We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaze 'n' Place
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maze, Cafe, Puzzles ..... Something for everyone!!Come to the picturesque Amaze 'n' Place for Lunch or just morning or afternoon tea.Explore the unique maze (the only one of its kind in the world) and play the Seekers Games - ideal for all ages Play with the puzzles. Also a puzzle gift shop - perfect for educational and challenging puzzles and games. Alpace feeding at 11am. Open every day during school holidays 10.00am - 4.30pm.
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile



I took my 3 girls ages 10, 8 and 8. They loved the quiz throughout the maze. After having a snack, we played with the puzzles and games. My 10 y/o was better at finding answers than me in the maze.
We finished the day off with another run through with quizzies.

Staff were real friendly and helpful.

1  Thank MrSmiles73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaze-n-Place, Owner at Amaze 'n' Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Hi MrSmiles,
Your name says it all ... it's those wanting to have a good time who end up finding what they're looking for.
To have you enjoying the experience with your children is one of our many aims here. We find the more of the family who participate the more fun everyone has.
Thanks for taking the time to comment.
Maybe we'll see you next school holidays.
Rik & Lisa & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

An interesting place to visit and something different for kids to see. The owners are very friendly and helpful and provide you with options for solving puzzles as you go throughout the maze. We paid $36 for a family visit but when you look at the work put in by the owners it's worthwhile.

Thank Michelle1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaze-n-Place, Owner at Amaze 'n' Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Hello Michelle,
Glad you enjoyed your time here and nice that you recognised all the work that went into creating the maze and maintaining it. Many don't appreciate the time, money and effort that we've put in. It's very rewarding for us to have people appreciate it and to have a good time here.
Thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope to see you here again during the next school holidays.
Rik & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Drove 45 mins in wrong direction on way home from Byron to Brisbane to see a big truck then a sign saying open school holidays only. One way to raise revenue would be to be open!!!!!

3  Thank Mdjwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaze-n-Place, Owner at Amaze 'n' Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Mdjwheatley,

I’m really sorry that you had a wasted trip to visit Amaze ‘n’ Place.
Our website does have the current opening times but there are many websites that have published information about us that is out of date. We're endeavouring to locate and correct all of them.
It's always been our intention to be open every day all year round. However, in this economic climate and with the reduction in tourism it has become economically impossible. The cost of labour, penalty rates and the amount of upkeep means that opening in school terms is not viable. Opening only in the holidays is a better option than closing completely.
We hope to be able to expand our opening hours in the future.
Again, I am sorry you missed out on visiting us – I’m sure you would have enjoyed your experience.
Hopefully you can visit us during the school holidays.

Rik & Lisa (owners and designers).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Today my partner 27 and his family took us to amaze n place and we had a ball it was a cross between I spy and a maze. It took us a fair while and was well worth the 12 dollars for entry. The staff gave us a family pass even though we were all over twenty so it only cost us 36 dollars. Would definately reccomend seeing this attraction the food was also lovely.

Thank danielleroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaze-n-Place, Owner at Amaze 'n' Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Hi danielleroxanne,
We like to encourage families to go into the maze together at Amaze 'n' Place. We find that when they all go in the fun seems to multiply. To hear families having a good time is what makes all the efforts worthwhile.
Thank you for coming, for participating and taking the time to give feedback.
Rik & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were given a quiz to do during the maze but no info on what we were meant to be looking for. We were not offered the use of insect repellent. The maze was actually a little boring because you could see through the trunks to were you were going. Would have been better if the shrubs were at ground level. We got stuck in the middle of the maze in a rain storm and no one came out with an umbrella to help us.

1  Thank SnakeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaze-n-Place, Owner at Amaze 'n' Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Snakechick,
I'm very sorry that your experience at Amaze 'n' Place was not what you expected.
I'm surprised that you had difficulty understanding the Seekers Games in the maze. I thought we had made them self-explanatory as they need to be suitable for for everyone, including children. I am very interested to discover what more explanation we need to add.
We do provide insect repellent free of charge for those visitors who feel it is necessary and forget to bring their own. We do not always remember to ask all visitors as most come prepared if they are concerned about insects. The repellent is in clear view at the booking counter.
You were unfortunate to get caught in a rainstorm whilst in the maze. If it looks like rain most visitors either delay their excursion or take their own umbrella. We also have free ponchos available. Unfortunately, we do not have enough staff to enable us to search to maze for visitors each time there is a shower on the off-chance that they do not have protection.
The open structure of our maze is one of its main distinguishing features. This is designed to make it less claustrophobic and more attractive than other mazes. Many find the uniqueness of this design to be one of the things they enjoy about it. It is the only maze in the world grown this way.
Although we have tried to provide a unique and interesting experience I am sorry that we have fallen short of your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We will carefully consider your comments.
Rik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amaze 'n' Place also viewed

Alstonville, New South Wales
Alstonville, New South Wales
 
Alstonville, New South Wales

Been to Amaze 'n' Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing