We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baldachin Fine Dining and Pub: worthwhile visit very good food,device and atmosphere”
Review of Baldachin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baldachin Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Merrickville B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Baldachin Fine Dining and Pub: worthwhile visit very good food,device and atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This restaurant is located in the Baldachin Inn on St. Lawrence Street(the main street of the village really). It is a sunny bright dining room with plenty of window tables. the decor was colorful with a purple and sea foam combination in their linens and amusing wall decorations throughout. it all set the stage for a relaxing quiet backdrop to allow for much conversation and then came the well prepared food. such as pear and Stilton Salad, aubergine paninni, thin crust pizza - with a red pepper and prime rib beef topping., pulled pork paninni. The ingredients were fresh and varied. Each dish showed a creative twist. everyone enjoyed their selections and rated the food as very good in taste and creativeness.The service was friendly and helpful. well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Good dining here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halifaxduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldachin_Inn, Owner at Baldachin Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Halifaxduo – We’re glad you enjoyed the Baldachin and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    7
    11
    20
See reviews for
12
27
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Noisy, dated, disorganized. Arrived to check in and, despite having a confirmation number from the day before, no booking was found under my name. I was offered a substandard room which bore no resemblance to the ones posted on their web site. Overall cleanliness of the room doubtful. Did not stay the duration as planned. Too bad, Merrickville is such a pretty town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Traveller A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrickville hotels

Iroquois, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

my wife and i escorted 5 international students to merrickville for their annual christmas celebration. we decided to have supper at the baldachin inn pub. nine of us sat down for supper. we ordered drinks first. ie/ diet coke, iced tea, coffee. it took over half an hour to get the coffee. i'm pretty sure it wasn't fresh, so i don't know why it took so long. after an hour we asked where the combination appetizer plates we ordered were. the waitress politely said she would ask. lowe and behold they immediately appeared. the problem was several people ordered salads to be served before the combo plate. they didn't arrive until we were more thanall in all a very disapointe halfway through our meal. at that point the salads were refused. one girl had ordered an asian chicken salad as her supper. she never saw it. at that point we asked for an adjustment on our bill. the waitress got upset. we asked repeatedly to speak to the manager. he sent a message to us through the waitress saying "tough".
an assistant manager eventually gave us a 15% discount. as we were paying i told the assistant manager this was the first and last visit tho the baldachin. she got very surly and told me there were lots of other restaruants in town. we had one of our party leave with no supper and they exchanged some of the combo plate with microwaved potato chips, not bad warm, but crappy and soggy cold. i could have done that at home. the food was great otherwise. the staff sucked. a very disapointing experience for people that have travelled halfway accross the world.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Russ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

"Talk about unusual circumstances if you will, but my wife and I decided to come back to Merrickville after some 30 years of summertime canoeing on the Rideau, to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. Where to stay ? The Baldachin Inn appeared on our Internet screen. Probing further, we read the incredible story of how a Historical Building was restored, from 1988 to this day, by a young couple David and Beverley Ellis. We booked a special package, we had a great dinner prepared by an outstanding chef, a wonderful romantic room to spend the night, we fell in LOVE with such a magnificent place, and we made new acquaintances in David and Beverley Ellis. We'll have many happy returns, no doubt! "

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoineN152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The fact that I am writing this at 3:37AM is not a good sign. My husband booked this Inn as a quick get a way (we live 45 minutes from Merrickville) to celebrate my birthday. The room was - different - decorated with plenty of fake dusty flowers.

We had dinner at the Balachin Pub (Delicious, fun, burger was delicious).

The noisy started around 10:00 when the band in the pub and ended after 1:00AM. Then the party started at 1:00AM on the floor above us....by 2:35AM it was as much as we could stand...so we packed up and came home!.

Would I recommend this place...not a chance.!!!
The pub - absolutely.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abkw231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
290 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had bought a package. i.e room and dinner, breakfast not included.

Following are our views regarding our stay. When we checked in around 12.30ish, we specifically asked for a window seat for dinner.

This is what we had.

1. The request for a window seat was not noted as the Dining Room Hostess did not have it wriiten down. Only two window tables were available, one for 4 persons which she did not want to give up, and the other blocked behind the dining room door. She made this available. The point is, the reservation request was not made. We were simply lucky there was a table.

2. The Dining Room Hostess was absolutely fabulous. Her advice was spot on. Dinner was about 35 minutes before the first salad was served even though the dining room was not completely full. (???)

3. We went for a shower at around 6 p.m. before dinner and there was no hot water at all. This despite a visit down to the Reception. The lady at the reception did not seem to be surprised and said she would try to shut the dishwasher off. None the less, there was no hot water.

4. We met this same lady and her partner/husband/owner/manager outside just before dinner and we told them this and they told us that there would be lots of hot water in the morning.

5. The toilet in our room required double pumps and sometimes the valve did not re-seat. This meant that there was a dribble sound, until the toilet was re-flushed.

6. In the morning there was lots of hot water.

7. The room was clean and comfortable.

8. My impression is that if the "dishwashing machines" are not in use, hot water is available. If the bar and kitchen are busy, forget having a hot shower.

9. Otherwise, dinner was worthwhile, and we would stay again, but would check the availabiltiy of hot water much earlier.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tedster074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stopped at Merrickville at 5pm whilst on a driving holiday along the Rideau Canal. We had not booked so tried a few establishments before finding a vacancy here. Unusually we had to pay upfront as the reception was not open in the morning This an 1860 heritage building so they had put some old style furniture in the room and there was a lovely large queen size bed. The en suite shower was fine and there was plenty of hot water and clean thick towels. There was however only a coat stand to hang anything on and the TV was small with the reception appalling. There is free wifi in the pub below where you can also get a good cup of tea There is no breakfast included which on the plus side meant a lie in! We found a family restaurant nearby that did an excellent breakfast. If you are there at the weekend it is well worth a visit to the Blockhouse across the road. Having read the previous reviews now I will mention that all the staff we encountered where helpful and civil. There is a pay phone in the lobby of the pub situated below the B&B. Parking is on the street outside the B&B

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrickville
9.5 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
11.7 mi away
Kemptville Suites
Kemptville Suites
#1 of 3 in Kemptville
72 reviews
9.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
1840 Guest House B&B
1840 Guest House B&B
#1 of 5 in Merrickville
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merrickville Guest Suites
Merrickville Guest Suites
#3 of 5 in Merrickville
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldachin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldachin Inn

Property: Baldachin Inn
Address: 111 Margaret St, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Merrickville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Merrickville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baldachin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baldachin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldachin Hotel Merrickville
Baldachin Inn Merrickville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing