kitchenette is beautifully designed and has everything you could need, from can openers to cookbooks to pots and pans! The owner and his staff are friendly, helpful, and attentive - I did not have any issues while staying here, but I am certain that if I did, they would respond immediately! Best of all, this is an ideal location in the heart of Merrickville, with everything the village has to offer at your fingertips! If you want to stay in a lovely, refurbished heritage building in a beautiful town, this is a spot I would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Merrickville numerous times but this is the first time at The Merrickville Suites. We were very pleased with the whole experience. Everything we needed was there and more. We look forward to going there again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caperlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights mid December 2013 during what was a very cold period with temperatures of -23 degrees (celcius!!)

We had the apartment at the back and for the most part it was well appointed. Bed was comfortable, heating worked a treat, bathroom spacious, and kitchen a god-send given the weather.

A couple of things to note:

* given the prediction, and subsequent cold weather and snow fall it would have been nice if the back stairs and deck had been cleared and gritted. It made for a hairy walk down in the mornings to the car.
* there was no broom inside so when we returned after a day out, we had no way of cleaning the floor of our snow laden boots...
* the kitchen, even though well equipped, had no 'basics' such as oil and butter for cooking. The carton of milk, couple of muffins and granola and yoghurt were much appreciated but my husband likes bacon and eggs (which we were happy to buy) but then annoyed when we got back to find no way of cooking them.

Other than those suggestions, it is a wonderful little place and town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Merrickville Guest Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Merrickville Guest Suites. We always want to maintain healthy relationships with our guests by providing them with the best hospitality we can.

We try to take every precaution - especially in bad weather - to make sure entry-ways and stairs are clear of snow and ice. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the snow during your stay. We have now provided each room with a snow shovel and indoor broom for our guests convenience if the snowfall is continuous.

Many of our guests don't use the kitchenette, but if you plan to do some cooking we are happy to provide you with some basic cooking essentials.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay at the Merrickville Guest Suites again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
11.7 mi away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
74 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
9.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gran-View
Quality Inn Gran-View
#1 of 5 in Ogdensburg
127 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Noble Suites Experiences
0.2 mi away
1840 Guest House B&B
1840 Guest House B&B
#1 of 5 in Merrickville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrickville Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrickville Guest Suites

Property: Merrickville Guest Suites
Address: 159 St. Lawrence St., Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Merrickville Guest Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Merrickville Guest Suites with a designer hotel look situated right in the heart of the historic village of Merrickville along the Rideau Heritage Route. We feature 2 spacious, private suites above Merrickville's famous leather shop, Rowland Leather, where you will be welcomed when you arrive. Each deluxe suite features a fully equipped kitchenette, a queen size bed, AC, free parking, Wi-Fi, satellite tv, hair dryers and bottled water. One of the suites has a private deck. Summer Rates (2-night minimum stay required over Fri/Sat/Sun during July and August): Suite #1: $155 Suite #2: $175 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Merrickville Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrickville Guest Suites Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing