We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rikki will look after you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballina Beach Village
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rikki will look after you”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Guys, if you haven't been.. put this place on your bucket list. Rikki even arranges great weather.

The facilities, location and customer service is second to none.

Our vacation group had such a great time and found everything so accessible and clean that we plan to go as a group again once every year.

Frank

Room Tip: Make sure you use the ferry/barge for access if travelling from the north. Quick and easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankE2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hello Frank, you get the award as the best group travel organiser of the year! Wow, what a big group you organised and brought down. Thank you for introducing us to so many wonderful families - it was our pleasure to have you all with us. As I keep saying we are all about looking after families and providing a safe, nurturing environment to holiday in. We look forward to having you back soon. Kindest regards and best wishes, Rikki and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    74
    29
    7
    25
See reviews for
125
54
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Thank you Bernard and staff, recently had our most enjoyable visit, stayed in a basic cabin,good value kids were happy in the bunk beds.Restaurent patrons sang happy birthday to me food was good and singer/guitarist excellent someone you would expect to see in a capitol city bar.Spent a few hours at the dog friendly beach getting pippies.All up a great kid and dog friendly weekend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello David, and thank you for your lovely review. What a fun night we had in the cafe that night. Barry Ferrier (Dr Jazz) really let loose. Barry was one of the original cast of Jesus Christ Superstar and normally plays ALL the big venues and US! How lucky are we. It is a bit like having a big family dinner here – as you know when everyone sang happy birthday to you! Thanks for staying you have a lovely, lovely family and are just the sort of guests that we value so much.
Kindest regards, Rikki, Bernard and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went down for the weekend with the kids got a basic cabin was plenty of room for us right in front of the pool! Kids and ourselves had a GREAT weekend hired bikes, played at play ground and swimming aswell as going down to beach for a fish, even my toddler had a ball being able to ride his bike and go for walks around the park looking at everything without having to worry about traffic!! Overall we absolutely loved it and will be back early in the new year thank you to all the staff for making us welcome :-) definately satisfied and at a great price!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skibbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and yes we love families! Our goal is to provide a safe, fun environment for families in our natural eco paradise. Over the Xmas New Year period we have Aunty Dell's Kids Klub - with pirate and princess parties, lots of craft and other great activities. We have some wonderful entertainers including Mick Buckley, Barry Ferrier, the Swinging Cowgirl Kathryn Jones, Ziggy, Kyle Lionhart and more. Other wonderful events too. Free yoga and meditation, free circus school for kids and flying trapeze (fee required). Look forward to having you back. Kindest regards, Rikki and the team at the Ballina Beach Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our family of five were recentley there in October 2013. We stayed in a superior room with ensuite. The owner/Mngr placed our cabin across from the pool, amenities etc, so it was an easy walk around the park. We had our own room with sliding door and the kids had a triple bunk bed. All clean. As usual, the 2 year old was sick, the 5 year old had an absolute ball as there were plenty of kids around to play with, but the 14 year old was bored as we refused to get Wifi! Breakfast everymorning at the cafe was delish! and so were the coffee's. Loved the fact we took the 4WD straight onto the beach, however I doubt u can swim in that beach. It was a short drive to Lennox Head, and other attractions of Ballina (pools with slide). The kids absolutley loved paying the ferryman too!
If you're going to stay more than 3 days, and you're going to getting in the car and looking around, buy a 5 day pass for the ferryman as it can add up!

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin across from the amenities, works well when you're all in a rush to go somewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chardy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you Chardy for your review (all the way from Perth). You have a lovely family and we very much enjoyed having you with us. Your kids had a ball! That is what we just love to see. Yes the 4WD track is terrific – it is maintained by our dear friends at National Parks and Wildlife who do a great job for tourists to the area, with an all weather road to the beach. Best of all no permit is required to drive on the beach here. Hope to see you again soon, you are welcome back anytime. Kindest regards and many blessings, Rikki and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed one night at the superior cabin which we found did not match the description on the website. The cabin is compact, clean and basic (but does have air-con, wifi, TV) which are all good things, but there is not a double bedroom, but a small room that just fits a double bed, there is not an ensuite, but a single bathroom (that is external to the bedroom), there is not a separate bunk bedroom but two bunks in a corridor, the accommodation for six is a bit of a stretch as that means the other two people would be on the lounge. The description of a Balinese decor is an absolute joke - decor? what decor?? a picture of a frangipani and a cane basket. The kitchen equipment was basic, very. No extras anywhere. Everything was done with an eye to cut costs and maximise profit, I felt. That's OK if you're charging people a budget rate. But for $185 a night, well, you kind of expect a bit more, and at the end of the day, you just feel ripped off.

We would have been much happier, content even, if the cabin has been accurately advertised. It serves no purpose promoting the cabin as something which it is not. It only makes the guests disappointed. We found paying $185 per night for 2 people for a basic cabin really very very overpriced.

On the upside, this place was beautifully quiet, the birds were wonderful and the beach and river so close by are magnificent. It is a shame that the beach is not for dogs nor for swimming really, as it looks quiet treacherous and unpatrolled. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the meals and atmosphere looked great.

Management were friendly enough and it is nice that they allow dogs. We found everything looking neat and clean. All the dogs and people were well-behaved :-)

I wish the website would list prices. Why don't they?? Why don't they show pictures of the insides of the superior cabins?????

It is a nice enough place but I wouldn't go back, something about it just didn't feel quite right, mostly the big price and the stinginess factor. I think the owners are really trying hard and are doing their best, but well ... I would recommend you go have a look before you stay, just so you know what you will be getting. It might be great for some people. There are certainly a lot of positive things about this place (but I don't think the 'superior' cabins is one of them).

Have a look at the prices for Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park - cabin prices there seem set at the right price. Cabin prices start from $70 night, for two people with bathroom around $100.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review and the many favourable things you say about us. However, you left out some important information. The superior cabins come with free bike hire for the whole family ($10 per person per bike, so potentially $40/$60 per day per how many days you stay that you don’t pay for), and the cabins are also bundled with free Austar and Wifi. So they have added value. As you booked and stayed during a peak period in the school holidays, our rates were on a parity with other properties in the area – however, you can’t have dogs at those properties – and there is a cost associated with that as well for us.

On our website you will find numerous photos of all the cabins – including the superior. While we have a full range of budget to superior cabins (fishermen’s being the most basic, and indeed aptly described) or our tipis through to pool burees (open plan cabins no bathrooms), budget family cabins with bathrooms, large family cabins with bathrooms, standard family cabins with and without linen,with bathrooms, the love shack, the couples retreat etc it goes on. So a full range of accommodation and choices and prices starting from $45. However, our superior cabins consistently book out sooner because of the value they represent for guests who want the extras. I would also note that there are two designs for the superior – as an alcove or as a two bedroom.

I know that when I spoke to you – you had wanted more of a Gold Coast experience – which as an eco village destination we are an environmental world away from. Our main function is as a Buddhist retreat and function centre and family friendly holiday village. We do both of these things very well indeed. We host yoga teacher trainings, personal growth retreats like Path of Love, Deva Premal and Miten, Diamond Way Buddhist Festival, Red Lodge Shamanic program and much more throughout the year. AND we are one of the top destinations by nights for tourism in the Northern Rivers.

In particular families feel safe and well accommodated – and that is our goal. To support our lovely families have the Great Aussie Beach Holiday in our wilderness paradise.

Kindest regards and many blessings,
Rikki and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A big thank you to Bernard, Rikki, and the staff for our second wonderful experience at the Ballina Beach Village. The kids loved the holiday and especially loved the close proximity to the beach ! It was an easy drive from Brisbane and very easy to find. The relaxing atmosphere and the hospitality was great. Looking forward to heading back soon to catch more fish off the beach !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks Mark for your time in reviewing our Village. I think you have hit the nail on the head – we are all about simple pleasures! Our family destination is about chilling out, fishing, walking, listening to the sound of the surf, the birds and the trees growing. Welcome to paradise. Pure air, pure water, pure environment. Of course you can also get a great meal in the restaurant and listen to some great music on the weekend. Holidays we do lots of fun things as well. But most of all it is about peace and quiet – rest, relax and rejuvenate for your hectic lives.See you back soon. Let us look after you. Best wishes to you and your lovely family, Rikki and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Last minute booking, to go away in our Caravan, couldn't get anything near Brisbane. Had the Ballina Beach Village on my list from previous bookings. Lucky last spot we got, and we where thrilled. You feel like being away from the civilisation and still you not far away from what you need. We really relaxed, surrounded from Nature. Perfect Place for families, but also perfect for couples. Beach walk, Fishing,Boating and Meditation on one spot. It gave me Energy to concentrate on my business and motivated me to go back ASAP and organise a "What Women Want" Day with my Nutrimetics Group. I hope more Ladies can enjoy us and living the "Dream, helping other women", what we do. The staff is very busy to make everyone's stay comfortable. And what I really enjoyed was, by 10.00 pm the whole Park is quite and you can sleep like a Baby, to be fit for the next day of adventure. Don't miss it out

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBV, Manager at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Gabrielle from Brisbane, came in to thank us for the wonderful weekend, and dropped we girls a Nutrimetcis present to thank us for our hard work (it was crazzzzzzzzy busy over the October long weekend - we must have looked like crash test dummies by the time Gabrielle and her family left). Anyway I am hooked - I used all the presents and ordered some more from Gabriele who just ships my Nutrimetics order to me and I don't have to go shopping! Wow I am getting great serivce and I am really impressed by Nutrimetic products.

Anyway Gabrielle, thanks for your great review and I look forward to hosting your "What women want" Nutrimetics womens conference - a business retreat with all the trimmings - yoga, meditation, great food, beach walks, natural environment.

Look forward to you and the girls coming back. Thank you and yes I am ready to order some Nutrimetcis. Cheers and thank you for your kindness and thoughtfullness. Rikki the crash test dummy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#7 of 20 in Ballina
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Ballina
2.5 mi away
Fun 'n' Sun Motel
Fun 'n' Sun Motel
#13 of 20 in Ballina
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Beach Village

Property: Ballina Beach Village
Address: 440 South Ballina Beach Rd | South Ballina, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballina Beach Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Ballina Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing