We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tired looking” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very tired looking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on our way down the Gold Coast. Stayed in a family room with 2 queen beds in 2 rooms as travelling with my sister and brother in law. The shower needed cleaning before we could use it as it was full of hairs and dirt. The location was good and the cost was good but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discho190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond with your review comments. We do appreciate all the feedback we receive and take the chance to look into any areas of concern.

Our apologies for any inconvenience and we'll certainly check again with housekeeping practices to see where things went wrong with the shower during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    92
    39
    18
    7
See reviews for
54
93
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and well equipped for overnight self catering travellers. Beds were clean and comfortable, showers hot. The restaurant was very good and service was friendly except for the guy on the front desk who thought guests interfered with his day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-Chris1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ali-Chris, good to hear how you enjoyed your visit but sorry to hear something was amiss with reception. Our apologies on that front and hopefully this was a misunderstanding and we have the chance to see you back again to see things in a better light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emu Plains Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 week nights. We had an upstairs room which was a bit daunting for elderly people to lug up their suitcases. It was also a nuisance having to go up and down to the pool or over to the beach. The room was spacious and clean but there is a very small shower room. The grounds are in need of maintenance. The location is great just a park between the resort and the beach which is accessible via a sand track. It's too far out of town to walk comfortably so you need to use your car if you are going anywhere other than the beach. Meals were hit and miss. We ordered fish but it was overcooked and dry. Prefer not to eat here. I would only stay here again if I could have a downstairs room away from the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocam2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Jocam, thank for taking time to write your review and your positive comments... we do understand your concerns about being an upstairs room (1 flight steps), and agree with your advice to other readers, to ASK FOR A DOWNSTAIRS ROOM if this is an issue for you. As you can appreciate, with so many online bookings, rooms are allocated based om such special requests and as available on arrival.

We get as many requests for upstairs and downstairs, as guest all have different preferences based on views, access to pool area, quiet away other rooms and so on... We try to accommodate as many of these as possible and rely on guests making their preferences known before or during their stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Only negative was that we had an upstairs room and the stairs were a bit difficult for my senior parents. Positives, extremely friendly staff, spa sauna pool and daybeds are like going to a day spa. Comfortable beds, spacious room, walk to the most amazing surf club for breakfast, we will be back, not just for the weekend. :-).

Room Tip: Whilst the upstairs rooms have a pleasant outlook, the stairs are a bit too steep, not quite standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CoffsKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Kate, thank you for your feedback-great to hear and hopefully we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I are an elderly couple, and have just spent ten glorious days at the Ballina Beach Resort, and can't fault it! The management and staff are very friendly and courteous!
We both had the most relaxing time that we have ever had, and that is including overseas travel.
We would highly recommend it to everyone looking for tranquility and service combined!
Keep up the good work!

Regards: Gerry & Jo. From, Brisbane

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBeachResort, General Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Gerry & Jo
Thank you for your review, it is always great to hear how you enjoyed your relaxing time. As you can see from so many reviews, the peace and tranquility of the resort grounds and beach is a welcome surprise. Hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have stayed at the Ballina Beach Resort on three separate occasions and each time is incredibly enjoyable and unique. At one time we even hosted a forty person event on the grounds and the hotel staff was accommodating as can be.

It is the small things that make you remember a visit, and the last occasion made me especially grateful for this small and independent resort. Our flight from Hawaii came into Sydney late, and consequentially our connecting flight to the Gold Coast was late. We drove down from the Gold Coast and were of course stopped off by a routine sobriety check point. This made us very very late. Due to the incredibly late hour we were not yet able to pick up local Telstra sim cards so we could not even let the hotel know that we were late. We knew they were closing at midnight but all the same, the hotel was looking after us.

When we arrived at the hotel the front desk was closed, but they had left a note for us letting us know that our room was ready and where we could find the key. It is incredible that the wonderful community of Ballina is so trustworthy and amazing that this sort of extra service can still be performed. There are not many beach towns that can boast the same.

Very impressive, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but make sure you request an area that does not permit smoking if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissaandgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Melissa & Grant
thank you for taking time to write your review.... we're really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you have returned once again.... we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Nicely located near the beach but a taxi ride away from town, this resort was lovely and quiet with a nice, tidy room. Comfy bed overlooking a small garden was peaceful, but the spa in the room could have had a bit more power to it. Nice landscaping for the resorts pool with lounge seats, and restaurant with beautiful food. Will recommend it to others, good value for a relaxing weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Many thanks for your review - great to hear!
Yes, the NEW beds have been very popular and really comfy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
1.8 mi away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#12 of 20 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort

Property: Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
Address: Compton Dr | corner Cedar Crescent, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#5 Business Hotel in Ballina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort offers 4 star hotel accommodation, conference and function facilities located just opposite stunning Lighthouse Beach adjoining the walkways along the Richmond river that meander into nearby Ballina. A short drive to iconic Byron Bay, the nearby village of Bangalow and the surfing hotspots of Lennox Head & Yamba, the best of the Northern Rivers region is right on your doorstep. Enjoy the 3 acres of lush tropical gardens with outdoor areas to lounge in and relax, read a good book or simply unwind, you'll feel at ease the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballina Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing