We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaufort house”
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Adelong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaufort House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adelong
Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a fantastic place. Cynthia who was just a great host and could not do enough for us. The food was unbelievable. Beaufort house was so warm and inviting. Yes my husband I would return and enjoy the experience again. Adelong is a lovely communtiy. Quiet and friendly. Just the break needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristeen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

It was an absolute pleasure having you visit us here Kristeen, and thank you for sharing your experience! Your positive feedback and review is most appreciated. We most certainly look forward to seeing you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Adelong is in one of the prettiest regions of Australia and perfectly placed for travel from or between both Sydney and Melbourne. A cruise up the Hume from Melbourne, stopping for lunch in Beechworth and there you are Beaufort House before you know it. Impressive and dripping with architectural features on the outside, it's a hint of what is to come when you step inside. The atmosphere is amazing yet so very welcoming and comfortable and a lot to take in. I was greeted by Cynthia, who is a delight and passionate about Adelong and the surrounding area. Take Cynthia's advice on things to do in the area. From easy drives, stopping at hidden forest walks, wineries and cafes along the way to drives to the better-known tourist destinations, Cynthia is a font of knowledge. The accommodation is exceptional. Sleep in the comfiest beds amongst antiques from Australia and Europe, each bedroom beautifully decorated with a different theme. I loved the country-house touches that made me feel like a welcome house guest, like the decanter of port and crystal glasses with chocolate chip cookies in the bedroom. Head downstairs to the restaurant for the yummiest coffee and cakes anytime of day and scrumptious lunch and dinner menus. Nothing pretentious but a little different from the norm and using fresh local produce all beautifully prepared. As if that isn't enough, there is the wine bar, too! There was absolutely nothing amiss at Beaufort House. Cynthia and Ric have set the Boutique Hotel standard very high indeed and I recommend Beaufort House without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you most kindly Kari for your most positive and encouraging review. To know that you enjoyed our environment, services and region is fantastic, and we thank you also for sharing this for others. We most certainly look forward to seeing you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a beautiful, quiet and peaceful time we experienced upon our weekend stay. Great to get away from all the hustle and bustle of life and to just escape for a few days to absolute peace. Warm bedrooms, clean bathrooms, and our friendly host Cynthia who couldn't do enough to make us as welcome as possible. Fantastic food downstairs in the restaurant along with a great bottle of wine to compliment. Looking forward to returning again.

Room Tip: The Paris corner room is large and sunny and further away from any extra noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Allow us to thank you Franca for your review and the time taken to do so. We really are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the experience and services we provide. It will be wonderful to see you return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

From the moment Cynthia answered the door to greet us, I knew I had made a great choice of accommodation. From the decor, ambiance & hospitality to the food & wine, Beaufort House is the perfect place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JAS4465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review, and for such positive feedback. It's wonderful to have couples like yourselves enjoy Beaufort House, and we hope to see you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a weekend! Stayed at Beaufort House last weekend. Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome from owners, Rick and Cynthia. The rooms were unbelievably gorgeous, very clean and yes, very inviting. We were relaxed the moment we walked in. The food was exceptional and the wine bar was stunning. Nothing was out place, we felt the care and love that the owners have for this place. The menu, the decor, the room we were in, and all the other rooms, were elegantly presented. I can attribute waking up and looking and feeling radiant to the beautifully comfortable bed and the warm, cozy room. We were only a few hours from Sydney and yet we felt like we were overseas. It was sad leaving as it meant going back to our busy lifestyle, but, hey, Beaufort House in Adelong is so close to Sydney, we will definitely make it a habit to keep going back, a perfect place for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of Beaufort House, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. It is wonderful to get such positive feedback, and we certainly hope to see you return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our stay at Beaufort House was exceptional!

Outstanding service was given at all times by owner Cynthia as she was very welcoming, helpful and accommodating to our every need.

The beautiful rooms and lounges were so inviting and made us feel so relaxed during our stay.

We definately recommend staying Beaufort House if traveling through Adelong if your looking for exceptional service and a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroyandAlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you again for having chosen Beaufort House for your getaway. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves at our establishment. Hopefully we'll see you return again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Beaufort House for our anniversary last weekend It was the perfect place to stay.. we enjoyed the peace and quiet as well as the beautiful house and what a beauitful area of NSW its in... the drives around Adelong are stunning .. The food, wine and coffee were all very good ... We would stay there again in a heart beat....
Susan & John

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drag0nfly01, Owner at Beaufort House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you Susan and John, it was great meeting you both. It is wonderful to have such positive feedback. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelong
15.8 mi away
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Gundagai
358 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tumut Valley Motel
Tumut Valley Motel
#5 of 8 in Tumut
129 reviews
17.0 mi away
Gabriel Motor Inn
Gabriel Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Gundagai
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Merivale Motel
Merivale Motel
#2 of 8 in Tumut
236 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Address: 77 Tumut Street, Adelong, New South Wales 2729, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Adelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adelong
Price Range: £74 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaufort House is a heritage hotel and B&B with 4 motel units, located halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Snowy Mountains Highway, nestled in the foothills of Kosciuszko National Park.Being only 21 kms off the Hume Highway, it is the 'Gateway' to the Snowy Mountains and only a short drive to Batlow, Tumbarumba (home to our cold climate vineyards), Gundagai, Tumut, Talbingo, Yarrangobilly Caves, Mt Selwyn Snowfields and so much more!Beaufort House is the perfect destination for a relaxing getaway to experience Australia's history, mountains, rivers and wildlife, where you are most likely to see wild Brumby's & Kangaroo's to name a few!. This region is most certainly one of the best kept secrets for your discovery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Adelong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing